We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time with our family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Polson B&B and Inns
Boise, Id
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great time with our family”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here while in Polson for a friend's wedding. We had two rooms across the hall from each other for our family and my sister's family. It is so nice to find a B&B that is warm, inviting, and family friendly. They have kids so they understand what it is like to travel with them and make it just as nice for the kids to visit as it is for the adults. Our kids played on the toys, and loved swimming in the pool. The location is great in that it is not too far from town and right on beautiful Flathead Lake. We enjoyed all of the meals and snacks that were provided. We hope to get back sometime so we can enjoy the place a little more without all the crazy wedding stuff going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald and Kimb... W, Managing Partners at Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
A NOTE CONCERNING CHILDREN AND THIS REVIEW:
Swan Hill no longer takes B&B reservations with children under the age of 16; however, our Lakefront Cabin can be reserved for a family of 4 and there are no age restrictions for it.
We, Donald and Kimberly Walker, did host a wedding in October 2012 where children were permitted. We do not personally have any children of our own who live with us.
Prior to November 2011 the B&B was managed by Debbie and Drew Hanson who had 2 young boys and a teenaged daughter and who welcomed family reservations into the B&B.
Please be sure to note the Dates of both the REVIEW and STAY when considering TripAdvisor Reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
81
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Donald and Kim run a great bed and breakfast on Flathead Lake! The whole place is very warm and inviting, the rooms are very comfortable, the surrounding area is amazing. They have a cabin right on the lake or rooms just a very short walk away. We used the 2 person kayak to get out on the lake and go for a swim too, it was amazing! As if that weren't enough, the wrap around deck with a pool and sauna are also included... and, of course, a totally awesome breakfast suited to each travelers dietary need. All that and Donald and Kim are very nice, generous people. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and a chance to get to know Donald and Kim.

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose incorrectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesse_hutchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As soon as we arrived, it felt like home. We loved every minute of our stay at Swan Hill. We were pampered, and treated like family. The home is beautiful and the beauty of the outdoors was simply sensational. We enjoyed sitting by the lake, going out on the kayaks, soaking up the sunshine, reading a good book outside with a cat curled up in our laps, and slept wonderfully under the luxurious down comforters. The breakfasts were scrumptious, and the conversations around the table lively and fun. Kimberly and Donald made the weekend special for us. They are so personable and hospitable, I am positive that everyone who enters their home would feel as honored as we did to be there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald and Kimb... W, Manager at Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you, Lora, for taking the time to write a review. Peaceful Relaxation and Southern Hospitality are the cornerstones of Swan Hill B&B. It is important to Donald and I that we do what we can to offer that to our guests. I am so glad this was your experience. Blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Swanhill Bed and Breakfast and it was fabulous!!!!!! The owners Kimberly and Donald made us feel welcomed into their home and made us feel like we were part of their family!!!! The room was very inviting and clean, with a very comfortable bed; we slept like a king and queen. Oh, my, the breakfasts were smack your mama gooooood!!!!! We were so relaxed at the inn that we hated to leave to go sight see and could not wait to get back to the inn just to sit on the porch and take in all the beauty surrounding the home!!! We were sad when we had to leave, but feel blessed to have met two caring and genuine individuals.
Lucky in Kentucky,
John & Barb Medley

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald and Kimb... W, Manager at Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Oh Barbara, what a great time it was to have Kentuck-ians, Texans, and Virginia-ns all sitting around the breakfast table at the same time! In fact, when we added the California-ns....although they didn't quite speak the same twangy southern language ~grin~ well one might say we were having "smack your mama gooooood FUN!!!!!" ;)
Donald and I are grateful for the laughter that often accompanies our guests to the table as they begin to relax and enjoy their vacation here at Swan Hill. Who wouldn't get the giggles in the high Glacier Country Montana altitude?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Swan Hill B&B is managed by Kimberley and Donald in the most professional way. Before your arrival you get a personalised mail with directions. On arrival you are welcomed with the utmost hospitality and -in our case- a cool glass of huckleberry wine. The nicely decorated room was very comfortable and clean, the bed was heavenly and the surroundings fairtale-like. The house is sitting near Flathead Lake and you can take a paddle boat or a kayak to explore the beautiful water. The hosts also provide you with bicycles if you care to check out the area on two wheels. The B&B has its own swimming pool, but unfortunately we haven't been able to check it out during our stay because it had been emptied for repair works. Breakfast was very tasty (Kimberley makes the best English scones!). This B&B is an excellent place to relax and to get away from the madness of modern life. The trees and the water offer you a good night's sleep and plenty of rest. Just what we needed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just stopped by and met Kimberly and Donald who were most welcoming. We sat down and sampled a new receipe for a huckleberry cake. It was great. We didn't stay but the rooms and facilities look great and there is nothing else like it in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The suite upstairs will handle a small family or couple who want some space.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carefreepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald and Kimb... W, Manager at Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
What a blessing it was for Emil and Karen to bring you to Swan Hill to introduce us all over a bite of the Huckleberry GOODNESS I had just that afternoon prepared! Sitting around the dining room table swapping summer vacation stories was fun, wasn't it? We would love to host you and your family here at the B&B next time you are vacationing in Montana!! Why not plan it so that Flathead Lake is one of your vacation DESTINATIONS! As you now know...it is only a short scenic drive around the lake from Glacier Park and Kalispell with stunning views of the lake and Mission Mountains and well worth the little extra driving distance! THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It's a mystery! When you first arrive at Swan Hill B&B, you meet Kimberly and Donald, the most gracious hosts you'll ever find. If you're lucky you'll stay in the cabin by the lake, or in one of the beautifully appointed rooms. You're packing in all your "busy" life, the things that seem to matter, but sometime between check in and check out, the spell is cast. Troubles drift away, time stands still, big THINGS are forgotten and little things claim your attention...the beautiful flowers on the lovely deck, a mother deer and her two tiny fawns slowly drifting across the lawn, the songs of crickets and birds, the fresh smell of pine trees in the air. Every morning you're served the most amazing breakfast you'll ever have the good fortune to eat. If you relax, soon you will forget about busy things, the city noise will stop, replaced by the lapping of the lake? The good book, the snooze on the dock, the quiet kyack ride on Flathead Lake. How did it happen? I don't know, it's a mystery.

Room Tip: Great places to eat in town. Kimberly and Donald recommended two and both were divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald and Kimb... W, Manager at Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Kathy, It was just so much fun to read your "storybook" review of your experience while staying with us at Swan Hill B&B! It is indeed a majical place that makes for the most restful and peaceful of vacations. Hope you can return again - maybe during another season - to enjoy the beauty it has to offer! :) ~ Blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polson
5.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
4.7 mi away
KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino
4.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Port Polson Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
21.0 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Gaynor Ranch B & B
Gaynor Ranch B & B
#2 of 4 in Polson
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39407 Kings Point Rd, Polson, MT 59860-8201
Location: United States > Montana > Polson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Polson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our beautiful 4000 square foot redwood home in Northwest Montana on Flathead Lake. We have four rooms and one suite available in the main house, and a one bedroom lake cabin that sits at the water's edge. As our guest you have access to a heated indoor pool, sauna, large deck, boat dock, paddle-boat, kayaks, firepits, and more. The cabin and the house sit on 13 acres of evergreen forest that include trails used by humans and animals (deer) alike. Located in Polson, Montana Swan Hill is perfectly seated in the middle of Glacier Country making sightseeing, hiking, and eating out easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing