We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Crystal Park

Was there the first week in May got stuck on the main road in Snow. Had to stay the night in the... read more

Reviewed May 15, 2019
Wyoming307Wyoming
via mobile
Fun way to spend a day

When we went to the park it wasn’t to busy. The kids greatly enjoyed it. They are 8 and 11 and had... read more

Reviewed April 20, 2019
Montana_Vactioner
,
Bozeman, Montana
via mobile
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
38
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
38
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful crystals come prepared sun screen lots of water a lot of fun hot springs shovel pioneer dig rocks blast outhouse trees mt campground moose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Crystal Park is located in the Pioneer Mountain Scenic Byway 25 miles west of Dillon Montana. It is atop a mountain covered with holes previously dug by rock hounds in search of quartz crystals, smokey quartz crystals, and amethyst crystals. The crystals are found in seams and pockets all over the mountain. Some work is required to get them but the environment is pleasant and the scenery is second to none. We loved it and had a great time, not to mention a five gallon bucket full of beautiful quartz and smiley quartz crystals of which we extracted from an area of less than 20 sq. ft. Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank INSKBL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

It's a beautiful place to look for quartz crystals. Kids love to dig on dirt and had a blast when they found a lot. Remember to bring bug/insect spray because mosquitoes swarms all over! Their bites and buzzing sounds just a nuisance! Restrooms have no toilet paper all the time. Don't forget to bring that in handy!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We have been going to Crystal park for about 20 years with our family, friends and scouts. It has always been a great time for all. Some trips we have found awesome crystals and sometime only regular, but we have always found an incredible fun place to visit and have fun. We usually hit in late August, because the skitters seem to die off by then, and i dont like skitters! Our biggest crystal weighed over 2 pounds was a purple double terminated beauty!

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank C Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We have 3 kids under 10 and the kids had a blast. We bought a shovel for the park but in retrospect, we would have been fine without it. We had a hammer and wish we had more. We found some great crystals by breaking up larger rocks. We found more doing this than digging. I'd definitely recommend this for young families. The kids loved finding their own Treasure's to take home.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank SLC_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

My mom and I stopped here on our way to Bannack. We brought along a shovel and trowel. That's really all we needed to have a great time! Wonderful place for kids to dig, get dirty and find some crystals! We'll be back!

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews