We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable First-time Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chico Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pray
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable First-time Experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We attended a friend's 50th birthday celebration here at the resort. We stayed Saturday through Tuesday. Even with the reviews on the site I didn't quite know what to expect. We had a wonderful time.

Here are the details of our stay:

Check in was easy and the staff friendly. We found this to be true of all the folks we dealt with at the resort. Friendly faces and nice people.

We stayed in the Fishermans Lodge - room 806. This room has two queen beds and an old style hotel bathroom set up. Sink and clothes outside the shower/toilet area. We were told it was recently renovated. It may have been updated in some respects but it still has some budget hotel features - like the vinyl flooring in the entry and bathroom. Don't let this sway your opinion of the place however. Remember you are in a resort that started back in 1900. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Furniture showed some of its wear - but in line with the old lodge atmosphere. There are no TVs or phones in these rooms. Keys are old style with the plastic key ring with the number on it. Note the water pressure in the shower is very hard - but keeping hot water takes continued turning of the knob. Never ran out - but you have to keep bumping up the temp. In the sink however it is hot hot hot. I just found this odd. Plenty of pillows and the beds are comfortable. Quiet up in the lodge as there are only a few rooms and it is up the hill from the main lodge. Very easy walk to pool and dining down the steps and through the garden. 5 minutes max.

One of our group was in Villa 601. Nice loft cabin with a kitchen and living room. Nice set up for a family but further up the hill. Longer walk to lodge/pool.

We had an organized dinner in the Wine Cellar on the first night. Lovely venue for a private party. We crowded 16 people in around the table and had dedicated staff to take care of us. Those two guys had their work cut out for them. I didn't care so much for my escargot stuffed mushrooms. This may just be a seasoning thing. My husband had the blue point oysters and they were very good. I ordered the risotto for dinner and that was quite pleasant. My husband had prime rib and it was cooked nicely -however he would have liked it a bit pinker. They have a signature desset - give it a try if you like orange, ice cream and chocolate. Overall the comments on dinner were positive.

The breakfast buffet at the main lodge is very nice. We had Sunday buffet (more elaborate) and Monday buffet (more basic). Food was very good on both days. Its country fair with eggs, meat, pancakes or french toast and assorted yogurts, muffins, etc on weekdays. All made on site. Sunday they add the traditional salmon, omelet station, lamb to the options. You are quite isolated out here so if you aren't in a cabin or villa the lodge dining is your only choice. Keep that in mind. Last seating is at 9:00 - so no late night feasts here. The grille at the Saloon closes at 9:00 also. Plan accordingly.

You have to have a wrist band and towel for the hot spring pools. Nice area. Bar and Grille right there. Plenty of room. "Hot tub" (hotter than main pool which is already hot) part of the pool is covered so you can get out of the sun. Pool is hot and there is a ledge all around for sitting in the water. Rafts and toys are allowed. Kid especially like the pool since it is so warm.

We also visited the Saloon in the evening with our group. Very lively on Saturday and Sunday evening. Great place for drinks, playing pool and some video games. Band was playing Saturday.

They have a banquet room which we used on Sunday for a private party. Bar service and food was exceptional. Spills out on to a large deck and the lawn area. It was nice enough to have appetizers and drinks on the deck with picnic tables on the lawn. Staff was super in accomodating our party and again friendly folks.

On the grounds there offer horse back riding and river floats. Paradise Adventure has an office right there to book trips. We did a float on the Yellowstone Sunday morning. Well worth it and super easy since they pick you up and drop you off right there.

There resort is 30 miles from the North entrance of Yellowstone. You can easily take day trips to the park from here.

We didn't use any of the spa services - but many in our group did and all had great things to say about it.

I was pleasantly surprised at this place. It is an old place and they keep that charm. Do not expect fancy resort appearances. Its comfortable, clean and a wonderful little place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of your stay at Chico! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    193
    69
    34
    17
See reviews for
169
246
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, Nd
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been to Chico Hot Springs many times in my life, most recently in July of 2012. The lodging option for us then was the Fisherman's Lodge. It gets a little warm in there at night as there is no a/c in the rooms. I would recommend people stay in the Lower Lodge. We stayed in a unit there in July of 2011. The vaulted ceiling and having a window in the bathroom helped keep the unit a lot cooler. Definitely advise against staying in Warren's Wing as it gets very noisy in that area. We stayed in that section in July of 2010. It was nice to be closer to the pool but not worth the racket. But regardless of which accommodation you end of getting, you will still have a wonderful time at Chico. We love eating in the dining room and Poolside Grille. Try to get two nights in at the dining room. It's worth every penny.

Room Tip: Choose the Lower Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and your advice to others on lodging options. We hope to see you on your next trip through Montana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

You can have a good time here, but there are some quirks.
The pool is great, the food is excellent, the scenery stunning.
But the Lodge is pretty old and that means thin walls and floors, and quirky bathrooms to say the least (a very odd toilet, and it's difficult to adjust heat in the shower room).

I got the room right over the main desk, which means that their rock music reverberated through the room all day long. I tried to take a nap at 4 pm and it was difficult because the music was coming through loud and clear. But I'm not sure you will do a lot better anywhere else in the Lodge. The solution is ear plugs or stay in a different venue, like a cabin, if you want quiet.

I thought the rooms and bathrooms were very clean, just noisy.

Did I say NOISY!!! Yes, and I was there on Sunday-Monday. I wouldn't want to try it over a busy weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid 222 or 223, they are right above the main desk where loud rock music plays all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkin_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give potential guests some advice on lodging. We have several lodges and cabins, so many options for all types of guests. Yes, the Main Lodge is 113 years old this summer, and along with its squeak and creaks, sound does carry easily through the building. If you are a light sleeper try the Lower Lodge, Fisherman's Lodge, or any of the cabins, cottages, chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the North 40 cabins. It was spacious, well appointed, quiet and clean. Dinner was great, as usual (we live in the area and go there from time to time for special occasions). The internet connection was a little iffy in the cabins, but useable. Cell-phone service can also be an issue on parts of the property. A warning though, this is no cabin to stay in if you have privacy or modesty issues at all. The drapes on the big picture window on the front of the cabin lack about 18 inches of meeting in the middle so there is a straight on unobstructed view into the cabin at night. The other windows have shades, but they are very see through. From outside nothing is left to the imagination. (Walking by, I could read the headlines on the newspaper my wife was holding.) At least the blinds in the bathroom do a good job of blocking the view!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
LarryB10 - We have since replaced all of the interior blinds in the North 40 Cabins, and have front window curtains on order. Thank you for your feedback! Promises of more privacy next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for an overpriced dirty room in desperate need of renovation, this is the place for you. I pulled down the blinds and what do I find? Dead bugs. The bathroom barely had water and hot water was in short supply. The rugs are actually rippled and I hope you don't trip. The tiles around the Jacuzzi were broken and when I turned it on, it slimed up with foam. I don't think I have been in such a dirty $200 a night "resort". Shame on Chico for not doing any renovations and letting the main building fall into such disrepair. Lower your prices to what you really deserve, about $60.00 a night and stop passing yourself off as a resort. Resorts actually make renovations and clean. Run, Run in the other direction.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We take a great deal of pride in the cleanliness of our resort. One of the top 3 compliments on our comments sheets is cleanliness of guest rooms. You will find your guest room clean and tidy, and if by chance something is amiss, we will take care of it immediately. Yes, the pool tiles need some work - and we're working on scheduling a time to do that. Not sure where this guests stayed, as the description doesn't quite fit any of our lodging options, we don't have jacuzzi suites in the historic Main Lodge. We are constantly working on updates and maintaining the Resort, and the owners are continually reinvesting in the property. While we'd like to think Chico has something to offer everyone, we are a rural Montana Resort with 113 years of history and an amazing service-minded staff, always working to preserve the history, romance, and culture of a very unique Montana treasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Chico H.S. for a night and everything was great. We were greeted by a friendly lab upon entering and the staff was great and very accommodating.
I had the chance to get a massage and was lucky to get Mary. She did a wonderful job and was very sweet and listened well to my needs. Definitely ask for her if you book a massage. Overall the staff was great and the room was nice.
The actual pool where the hot springs flows in could definitely use some work. It looks old, dirty and crowded. If this place is going to be centered on the hot spring then this should be the nicest part. A little paint and retiling should help.

Room Tip: The cabin at the top of the hill is amazing with incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rujea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments! Yes, we agree the pool area needs some attention and we're trying to schedule some time to do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family & I have enjoyed Chico for many years. We spend a few nights a year here just to get away. We have watched as Chico has increased in popularity , they have made few upgrades which are well needed. In my opinion unless you are staying in one of the "private" cabins all of the other rooms are in need of a serious upgrade. For the price they now ask per night for the "standard" rooms they should either lower the rates or complete upgrades. For instance our room recently booked in the fisherman's lodge didn't even have a shower head. Chain locks were missing from the doors, the connecting room door appeared to have been kicked in at one time. The towels they provide for the hot spring are now a complete joke. Overall the rooms are just old & run down. We always eat at the restaurant which has never disappointed us. I still don't understand why they don't provide wait service for people using the hot springs, seems like they could boost sales with a waitress.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffaloMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontanaMac, Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to respond! We are constantly updating and upgrading our 110 guest lodging options. For example just this month we have or have scheduled: replaced several bed frames and mattress sets in the Historic Main Lodge, new carpet in the Poolside Grille, new bed frames and furniture in several Warren Wing rooms, new tile entryways and bathroom floors in the Fisherman's Lodge, new curtains in the Fisherman's Lodge. We're always working around groups and guests and weather, but always working on making Chico a better place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pray
7.8 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
191 reviews
20.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
709 reviews
20.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
21.9 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chico Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chico Hot Springs Resort

Property: Chico Hot Springs Resort
Address: 163 Chico Road, Pray, MT 59065
Location: United States > Montana > Pray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Yellowstone National Park, this lodge offers mineral springs to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chico Hot Springs Hotel Pray
Chico Hot Springs Resort Montana/Pray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing