We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable elegance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gallagher's Irish Rose B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Red Lodge B&B and Inns
Woodville, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable elegance”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was a wonderful B&B to stay in. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathtub and shower very large, and everything was CLEAN! The breakfasts were very good and the location made shopping accessable on foot. I would recomend Gallagher's to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyRenee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Gallagher’s Irish Rose Bed and Breakfast is run by husband and wife, Gordon and Leah Gallagher. The Irish Rose is located in darling Red Lodge, Montana—in the heart of town and at the entrance to one of the most scenic byways in the country…the Beartooth Highway. It’s also conveniently located just an hour from Billings, where you can fly into if you’re not driving.

The Irish Rose (build circa 1910) is a traditional style home with a Victorian flair. The B&B is located within walking distance from wonderful restaurants, shops, hiking, fishing and so much more.

The Irish Rose’s great location is also its downfall in a slight way…the traffic noise can be a bit loud at times; however things do seem to die down by 10:30 or so. If you are sensitive to noise, do what I do and travel with ear plugs.

Road noise aside, the Irish Rose is a quaint place with three eclectically designed rooms. Much of the artwork in the home was painted by Leah. Just after you check-in you’re treated to a welcome snack with a couple of wine choices in which you can enjoy on the porch as you observe passersby.

Breakfast at the Irish Rose is also a treat…I won’t soon forget the sour cream blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup…oh they were so delicious. Guests are also welcome to a supply of sodas, bottled water, hot cocoa and tea throughout their stay.

There is so much to do in and around Red Lodge that you’ll want to stay at least a few days. Each season brings a different round of things to see, and activities to enjoy. For more information on Red Lodge and the Beartooth Highway, click here for my overview of the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikesRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Very comfortable, clean and lovely house. Gordon & Leah Gallagher work very hard to make sure their guests have a pleasurable stay. A great home cooked breakfast and an afternoon treat are provided. They are very knowledgable about Red Lodge and the surrounding area and are very willing to share the information. Highly recommend staying with them.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed in Red Lodge for four nights with our teenage son. We were visiting the Yellowstone area on vacation and found Red Lodge to be an nice alternative to staying in the park or other "gate" communities near Yellowstone and Teton. Our room was pretty cozy for three of us; but it was nice, the beds were good, and it had a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The breakfasts were filling and tasty, and were different each day. We enjoyed the fridge, available 24 hours a day, stocked with water and soda, and the teapot was always on. The afternoon refreshments are definitely a nice touch, although we were out at that time each day, and weren't able to take advantage of that. The hosts were friendly and informative, with tons of tips on things to do and see. This B & B is very well-run. Red Lodge is a small town which one can walk through and find a good meal, or check out the interesting collection of local shops. It was quiet at night for sleeping, and we really enjoyed talking with local residents about the area, things to do, and its history. If you are going to the Yellowstone area, consider Red Lodge one of your destinations: it is surrounded by incredible natural beauty.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdarcyisaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed at the Irish Rose with my two teenage sons during a ski trip and had a great stay. Very nice atmosphere and very relaxing. Located right on the edge of downtown so that you can walk to shops and restaurants. The Gallagher's are incredibly accommodating, and the breakfasts are amazing. Can't say enough. We will be going back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semperfisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband and I enjoy skiing and taking in the sites while staying in Red Lodge. We spend a lot of time in Red Lodge, and have stayed at a few other places. We have found the Irish Rose to be the most accommodating with a home like atmosphere. Leah and Gordon serve an excellent breakfast, and have a light snack in the afternoon to offer those who trail in. We enjoy our morning chats with them and yet they give us our privacy. We highly recommend the Irish Rose, and will be visiting them again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

A truly great place to stay (we stayed one night on our way to Yellowstone). The owners were nice and friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was an amazing home-cooked meal. Excellent value, we'll stay again next time we are in town.

Check out Red Lodge Ales (geat brewery!) just a mile up the road.

This is a great place to start your trip to Yellowstone, the Beartooth Highway is awesome (3 hour drive from Red Lodge to the East entrance).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#1 of 10 in Red Lodge
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallagher's Irish Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallagher's Irish Rose B&B

Property: Gallagher's Irish Rose B&B
Address: 302 S Broadway, Red Lodge, MT 59068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of Red Lodge, Montana on the south edge of the business district. We are located at the corner of Broadway and 14th Street next to the Community Church. Red Lodge is nestled at the foot of the majestic Beartooth Mountains. It is the gateway to the Beartooth Highway, a National Scenic Byway and the route Charles Kuralt deemed the "most beautiful road in America." The Northeast entrance to Yellowstone Park is a 68 mile drive over the Beartooth Highway. Beautiful Rock Creek flows through Red Lodge. Just a one-hour drive from Billings Logan International Airport, Gallagher’s Irish Rose is the perfect location for exploring Yellowstone Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing