We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The clue is in the name.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Polebridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Be warned before you stay here - this B+B is in a beautiful setting, but you have to travel down a terrible gravel road for an hour before you get there at a top speed of 10 miles per hour. We had a 4x4 and thought we'd be fine, but the gravel becomes rock in places and was just too much for the tyres. So unless you carry a FEW spares with you (and don't mind changing them daily) or your vehicle has heavy duty tyres do NOT stay here! Having the stress of getting a flat and having to deal with it on vacation is not my idea of fun and the owners were far from honest in telling us how bad the road surface would be. Then again, if had known we certainly would have opted for the convenience of staying in one of the park lodges.
If you plan on staying onsite and maybe hiking from the B+B, it wouldn't be such an issue for you, but otherwise beware!

On a positive note, the room was comfortable and hearing the wolves howling at night was pretty special. Not special enough for us to return though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we arrived for a three-day stay, we were greeted at "The Way" by hummingbirds, squirrels, an deer. Elk even appeared on the grounds while we we staying there, although we did not see them ourselves. Rumor has it that a bear or two has also appeared on the property, but well away from the house itself.

The Lewis and Clark room, in which we stayed, was wonderfully decorated. We really slept well there as long as no one was using the fire pit, which was situated just below its balcony deck. There is a sitting room on the third floor where the bedrooms are, and guests also have access to a full living room as well as a lounge in the kitchen-dining room area.

Nancy and Paul are wonderful hosts. Nancy watched the cooking channels and studies up on meal-making, so breakfasts are a special treat as are her reasonably priced dinners...especially given that Northern Lights is about the only other nearby (30-45 minutes away) alternative. We asked for one dinner during our stay and we treated to a artichoke chicken dish on rice that was great (and with huge portions). Breakfasts were (1) french toast with huckleberry cream cheese, (2) banana-walnut pancakes and bacon, and (3) a scrambled egg casserole.

The only problem we had was paying the bill before we left. We did not bring a checkbook, and the house lack telephone access (as well as access to the electricity grid...Paul installed a solar panel, which covers all the B&B's electricity needs). But they do have satellite internet and TV access. In any case, we could only pay via Paypal, and, because I forgot my Paypal password, this was temporarily problematic. It was all cleared up in the end though.

We loved our stay, and recommend it to anyone who seeks a remote getaway or a luxury stay near Polebridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nancy and Paul's wilderness getaway is a jewel -- unexpected comfort far away from the usual trappings of civilization. Their bed and breakfast expanded to dinner at our request -- the roast beef was fabulous with the gravy even more delicious. The nightime skies were truly awesome, complete with shooting stars and the call of loons on a lake nearby. The silence was wonderful. Our 10 and 12 year old boys loved the very comfortable rooms and the novelty of such a nice place where you wouldn't expect one. Paul and Nancy have big hearts and are there to serve. We enjoyed them immensely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimsyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Way Less Traveled Bed and Breakfast for two nights in June 2009 and we could not have been more pleased with the experience! Nancy, the owner, was welcoming and saw to our every comfort.
The Lewis and Clark room was top-notch with a huge King-sized bed, comfortable linens, and a spacious bathroom. We started each day with Nancy's sumptuous breakfasts which included freshly ground coffee.
The B & B's location on the lesser visited north west side of the park afforded us a perfect opportunity to enjoy the unspoiled beauty of the area. We watched deer daily from our room. We were told that moose and bear have also been known to stroll through the grounds.
The Way Less Traveled Bed and Breakfast is a "don't miss" for any Glacier trip!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMCIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We accidentally stumbled upon The Way Less Traveled Bed and Breakfast through the Google search engine. We were planning a trip to Missoula and then Glacier National Park and then back to Missoula and were having a hard time securing somewhere to stay within a hundred miles of Glacier. The nicely laid out website caught our attention and we left them a voicemail. They responded with a friendly email and we booked three nights.
We were a little concerned at first with the distance their home is from civilization. Very quickly that feeling not only faded but reversed itself as we relaxed on a comfortable bed and listened to the faint pitter-patter of rain outside our window the first night. We were given options of when we wanted our breakfast and what we wanted for breakfast and were more than satisfied with all three morning's meals.
The view from Paul and Nancy's dining room is stunning. Remote, picturesque peaks loom over the forests below and make you feel remarkably small and humble. Their home is impeccably clean and well maintained and they are kind and gracious hosts.
As you can tell, we had an excellent stay at their bed and breakfast and would recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank izzzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Way Less Traveled B&B is a premier location, and even more so if you seek luxury off of the beaten path. The entire house is perfectly decorated with the right amount of rustic charm, yet provides luxury ammenities. The Lewis & Clark room alone is an oasis within an oasis; if it wasn't for the mountain vista and backcountry adventure summoning your attention outdoors, one could easily find themselves indulging for your entire stay in the luxurious down comforter and pillows that adorn the king size bed!

This B&B goes a long way beyond basic creature comforts; the owners, Paul and Nancy, provide the utmost Montana experience with warm, loving hospitality and scrumptious breakfasts - topped off with a roaring fire and a breathtaking mountain view to enjoy during breakfast.

If you thrive on searching for places off of the beaten path, then The Way Less Traveled is your diamond surrounded by 24K gold!! As you embark onward to the B&B toward the Canadian border on the North Fork Road, you are treated to the most majestic views, making the drive on this dirt road worth every mile!

Since I found this B&B 4 years ago, my anuual (or more) trips to Montana just wouldn't be complete without at least one night at The Way Less Traveled!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L0stInMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at this B&B and it was a delightful stay. We had their Lewis & Clark room which has a private bath and balcony and were very comfortable.

Our hosts Paul and Nancy made us very comfortable and the food was great.

The only downside is that this property is way off the beaten path, but that is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 9Mile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16485 N Fork Rd, Polebridge, MT 59928-9755
Location: United States > Montana > Polebridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polebridge
Price Range: $75 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in the wilds of Montana while hiking, biking, fishing, rafting, bird (and other creatures) watching, or just relaxing with a book by the fire. A delicious, filling breakfast guaranteed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing