We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun, welcoming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Ranch Bottoms

Home Ranch Bottoms
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home Ranch Bottoms is a family-friendly cafe, bar and campground located next to Glacier National Park. Next door at our "sister" property, Polebridge Ranch Cabins, you can find cabins and cottages starting at $50/nt and walk to our cafe for dinner and drinks. If you are camping you are already there. We have hot showers for our campers and for walk-ins. All this is in a valley called the North Fork, thirty miles north of Columbia Falls (45 miles from the Glacier Park International Airport near Kalispell, Montana). Home Ranch Bottoms becomes a highlight and backcountry home of your adventure to northwest Montana. Join us for dinner, drinks, beer tastings, wine tastings, huckleberry frostys, music and fun. Bring your guitar, banjo, mandolin, etc. and entertain the patrons. Share your days adventure in the park with other travelers and locals alike. The North Fork of the Flathead River is at your access along our road for twenty five miles in either direction. We are in the middle of a destination for fly-fishing, river rafting, kayaking, mountain biking, hiking, backcountry excursions, mountain climbing and more. Bear (black and grizzly), moose, elk, wolves, mountain lions, wolverines, deer (white tail and mule), bald eagles all can be seen on your visit to the North Fork. We are located north of the Camas Road entrance to Glacier National Park and five miles before the Polebridge Ranger Station entrance. Come and camp with us or visit for food and libations(full bar). It will contribute to making your trip an extraordinary vacation.
Clear Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun, welcoming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This review is long overdue, perhaps because I am selfish and would prefer not to share it with hoards of other visitors like the rest of the destinations in and around Glacier. NP. The truth is, we have traveled to this remote area of Montana the past 3 years from Maryland, and each year we have stopped at Home Ranch Bottoms for a meal. It has ALWAYS been a fun time with great food. The owners treat you like family and make you feel like you have come home after being away for a long time. The huckleberry pie is the best on the planet. The selection of specialty burgers make it hard to choose one. The pub offers a great selection of drinks, and the small gift shop has cool stuff, including earrings made by the owner! If you are a city slicker snob, don't go there. If you like unique off-the-grid experiences, this is your kind of place! Already looking forward to next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank a1trvlagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huckleberry Margaritas - Just do it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service. Delicious Huckleberry Margaritas!!! We enjoyed early afternoon beverages at this little bar. The owners were friendly and chatty. We all left with some Huckleberry goods after enjoying our tasty margaritas. Highly recommended afternoon stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Owners were ungracious. No fresh water available. No sink. Everything locked up. Felt like I was in a prison yard. Owners were unfriendly. Dust and dirt under beds. Horrible experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MimisChili_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homeranchbottoms, Manager at Home Ranch Bottoms, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Home Ranch Bottoms does not offer lodging. Polebridge Ranch Cabins offers cabins and cottages. We offer some facilities to some PB Ranch guests. These guests were a pain! The Polebridge Ranch Cabins rental agreement specifies no camping in conjunction with a rental. They pitched a tent. No fresh water: NOT TRUE! No sink: NOT TRUE! We latch, not lock, our front gate overnight to keep people from wandering in after hours. It is a safety and comfort issue. For reference, when the person renting the cottage first contacted PB Ranch, she asked how far they would be from the bar if they got trashed and needed to drive. The night of the day these people left we experienced significant road sign damage at our property. This was reported to the Sherriff's department. Is there a connection? We do suspect the damage to be connected to someone's sentimental leanings to another business in our area since we are producing great huckleberry bear claws, scrumptuous huckleberry pie, delicious food menu selections, terrific drinks, etc. in a hospitable setting. PB Ranch is located in the middle of a very natural, almost wildereness, environment. Yes, you will find a little dust and dirt here. Maybe even under the bed of a rustic cottage with rough hewn floors. Stop whining or rent something higher end! Posting a review like this says something about the motives of the person who puts this on TripAdvisor. It says something about TripAdvisor for accepting such reviews without any validation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Do not stay here. We stayed over the 4th of July and first of all it was very expensive, 2 bunk cabin with zero amenities was over $100/night. The owners were creepy. It felt like you were staying in someone's lawn and had to ask for permission for everything. Our cabin did not have a shower or bathroom. We had to ask for access to running water, and they would only fill up containers for you, you were not allowed to help yourself. The bathroom required a key, it was not lit and did not have a wash basin. Showers were an additional charge $7 and only at her convenience. They didn't want to make ice over the 4th of July holiday because they were too busy. The internet does not work here as advertised. This place was flat out awful. Felt like they were trying to make $, when there was no more $ to make.

Helpful?
2 Thank dweaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homeranchbottoms, Manager at Home Ranch Bottoms, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Weappa's review is littered with lies and personal attacks and should be removed. The review does not belong in Home Ranch Bottoms. The rental was for a cottage, not a cabin, at Polebridge Ranch Cabins. The PBR cottages are small, clean, heated, secure, but basic. They are not full service cabins. Weappa should read the rental agreement provided to the renter, your friend Angie O. Readers should see the Polebridge Ranch Cabins website. Polebridge Ranch Cabins does not provide internet. PBR does not sell ice. Home Ranch Bottoms does sell ice. July 4th saw a run on ice. Home Ranch Bottoms does not make ice and ran low on ice for its bar/cafe business and stopped selling it for a day or so until supplies could be replenished. Is posting a running out of ice really worthy when it doesn’t pertain to the business you rented from? This is nothing but an attempt by Weappa to damage this business. Maybe her friend screwed her on her portion of the rental? The rent for the cottage for $55 per night, (not $100). MAYBE YOUR FRIEND WHO RENTED IT OVERCHARGED YOU? It is true the cottages do not have restroom facilities in them and do require a walk to restrooms for which the guest is provided a key. This is stated on the website and in the rental document. Full restroom and showers at the Home Ranch Bottoms are available upon request during normal business hours in conjunction with the PBR cottage rental. All of this is in the rental agreement provided to the renter, prior to rental. Water is available to guests through an outdoor water spigot or we'll happily fill your water containers. Weappa may be better suited for the hostel, as she is recommending to others, if that is an environment that is comfortable for you. We've never been there but have heard from others that it is very dirty. TripAdvisor should not allow people to lie like this in their attempts to damage a thriving business. TripAdvisor should request a copy of the signed rental agreement and it will validate our position on this, or TripAdvisor should provide a place for the business to post the rental documents for everyone to view and confirm this reviewer isn’t telling the truth, who they are, and so other property owners can avoid them. They are not worth the nonsense waste of time they create. Weappa, get a life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wow! What a find. I mean this place puts the C in cute. It is like going into a set for Nothern Exposure. Greg and Dan treat you like family while you are here. I had one of their huckleberry margaritas and a great northern drink; secret recipe, and you can't have it or they have to hold you hostage if you get it. Seriously, this place is good. It is so much fun and what a great set of owners. Their restroom is so clean and you sit surrounded by little Christmas lights. It is so unique. Go....go...go. It is on the way to Polebridge and such a great find. I will be back next year. They also make homemade everything; huckleberry pie and bear claws each morning. Scarlett.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelleWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Ranch Bottoms also viewed

 

Been to Home Ranch Bottoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing