We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chico Hot Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Livingston(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$129
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$180
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Livingston(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$121
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Livingston(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$124
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Hotel(Livingston)(Great Value!)
$229
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Motor Inn(Livingston)
$72
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
330
214
77
36
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
214
77
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgepoolside grillhorseback ridinglower lodgeparadise valleydog sleddingpool siderustic cabinoriginal lodgethe main dining roomlarge pooldinner reservationsshared bathspring poolmontana experiencehot poolsown bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 679 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We just spent the night at Chico for about the 100th time, and it was lovely. It's always a bit different. This time there was a wedding, so the lobby was always full and dinner wasn't quite up to its usual excellence, but we still love it. It just has so much personality and charm. You really notice when you spend the night before at a chain motel.

I was just reading over all the reviews of Chico, and I laughed because I thought of the old folk tale about the blind men and the elephant. Each man feels just one part of the elephant, and so makes a wrong conclusion about what the elephant really is. It reminds me of Chico because Chico is everything that people say in these sometimes conflicting reviews. There are rustic, cramped rooms without bathrooms and luxury rooms with jacuzzis. There is a restaurant with service and food as good as any place I've been. (The elk in the mixed grill this weekend was an amazing experience.) There is also a bar that serves "just okay" burgers. Sometimes sitting in the pool with a glass of wine as you watch snowflakes fall in the surrounding moutains is an almost mystical experience. Sometimes, there are 55 people in the pool, and the every kid is screaming and splashing.

Just like the elephant, all the reviews describe Chico in all its quirky Western glory. It's always a different experience, and that's why I love it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Wonderful natural hot springs pool, historic hotel, good restaurant. Cabins and accomodations available in a wide budget range. Pets welcome in some rooms for 20. extra. Location is rural Montana mountains, the starry nights and clean air are wonderful. This is a popular get-away from Bozeman (less than an hour) or Billings (hour and a half). For under 80. you can get a room in the main lodge that accepts pets, but be aware that this is the "main drag" to the pool and noisy. Also - many rooms in the main lodge don't have a bathroom, the "facilities" are down the hall and shared. You need to get up very early to get into the shower, and even earlier to get any hot water in it. But more secluded and luxurious rooms, cabins and houses are available. Also rent horses next door for guided trail rides, and enjoy some of the best fishing in the country. I went for a business convention, and am planning a return for pure recreation as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliane144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I passed the turn off for this spot, on my way to the North Entrance of Yellowstone. I noticed the "Natural Hot Springs" sign and thought...but that Gardiner would have such things, also. Gardiner was pleasant enough, but I just didn't anywhere advertising natural hot springs. Gardiner just didn't seem to be where I wanted to stay the night before my big adventure to Yellowstone. So I went back 30 miles to the turn-off for Chico Hot Springs.
What a treat! Lovely vintage lodge with available dining, soaking, and cabins. The accomodations which fit my budget was a small bedroom with shared bathroom facilities for $40.00. It was a lovely room (big enough for one traveller or two small travellers). The shared facilities were sparkling clean. The spa soak and swim was fabulous and they also have a day spa with all the luxuries of massage, facials, etc.
With the money I saved on the room, I treated myself to a full dinner ($25.00), although cheap eats are available. The food was excellent as well as the total ambience. It was a wonderful and suitable start to my Yellowstone adventure.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Chico Hot Springs was recommended to me by a friend and his girlfriend who stayed there last year. I was a little concerned that it was too far away from Yellowstone (about 30 minutes north) but the hotel was totally worth it. It's in the middle of nowhere and has several building surrounded by green lawns (in the middle of otherwise dry fields). We stayed in the caboose on top of a hill behind the main building and it was excellent. Frankly, the web site does not do justice to the place.

We also used the hot spring pools and they were great. Also, as an added bonus, the pool is behind the saloon and there is a walk-up window from the pool area so you can get drinks (and drink them in the pool). The saloon itself is a great place to hang out in the evening and has a pool table, shuffleboard table (English pub-style, not like on a cruise ship), and video games, as well as live music and a great selection of beer.

The restaurant is also wonderful. We ate dinner and breakfast there and dinner especially was delightful. By far this place had the best food in the Yellowstone area and it's definitely worth the trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Chico hot springs is awesome. Yes there are bugs...they are what make the trout grow so big... and dust and ceaky floors ...this is old montana at it's best...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royalwulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews