We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Finding a bag of drugs in the parking lot should have been my first clue, but we were on a ski trip and wanted a place to stay with a hot tub. Indoor hot tub was disgusting, the outdoor one was decent. The room was small, carpet was stained and the tv made clicking noises even when it was off. The pool area was messy and there were no towels. The desk clerk said he would bring some but never did. He went home instead. There were little kids running up and down the halls until after midnight and no staff to contact. At 3 am a drunken couple were arguing outside my door. When we asked them to be quiet the man became violent and threatening. We called the hotel emergency number but got a recording so we called the police. The hotel is locked and has no staff so I had to go back out in the hall with the violent drunk to let the police in. They did begrudgingly refund my money but it didn't make up for the worst night in a hotel ever. There is no oversight, no staff and is not safe. I would never consider staying there again at any price. It is dirty and poorly run.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Wyohonky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott N, Manager at Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

First I want to truly apologize for the experience you had during your stay at our hotel. It is NOT acceptable.
As of January 1st the Beartooth Hideaway is under new management. And with our combined 30 years hospitality experience, our goal is to provide a safe, clean, comfortable, family friendly environment. There have been many changes and improvements since your last stay and we think you would be pleasantly surprised! We hope you'll give us another try. Feel free to give us A call with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Scott & Amber Nance
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Check in was very quick, older style hotel, rooms were nice, clean and assortment of colored towels was awesome! Small breakfast, plenty of coffee, and the pool is "GI-NORMOUS!!!" Walked across the road to the stream, very nice and the box car looking food joint was fantastic too! Saw two deer grazing while we were wiping the bikes off for our ride over Beartooth Byway. Not a bad place if you're passing through and need a place to relax, sleep, grab a shower and get back on the road. Therre's a gas station about a hundred yards away and downtown is approximately a mile at the most. Staff was friendly...no issues at all.

Room Tip: top floor or one with a view of the parking lot. Stay away from a room near the pool if there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel years ago when I think it was a Super 8. When we came to Red Lodge again this trip we hunted up this hotel to find it changed hands and had some iffy reveiws. I was a little concerned after reading some bad reveiws but tried it anyway... so glad I did. Our rooms (3 of them) were very modern, VERY clean and out of 9 people we were 100% happy and slept great. I can't understand why this is #7 out of 7 specialty lodging in fact I can't understand why it is "specialty lodging". I guess because they have cabins but it is also a large typical hotel. If this was listed under hotels I think more people would find them.Front desk people leave at 10:00 and come back at 7:00 am so you have to use your key to get in, a little strange in a place this big. They were very friendly and helpful. I asked for extra towels and pillows and they gave them to me right away, when I looked around the room I found more towels and 4 extra pillows already there.We'll be back next time! Nice place... would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed in both the inn and in the cabins. We will definitely stay in the cabins again. We had a surprise 50th birthday for my husband, and our friends (and some other lovely people) had four of the cabins for the night. Beautiful, sparkling clean, and the grill was a nice plus. Great time. The bed was super comfortable. Bathroom is nice and big.

Not too expensive, considering all that comes with it. There is room to sleep four, although we just had two.

It's within walking distance to downtown (we love Red Lodge), and the river is just across the road. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillawilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

These cabins are an awesome place to stay. We spent 2 days here enjoying the area. It's a nice get away from our home in Billings. Red Lodge is always a fun town to walk and shop and eat in. The cabins themselves are very nice. The living room/kitchen area is comfortable to lounge around. The bed is extremely comfortable and the bathroom is very roomy and easy for 2 people trying to get ready for the day.
The porches are a great places to spend some time, and a great way to meet some of the other guests.

Room Tip: All 4 cabins are located together so it doesn't matter which one you get. Also, If the "W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeK174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I don't have one single complaint! The cabin was clean, comfortable, cozy and everything I had hoped it would be. EVERYTHING worked beautifully and we used the grill on the porch while the deer meandered about.
Delightful experience! I will put it at the top of the list for cabins in town!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our "family suite" was dirty and missing sheets on the bed. I had to wipe down room with wipes. Bathroom was gross and room was musky and out dated. Wrong room keys were given an we had no access to inner hotel after 10 pm. Front desk (manager) was very rude

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autkielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
72 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins

Address: 1223 S Broadway Ave, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: $98 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from downtown Red Lodge. A large pool with 2 hot tubs 1 indoor and 1 outdoor. Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi. Clean comfortable rooms and 4 Beautiful Cabins on site for the ultimate Hideaway!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins Hotel Red Lodge
Beartooth Hideaway Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing