We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historically remarkable place, beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pompeys Pillar National Monument

Pompeys Pillar National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
231 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Historically remarkable place, beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Beautiful new visitor center, lovely site on the Yellowstone River with shade; the walk up to the top of the Pillar is very doable for anybody reasonably fit.

Helpful?
1 Thank EcoArtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a side trip from Billings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

There's a fee to enter the grounds with your car. Visitor Center is big, has a small museum with a recurring film about the Lewis and Clark journey. Gift shop is big and well stocked. Rangers and staff all friendly. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The whole visitor center is actually quite nice.

Pompeys Pillar itself isn't the largest or most impressive rock (but beats the heck out of Plymouth Rock which is so disappointing). The park service has built an entire walk way of stairs which makes to very easy to walk up to the engraved signatuve of William Clark and even to the top of the rock. You get a great view of the surrounding area from the top. If you have trouble walking steps, then it may be a bit toomuch for you, but it makes the trip so much easier. It's not wheel chair accessible (nor could it be as its a rock and not a building). Don't be one of the clueless people that tries to bring a stroller only to realize you should have carried you baby or not subjected them in the first place to attempting to climb a rock (even though it has steps).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikedespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best historical attraction near Billings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The movie, displays, grounds, facilities, and Clark's signature are all well preserved and presented.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEPRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
Level Contributor
309 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“New visitors center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

They are really trying to improve this attraction but there really isn't much out there to do. I think all the new improvements will greatly enhance our next visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
576 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Interesting and Beautiful Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Visited the monument while traveling through Eastern Montana. There is an entrance fee per vehicle. Enjoyed walking up the stairs to see Clark's signature and also for the views at the top of the Yellowstone River, cottonwood trees and valleys below. The visitor center is in a beautiful building and has a nice film and some interesting exhibits, much of them centered around William Clark of the Lewis and Clark exhibition. We did not spend much time at the visitor center though. We probably spent the bulk of the time birdwatching amongst the many large beautiful cottonwoods that line the Yellowstone River and create a very nice park setting in the monument. There are some picnic tables and places to sit as well. This is an excellent place to see birds and as a birder, I enjoyed seeing a few new birds to add to my lifelist as well as others I was familiar with. I would recommend this monument for the history, beautiful setting and birdwatching.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pompeys Pillar National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing