We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel although the casino is a little smokey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Polson
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great views of the lake right out the door of my room! The casino smoke fills the lobby so that was a bit of a bummer. My room was clean and quiet! I would stay there again if I was traveling through..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckdog98604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 381 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Whoa... welcome to Polson! The moment you walk into the lobby, you're slapped in the face with an old funky ashtray! The cigarette smoke is everywhere, even in my "non-smoking" room. I ended up in room 315, with a stunning view of the parking lot and road. I read others talk about the lovely view of the lake, I'm here for work and was not as fortunate. First impressions... this hotel needs to rip out all of it's carpet, do a MAJOR deep cleaning, paint the nasty walls and give the broken down furnishings an update. I contemplated going for a swim, but when I found that the water was so murky, you couldn't see the bottom of the pool, I decided against it. The room itself was pretty filthy. Food on the walls, fluids splashed on the walls, goldfish crackers on the floor, you name it! In an effort to drown out the noises that face the parking lot and road, I tried to get the HVAC unit running at a constant pace. First off, the broken cover came off in my hand. The unit will not run continuously, which brings me to the all night joys of staying here. I'm going to guess that the locals like drinking on Wednesday nights. All night long, I was waking up to the sounds of people yellling at each other in the parking lot, followed by peel outs on the pavement. I don't think I slept longer than 45 min at a stretch. Given how filthy the room and property was, I opted not to eat here and ventured elsewhere. I don't know if there are better places to stay in Polson, but I sure hope there aren't worse.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the parking lot / road side. Maybe the lake side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff accomodated our wishes for a higher floor, quieter room with balcony on the water. Check in was smooth (with cookies), and the front desk clerk did a great job of introducing us to their property and the area.

Unfortunately, after expecting lakeside water amenities (scenic boat trips, jet ski or canoe rentals), as offered by the website, we checked in to find that such amenities shut down on Labor Day. This should really have been made clear upon reservation, or via the website, and it's this that knocks down the rating a little.

View from the room was great. Staff was great, especially Terece from Jamaica in the casino. He was a one-man hotel promoter and Polson promoter- knowledgable, dedicated, and always busy. All hotels should have such great spokesmen.

Couple other little things the staff might give mind to: Don't leave a near-empty toilet paper roll on the spool, even if a full roll is available. Don't leave the alarm clock turned on- new checking-in guests tend to dislike having someone else's alarm wake them up at 5am for no reason during their vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Synopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorissa H, Front Office Manager at KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
My apologies that our seasonal boat tours had not been available during the time of your stay, we do hope that you return during our summer season so you may experience the Shadow to the fullest.
I will pass your kind words onto Terrace in the casino, and thank you for choosing our location to meet your hospitality needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have planned my vacation for 5 years in a row, staying at this resort. Being on the lake in a real plus, beautiful! They have greatly improved outside as far as the landscaping is concerned, but inside is absolutely horrible.

Several reviews have stated about the noise, which doesn't bother me. What bothers me is a cold shower in the morning, and a filthy room!

Under one of the beds I found a childs sock, under the other, a broken toy. Under the end table found shells of sunflower seeds. The real shocker was a used coffee pod in the basket of the coffee maker, and the coffee carafe wasn't cleaned out! The coffee maker was coated with old coffee on the back. There was a dead spider on the lower left of the molding leading into the bathroom. The sheets looked kinda iffy whether or not they were really changed.

The jaquzzi was covered with foam all over the top, otherwise would've been nice to use it.

The building looks like it needs a thorough cleaning on the inside. Outside, it's pretty nice. Frondesk clerks were real nice, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurie2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorissa H, Front Office Manager at KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

I would like to begin by thanking you for reviewing our property and to apologize for the lack of cleanliness you had experienced during your stay with us.
Since your review we have implemented the necessary changes to our property to ensure cleanliness in all of our hotel rooms, we agree that anything less is unacceptable.
We do hope that you will consider giving us another chance to meet and exceed your expectations.
We appreciate your kind words in regards to the exterior of our properties exterior and our employees, both are definitely highlights of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This resort is in a great location and was the jewel of the Flathead for years. However it needs a facelift and a good cleaning. Lobby area is aging and smells of smoke from the casino. The restaurant has been terribly downsized to accomodate another casino and has a limited menu, although the food was excellent. Many indigent looking peoiple hanging around made us nervous. Sleeping room was very clean and modern with good ammenities.
Would recommend the property with some reservations.

Room Tip: Choose waterside, that gives a great view of Flathead Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorissa H, Front Office Manager at KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations; we will be taking your review to heart and implementing the necessary improvements to make everyone’s stay at our property as comfortable as possible.
We hope you will return to our property after these changes have taken affect.
Thank you, and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Smoke filled hotel, nasty people hang out in lobby and entry way, mold smell in rooms. I will NEVER stay here again. They are sitting on a gold mind with the lake view but a lot of changes would have to be made. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Go to the north side of the lake, better places to stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorissa H, Front Office Manager at KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review, we do hope you will reconsider returning to our property in the future so we may make up for your not so great experience.
We will be implementing improvements to the facility that will improve our property for the comfort of all of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 1 night in september at BW Plus KwaTaqNuk in Polson, on our way from Glacier NP to Yellowstone NP. We just loved it. Location beautiful. We payed a little more for a room with lakeview and I should recommend doing this. Comfy and cosy room. Small terrace at the room. Big terrace at the hotel for sitting in the sun and enjoying the view on the lake. The outside swimmingpool was already closed for the season. We did not eat the breakfast, but the free coffee at the lobby was excellent and in the afternoon, they offer you free, fresh cookies. You have some smoke that is coming from the casino into the lobby, but this is not so worse. Free computer and internet is fast. Resto's at walking distance. A little drive to a supermarket. Just one very negative point and that is the reason I did not give the hotel 5/5. There is some very unfriendly woman working there, at the receptiondesk. She is always doing like she is very busy and has no time for the clients. When you try to say a frienly word to her, she has even no time for a friendly word back or even for a little smile. Recommended, but I hope the woman I told about, is in holiday when you are going.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room with a view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorissa H, Front Office Manager at KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel/casino. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
I would also like to apologize for the not so friendly employee you encountered during your stay; all of our staff have undergone customer service training and will be undergoing refreshment courses throughout the year.

Thank you for informing me of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polson
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Port Polson Inn
21.8 mi away
Flathead Lake Resort
Flathead Lake Resort
#4 of 8 in Bigfork
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast
17.9 mi away
Ninepipes Lodge
Ninepipes Lodge
#1 of 2 in Charlo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino

Address: 49708 US Highway 93, Polson, MT 59860-2305 (Formerly Best Western Plus KwaTaqNuk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Polson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Polson
Price Range: $96 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino is owned and operated by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribe, and is located 67 miles North of Missoula, and 50 miles South of Kalispell right on the South end of beautiful Flathead Lake and is surrounded by the magnificent Mission Mountain Range in Polson, Montana. We have 111 extremely comfortable sleeping rooms all with which contain flat screen televisions, refrigerators, eco-friendly down comforters, with all lake side rooms equipped with private balconies overlooking the lake. KwaTaqNuk has an indoor pool, hot tub, on-site restaurant and lounge, a 24 hour casino, and with "The Shadow" (our 140 passenger cruise boat) we also have the ability to accommodate meetings and private events out on the lake, as well as offering public cruises. The KwaTaqNuk offers a full Banquet catering staff and is capable of serving up to 220 people on 5,000 square feet of conference space. Our main conference room will accommodate up to 220 people seated on rounds of ten with a riser for any speakers. We also have two small breakout rooms, available for use which will accommodate up to 20 people and can be used as a preparation area, or for smaller breakout meetings, for private events. Together with an experienced and friendly staff the KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino has the ability to make weddings, family events, conventions, corporate retreats, off site meetings, and holiday parties a sure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Kwataqnuk Hotel Polson
Best Western Kwataqnuk Hotel
Polson Best Western
Best Western Polson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing