We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money”

Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary is the only public refuge in Montana to house native animals that cannot be returned to the wild due to injury or habituation to humans. We care for over 40 animals and birds, many placed here by Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks, including wolves, mountain lions, black bears, bison, elk, bobcat, fox, coyote, eagles, hawks, owls and many more. The sanctuary offers visitors an unparalleled chance to learn about these and other animals by observing them at close range and through interpretive displays.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

10 bucks a person and no family rate. save your money and go to the museum.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank humbug1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    9
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deadwood, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Wild”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice layout. They give a story for each rescued animal so you know why it is there. Most surprising was the size of the Mt. Lion's paws! They were huge! Lots of birds to see.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMRoadShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time!! Lots of animals and all of the fact sheets were great to read about each of them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to see some great animals up close. Great place to visit. Have been here with entire family many times.

Helpful?
1 Thank MTTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Visit when the animals are all awake”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We visited in winter and enjoyed our visit but there were few animals awake to be seen. It was, however, the only opportunity I will get to be snarled at by a coyote while still being able to stand my ground. They do good work here and are worth considering.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLSMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing