We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty building, paper thin walls.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Polson
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and the front desk clerk was on the phone and dealing with what sounded like a computer issue (talked about the server, was futzing with the computer while she chatted, etc.) She greeted us after her relatively long (5-10 minute) conversation was over. In retrospect, I would've appreciated a little eye contact and acknowledgment from her. But, she was polite and we asked her if the Thai restaurant we'd passed was any good. She mentioned that it is and she would love to have dinner there herself, but that no one was around to cover the desk for her.

We loaded in and noted that the rooms and lobby were very attractive and inviting. Had I brought a book with me, I would've wanted to sit on the comfy couch in the lobby and read. We requested a lakeside view and there were no boats docked so it was quiet and pleasant on our little patio.

The bed was really comfortable (we went with a king bed) and the room itself was spacious.

At dinner, we decided to order a little something to take back to the desk clerk, since by the time she got off work the restaurant would've been closed. When we brought it back for her, she was oddly cool about it. I don't know if she was thrown off by a stranger, or a customer, going ahead and bringing her food she hadn't asked for, but she replied with a very casual "oh thanks". I felt like I had just returned a pen she'd lent me rather than gone out of my way to do her a favor.

I stopped at the store and picked up some ear plugs before we settled in for the night. I'm really glad I did that, because before I put them in I kept hearing things from the hallway. I can't even say the people were being that loud (except when I could hear things coming all the way from the casino area). At one point I looked outside to see what the noise was and it was just three adult men walking down the hallway. They weren't stomping especially loudly and the weren't running; just their normal walking caused a lot more noise that I would've thought possible.

I was grossed out to discover lots of dirty specks on the underside of the toilet seat as well as in the crevice of the lid closest to the seat (the one that a chambermaid would have to work a little bit to clean well; it's not the most easy part to reach, but since it's visible to guests I would think it's worth the effort). I decided to shower with flip flops on after that since I assumed that other areas of bathroom cleaning probably went by the wayside, too.

The next morning, we discovered that someone(s?) had attempted to peel our Obama "Hope" bumper sticker off of our car (they succeeded in removing the two upper corners). I am not sure if that was a hotel patron or not (though the woman at check-in mentioned that lots of people just come by to use the casino), but regardless I would not choose to stay in this hotel again. We live in another part of Montana, in a fairly conservative area, but we've never had anyone actually vandalize our vehicle before.

I'd rather give a different hotel a shot next time we're in Polson just due to the rude, weird, and unfortunate experiences we had here. Vandalism is rude, the desk clerk food thing was weird, and ultimately my hotel room should at least allow me to have a relatively restful night, even if I forget my ear plugs at home. I'd rather have better insulated walls between which I can get a restful night's sleep than a pretty hotel in which I cannot any day. At the very least, that is what I am paying for when I spend my money to stay overnight someplace that isn't my home. If it can't even serve that purpose, what's the point?

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

All rooms overlook a beautiful lake. Ours even had a tiny balcony. Room was clean & comfortable. Restaurant in hotel was understaffed but had good food. There is a casino in the hotel but we don't gamble.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_Teacher_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The front desk clerks were uninformed on service dog regulations by the ADA / Dept of Justice and charged me $25 for having my friend's service dog in our room:
"Neither a deposit nor a surcharge may be imposed on an individual with a disability as a condition to allowing a service animal to accompany the individual with a disability, even if deposits are routinely required for pets. However, a public accommodation may charge its customers with disabilities if a service animal causes damage."

Not only that, when I had checked in, my room should have been paid for on the CC on file. They told me that I could not check in unless I gave a new CC with my ID. The room was to be paid for by my mother, a bride-to-be that weekend, as my gift for being in the wedding. I wasn't about to make her come to the hotel just to pay for my room!

Other than that the housekeeping was great. We were in a clean room & it was cleaned during our stayover very promptly. Our only complaint on the room was that we were awoken at 5:30am & 6:30am on consecutive mornings because we could hear the shower plumming from the room above us. It was VERY loud & we are very light sleepers.

For us, the hotel should have been more informed on ADA regulations and a little bit more pleasant at the front desk. Other than that, it really isn't a bad hotel. Our trip just wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband and I spent one quick night at this hotel, but it was a lovely evening.
We booked a lakeside room on the ground floor, and like another reviewer mentioned, we had a door that opened right onto a patio with a table and two chairs, which was overlooking the dock. There was not a single boat attached to the dock, so it was completely quiet outside.
In addition to the beautiful view, there was free wireless internet and a really comfy bed. There are amazing historic photos in the hallways of the First Native people from the area - the photos are just stunning.

The only drawback - a 'resort fee.' Yes this property is on a lake and has an indoor pool, but there wasn't really any justification for this 'fee.'

That said, we still had a really lovely evening there.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank latitude53er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Pleasant stay with good staff and a decent restaurant. Properly priced and a well appointed and clean room. The place is nice and in a nice location. Everyone was very pleasant and accomodating. I would stay here again. It is appropriately priced for it's class.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeforUsNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I am a business traveler and had a 10 night business trip. I am a Gold Level with Choice, Holiday Inn and Hampton Inn. This was my third night out.

The location was easy to find. My room was suitable. The lake/mountain view was incredible and right outside the door. I was excited!

THE NOISE WAS OVERWHELMING! The motor boats were taking off from the dock right outside my room. There were LOTS of little children running up and down the hall....bouncing balls and screaming...until after 10:00 p.m. There parents sent them back out into the hall at 6:00 a.m. I was there for a meeting and needed some quiet rest. My room rate was $140 plus with and added $9.95 resort tax ( I was told this was to sleep in the bed...what?)

For this price, I would absolutely skip it! At booking, I asked for a quiet room, called ahead and requested one...reminded them at check it. I was told, "this is what we have..."

The area itself was GORGEOUS but I got no sleep! I hope to get to Montana again but will NOT stop here! The stay could have been wonderful but fell severely short of my expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherjanegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

If you stay at this Best Western be sure to request a room with a view of the lake - it is awesome! The room we had was on the main floor and had a front door from the hallway but also had a backdoor with a patio, table and chairs, grass, and a gorgeous view of the lake. We brought our dog along so having the backdoor was awesome! The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable with a nice comforter. They have a computer in the lobby to use for internet access. The parking lot near our room wasn't paved so it was a challenge to navigate the mud puddles.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiem1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Polson hotels
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Port Polson Inn
4.7 mi away
Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino

Address: 49708 US Highway 93, Polson, MT 59860-2305 (Formerly Best Western Plus KwaTaqNuk Resort)
Location: United States > Montana > Polson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Polson
Price Range: $96 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino is owned and operated by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribe, and is located 67 miles North of Missoula, and 50 miles South of Kalispell right on the South end of beautiful Flathead Lake and is surrounded by the magnificent Mission Mountain Range in Polson, Montana. We have 111 extremely comfortable sleeping rooms all with which contain flat screen televisions, refrigerators, eco-friendly down comforters, with all lake side rooms equipped with private balconies overlooking the lake. KwaTaqNuk has an indoor pool, hot tub, on-site restaurant and lounge, a 24 hour casino, and with "The Shadow" (our 140 passenger cruise boat) we also have the ability to accommodate meetings and private events out on the lake, as well as offering public cruises. The KwaTaqNuk offers a full Banquet catering staff and is capable of serving up to 220 people on 5,000 square feet of conference space. Our main conference room will accommodate up to 220 people seated on rounds of ten with a riser for any speakers. We also have two small breakout rooms, available for use which will accommodate up to 20 people and can be used as a preparation area, or for smaller breakout meetings, for private events. Together with an experienced and friendly staff the KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino has the ability to make weddings, family events, conventions, corporate retreats, off site meetings, and holiday parties a sure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kwataqnuk Hotel Polson
Best Western Kwataqnuk Hotel
Polson Best Western
Best Western Polson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing