We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgruntled and disappointed”
Review of Alpine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

First impressions were positive, and I'd have to agree with the other reviewers - as far as they went. However, if you book here, make sure it is not on a biker weekend. The Alpine appears to encourage and seek biker business - that's fine for a business model, but we are faced with loud, obnoxious, discourteous bikers revving their machines at any hour of the night and right now there is a rock band playing outside our room and I'd planned on turning in early as we have a long day's drive tomorrow with an early start. We will not stay here again. Value is terrible if I can't get a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICT_Gianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the third time I have stayed here, twice in the cabins and once in King room so something keeps bringing me back. Loved everything about it. Thanks Trish and Larry, oh and the breakfast was fantastic. Hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanksforthestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Alpine Lodge is a classic Mom-and-Pop, roadside, knotty-pine-paneled motel. Larry and Trish (Pop and Mom) keep it clean, updated, and comfy. New beds, new towels, new comforters. Signs of update projects going on here and there. Larry cooks a hearty breakfast outdoors over his grill and griddle, and you can enjoy it at the picnic tables in the shade. The inn is a well-kept vintage classic that oozes character. Absolutely no complaints. Oh, I guess someone might have complained about the boxy old Zenith TV in our room. Its colors probably only include green and purple, but I couldn't tell you—we were on vacation in the Beartooths, and didn't really care what Wolf Blitzer had to say. So we chuckled at it and enjoyed our stay. Immensely.

Room Tip: I like the one-story section—nobody clunking around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainjackhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed at Alpine Lodge after leaving Yellowstone National Park and before going to Glacier National Park. What an unexpectedly nice place! The room was as promised - comfortable, coffeemaker, tv, free wi-fi (not every one is!) The bed was awesome.... not too soft, not too hard but just right! I stayed for two nights and Trish and Larry took very good care of me! Breakfast on the patio every morning was wonderful and included in the price of the room. What a great place to rest and enjoy the town of Red Lodge! I would stay there again!

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying in the room closiest to the highway because it may have some road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Alpine while taking in the sites around Red Lodge. We loved the owners, Trish and Larry and their staff! Such good people and we were treated to an awesome breakfast each morning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDeb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

On our way back from N. Dakota, my wife and I decided to take a short vacation by visiting Yellowstone National Park. this was in late April and I was told which roads were open and which weren't. We wanted to see as much of the park as possible, so I decided to start at the northern part of the park. The route I planned to take was through Cooke City by way of Red Lodge. On my way to N. Dakota, I was told this road would PROBABLY be open. So I took a chance and planned my route. It was getting late, so we (thankfully) decided to stay the night at the Alpine Lodge in Red Lodge, MT. The next morning, checking out, I mentioned the route we were taking and the owner says to me, " You had better let me check to see if the road is open at the summit, as it usually isn't open at this time of year" Sure enough, he made a call to a friend who owns a gas station up there and there was a 7 mile stretch that was still not open! These people not only saved me 100 dollars in gas, but saved me alot of agravation and frustration too. I cant remember ever meeting nicer and more knowledgeable people than the owners of Alpine Lodge, not to mention the oversized rooms! shirfire218 must be the kind of people that can never be pleased cause staying there was one of the most memorable parts of our trip.

Room Tip: top floors have fewer bears visiting! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My Fiancee and I stayed here in June 2011 and enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast - The hotel operator cooked everyone breakfast to order under a tent on a propane camp stove. I have never seen this before at a motel, but it was good and it was included in the nightly rate.

Room - The room was rather basic but was clean and was ready for us when we arrived. I don't remember what we paid per night but I believe it wasn't much and I felt like we got more than what we paid for.

Location - This motel is on the edge of red lodge and you'd want a bike or car to go into town. It is very close to the brewery which was perfect because we came into town to see a concert there.

Room Tip: They all looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 1105 N Broadway Ave, P.O. Box 334, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place to stay in Red Lodge. Outstanding Staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing