We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Alpine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Alpine while taking in the sites around Red Lodge. We loved the owners, Trish and Larry and their staff! Such good people and we were treated to an awesome breakfast each morning. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDeb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    33
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
101
114
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

On our way back from N. Dakota, my wife and I decided to take a short vacation by visiting Yellowstone National Park. this was in late April and I was told which roads were open and which weren't. We wanted to see as much of the park as possible, so I decided to start at the northern part of the park. The route I planned to take was through Cooke City by way of Red Lodge. On my way to N. Dakota, I was told this road would PROBABLY be open. So I took a chance and planned my route. It was getting late, so we (thankfully) decided to stay the night at the Alpine Lodge in Red Lodge, MT. The next morning, checking out, I mentioned the route we were taking and the owner says to me, " You had better let me check to see if the road is open at the summit, as it usually isn't open at this time of year" Sure enough, he made a call to a friend who owns a gas station up there and there was a 7 mile stretch that was still not open! These people not only saved me 100 dollars in gas, but saved me alot of agravation and frustration too. I cant remember ever meeting nicer and more knowledgeable people than the owners of Alpine Lodge, not to mention the oversized rooms! shirfire218 must be the kind of people that can never be pleased cause staying there was one of the most memorable parts of our trip.

Room Tip: top floors have fewer bears visiting! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My Fiancee and I stayed here in June 2011 and enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast - The hotel operator cooked everyone breakfast to order under a tent on a propane camp stove. I have never seen this before at a motel, but it was good and it was included in the nightly rate.

Room - The room was rather basic but was clean and was ready for us when we arrived. I don't remember what we paid per night but I believe it wasn't much and I felt like we got more than what we paid for.

Location - This motel is on the edge of red lodge and you'd want a bike or car to go into town. It is very close to the brewery which was perfect because we came into town to see a concert there.

Room Tip: They all looked the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The price may have been a bit high, but the place is very, very clean and we did not want for anything!! Fantastic breakfast also!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelladycoleedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I travel for a living, so we are no strangers to hotels. In the past 23 years, there have been many times when he or both of us has stayed 200 nights a year or more in hotels all across the United States. I think that qualifies us as a pretty good judge of lodging. In planning a vacation, I had come across this hotel and decided to book it. My husband and I spent nearly 30 minutes in friendly discussions with the hotel owner after being quoted a price (for one night, as was thoroughly explained and discussed in detail) and deciding that we would book a room. At the last minute, my husband discovered there was another attraction in a nearby town that we would like to see (based on hotel operators comments) and was assured that we could call back the next morning to book the room and there would be no problem. After adjusting our itinerary, we attempted to get ahold of the hotel throughout the morning. Eventually someone from the hotel returned our call and took the reservation, as discussed and quoted the previous evening. We received a confirmation and all credit card information was relayed for the reservation. At this point, there were next to no hotel rooms left in the vicinity. Based on the fact that we had secured a room, we laid out the rest of our trip, and made the necessary reservations for the chosen route. Five or six hours later, out of the blue, my husband receives a phone call from a hotel employee stating that the owner demanded his reservation be cancelled based on the fact that a two night minimum stay is required (total nonsense; this was never mentioned in the previous evening's half hour conversation with the owner). The employee mentioned that the owner had said that my husband mentioned being allergic to cigarette smoke and that had raised a red flag. My husband is registered as handicapped due to his having a cpap machine. This has all the feeling of a total violation of civil rights to a handicapped individual. We were able to book another hotel room at some considerable effort. My husband called back to talk to the owner and expressed that in all of our hotel stays (literally thousands) this had been one of the worst experiences we had encountered and we felt that our rights had been totally violated and we had been extremely offended. In fact, when the employee called with the information regarding the forced cancellation for no good cause, he had to pull over from driving as he was shaking. He is not a man easily angered or the least bit over emotional. He has Ph.D. and is extremely polite, businesslike and professional as well as personable. He is NOT used to being treated like this. I am trying to spare anyone else from such an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shirfire218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We thought it was the quaintest little spot. Sweet little rustic rooms, very clean. The staff was wonderfully cheerful and friendly. A sunny little spot. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdixon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Friendly owners, comfy beds & a great breakfast cooked outdoors!!! What more could you want?? Throw in beautiful surroundings & lots of fresh air, and that's what keeps us coming back!!

Room Tip: we have stayed in several rooms, be specific about what you want.. we haven't found a bad one ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamrn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 1105 N Broadway Ave, P.O. Box 334, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place to stay in Red Lodge. Outstanding Staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing