We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will go back to try more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Shore Smoke House

East Shore Smoke House
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Polson
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Smokehouse is an old Montana lodge with a fireplace burning in winter and a shady flower filled patio for summer dining. The huge lawn ia also a wonderful place for the kids to play with our bunnies. They love it. We have a full service bar ,12 local brews on tap and a complete wine list.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I will go back to try more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stopped here on a motorcycle ride around Flathead lake. I stopped at about 3pm and the place was empty so I sat in the bar. The dining room was nice and they have a couple of great patio spaces. The bar had upscale bar decor and was very nice. Service was friendly and the bartender was very attentive. The lunch menu had a nice selection of burgers, sandwiches, salads and smoked meats. Food came out very quickly. The smoked prime rib sandwich was really good. The meat was tender and flavorful and it was served on a very good french roll with whipped horse raddish sauce. The sandwich was served with homemade chips and house made BBQ sauce and both were really good also. I will definitely go back to try more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmaes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not sure what was going on”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

When we arrived on a glorious cool and sunny evening to this visually welcoming restaurant, there was a group of 3 in front of us. A couple of the outdoor tables were occupied, but the majority of the tables were empty. The hostess was telling the group of 3 that she had no tables available. They asked were there any available tables inside. No, was the answer. Could we wait? No. The hostess left. As the group of 3 walked by us to leave, I asked (figuring our group of 2 would not be getting a table) if they knew of any other good restaurants nearby. They recommended 2 and pointed the directions. They said they were locals and they had eaten there many times, but they doubted they'd be back. I should've listened. We walked up to the hostess area and the hostess came by, made no eye contact. We asked if there were any tables available. Sure. She seated us inside where there were many empty tables with only one with a reserved sign on it. The waitress came by and she was friendly, took our order. I had the same prime rib sandwich another reviewer had (but the management denies they had). I agree with the reviewer's description. My husband and I can't remember exactly what he had. While we were eating, the reserved table was seated. (No one else was seated at any other tables while we were there.) The waitress came by their table to see if she could get them anything. The bartender literally came out from behind the bar and took her aside, right next to our table, and told her it was his table and she better back off. Do you talk like that in front of customers and not to mention neglect the patrons who were sitting at the bar? Add to that poor food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirapada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming Montana eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Came here for dinner after a day of touring Bigfork then boating. We each had a salad to start which is what we are accustomed to in Seattle. We then split the BBQ combination. The salads were definitely intended to be entree size. It was a good thing we split the BBQ, we still took home two to-go boxes of food. Dessert sounded delicious but we were stuffed. The prices were really reasonable for the quality and amount of food. I enjoyed the frolicking bunnies outside, too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnocchi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Best in the area with consistently good food and great service. We love the rustic atmosphere and love to sit outside in the warmer months. Love the smoked prime rib!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Some of the best smoked food you are likely to find...very tender and tasty pork. Huckleberry Margarita is a must...beers were top class - literally. Local IPA beer worth a try. Atmosphere very Montana and classy. I believe the reviewers who said this is the best place in the area.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cptravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Shore Smoke House also viewed

 

Been to East Shore Smoke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing