We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View of the River”
Review of Rock Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Creek Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We pulled in late one night, deciding not to try Beartooth Pass in utter darkness. There was one room available and we were glad to have it. There was no air conditioning, but a fan was provided and the room cooled off eventually. The breakfast was good and the view in the breakfast room was great.

Room Tip: Get a room on the creek side for a better breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Red Lodge is a hard place to get reservations because of all the seasonal activities, but we were lucky enough to get the last king available at the Rock Creek Resort when we decided on our vacation dates about three weeks out. This place is popular for weddings and family reunions as it has many amenitites for larger functions. Although we were roomed in the older building, it was clean and fairly well maintained for its age. We did miss having a small refrigerator and microwave for the price of the room, but went ahead and visited the local dining establishments for some excellent food options.
Parking and access are NOT the best for those with physical limitations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtshroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. Beautiful place, just really needed a/c. Our room overlooked the river and it did cool down the 3rd night we were there, but the first too were really hot. Nice pool for the kids and also a big playground. All of the staff were incredibly nice and helpful! I would say that for the money, they should have a much nicer breakfast. While we were there they only had 2 kinds of cereal out, a bowl of fruit that was very sour, a tray of bread for toast, and muffins. One night we had a drink in the Piney Dell bar, cute little bar area! Another night we got take out from the Piney Dell restaurant, just ordered grilled chicken with sides. It was delicious, simple, but good!

Room Tip: Just need to decided if you want a river view or mountain view. Both are great in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arkansasgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here after skiing this weekend. The place was fairly empty, yet we were placed right next door to a noisy family. We did have a balcony though on the creek. When we requested we be moved we got a room without a balcony although right next door to us was an empty room with a balcony. I would think with such a low census you would strive to spread out your guests for more privacy and attempt to give them your nicest rooms. Next, the rooms in the grizzley building are terribly dated for the price. You must be paying for the location which is nice if you want to be out of town. Next, we stayed there for the pool, hot tub, and sauna. The hot tub was broken. Wish they would've told us that upon reserving a room. The pool area could've made the trip for us. Lastly, the front desk employee was unfriendly, borderline rude, and unhelpful. Nice scenery, but you can pay less for a clean, updated room in town. I'd even opt for the historic Pollard in town over this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadieLinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay, and they have a fabulous restaurant, Piney Dell. I have stayed here many times with a group of girlfriends. They have suites with kitchens, so you can cook and entertain, and many are creek-side. Be sure to request this. There is nothing like the sound of rushing water right outside your window! My only negative comment is that they do not keep their hot tub up to par. Many times I have gone and it is cold, or unavailable to use. They do have a dry sauna and a great workout room.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek-side suite. They may say they can't guarantee it, but if you are persistent whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipplerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just went for a quick weekend getaway. Hotel had reasonable rates. Pool area OK but there was a shortage of towels. Continental breakfast was nothing too fancy and the staff did not check the area so all garbage cans were overflowing and choices were very limited. Walkways were packed with ice and many visitors were complaining about the unsafe conditions. Overall would probably stay here again but there are areas that definitely need to be looked at for safety and confort of guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the mail Beartooth building so you don't have to go outside in the winter to get to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Rock Creek Resort. We were so excited to finally get out of town and rejuvinate ourselves. Our room had an incredible view and the inside of the room appeared clean and smelled like a rustic cabin (which was very nice). Unfortunately everything just started going downhill after we unpacked. Our dinner service at the Old Piney Dell Restaurant was STRESSFUL! We made reservations prior to arriving and were greeted by the waitress stating that they were short staffed and that our service would be slow. We were completely understanding of this until we had to wait for 2 1/2 hours for our food. On the flip side, the food was Excellent, but the wait staff was just incredibly rude and made you feel bad for needing anything....like water!! We were surrounded by good friends, so we brushed off the incredibly long dinner and took the kids swimming. There were no pool towels in the locker rooms and we checked on pool towels several times. The pool is located in a seperate building, so we had wet kids running back to the room in the cold (this scenario repeated itself both nights we stayed). We get back to our room and I get the sofa sleeper ready for the kids to sleep in and find an opened package of "pleasure mints"....for the lack of better words and opened "wrappers". Absolutely disgusting. Then, our friends, that we talked into coming and staying at the resort with us layed on their murphy bed and it broke. They slept on a broken bed and we had to remake a bed that contained some nasty opened products. To try to remain in good spirits and that this was just a "bad night", we slept and awoke with an attitude that it just couldn't repeat itself like that. We decided to order food into our room this time so that we don't put our kids through the misery of a long wait and were greeted by the person on the phone rudely stating we had to order right at that moment if we wanted food. Our resort package included a gift certificate for their restaurant and we were basically told that if we didn't order at that moment, we were forfeiting $50. So, we ordered food at 5pm. Again, the food was excellent, but the wait staff were just miserable. A continental breakfast was provided but scarce. The muffins were delicious but each morning that I went to gather food for our family, the food was almost gone (got three muffins for the four of us). I attempted to give my youngest child a bath, but the stopper int he bathtub was broken. The toilet barely flushed. EVERYTHING WAS STRESSFUL AND IT FELT LIKE WORK. WHAT"S WORSE IS THAT NO ONE CARES!!!! One gentleman name Chad did state that he would pass on our concerns to the general manager, but no one has called. When I went to check out, the lady looked at my card and said "Oh your are the one that cancelled a million times!!!!" I was absolutely furious as I did have to cancel our initial reservation for Christmas time due to our critically ill child that was literally near death and in ICU. Plus, we cancelled those reservation within their cancellation policy. She was incredibly rude and passive aggressive. This was FAR FROM a resort. This facility did not provide a RESORT feeling to us and are very disappointed with our entire stay. Such a tragedy because this place really does have potential if someone would just manage this place and take care of the customers that are paying big bucks to vacation there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe someone will finally give us a call to attempt in making things right?????? Better yet, get some management that understands customer service. What a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room that had a murphy bed, sofa sleeper and a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gr8outdoors523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
5.6 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
72 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
343 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Resort

Address: 6380 US Highway 212 South, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: $146 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains, Rock Creek Resort is the ideal spot for family reunions, business meetings, conventions, weddings or a romantic getaway. The resort has 87 rooms featuring spectacular views of Rock Creek or beautiful pond side views with the Beartooth Mountains as a backdrop. Activities include swimming, children's playground, catch & release fish pond, local hiking trails. Free wireless internet. Old Piney Dell restaurant & Bar offers fine dining with a cozy bar for drinks. Minutes away from downhill skiing and golfing or a short drive to Yellowstone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rock Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Red Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing