We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't send my worst enemy here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Dollar

Gold Dollar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plentywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Dollar
Ranked #1 of 2 Plentywood B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't send my worst enemy here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is above a noisy bar and I'm pretty sure the creepy guys smoking out back were not smoking regular cigarettes. We had to go into the aforementioned bar to register for our room...not ideal...there were some fights going on before and after we checked in and we saw a police car arrive. The room was supposed to be non-smoking but we could smell that it had been used by smokers recently. Supposedly the rooms had been remodeled but you couldn't prove it by the room we stayed in. Help from the front desk (in the bar) was nonexistent. The only good thing we have to say about this place is that our car wasn't stolen during the night. Don't stay here unless the other motel in town is full.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FarmersDaughter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. Clean room, good food and wonderful staff. Enjoyed visiting the bar for a drink or two each evening. Staff was always cheerful and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryMom1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm from Plentywood and so I know about both places that there are to stay when I return to the area. This is by far the cleaner and nicer of the two. It has a fantastic restaurant attached but is a little nosier due to being attached to the bar. I still prefer it over the Sherwood Inn which is much more expensive and not anywhere near as nice.

Room Tip: If you get one of the newer remodeled rooms you'll be extremely happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MM12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

With very limited lodging in the area and a huge oil boom, I was thankful to get a place to sleep for a week. However, to say that this room was remodeled is not exactly true. The room was as clean as they could get it I think, but it was very hot with no air conditioning. People were mostly nice. Food in the restaurant was pretty good but fairly expensive. Small town and quiet. Overall the room did its job.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a nonsmoking room if you don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

It's by no means fancy. Apparently this is the first hotel built in Plentywood about 100 years ago. You can tell. Not that that's a bad thing. You get a feeling of the rowdy old west. You have to go into the bar to check-in. They don't have very many rooms, and yes, they are small, but they are neat & clean. The help is great and the atmosphere is fun. I have to travel to Plentywood a couple times a year for work. I made a mistake and tried the other place, but from now on I'll always stay at the Gold Dollar Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Dollar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Dollar

Property: Gold Dollar
Address: 120 South Main Street, Plentywood, MT 59254
Location: United States > Montana > Plentywood
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plentywood
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing