We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service in the Plains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plentywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Plentywood B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Customer Service in the Plains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Love the front desk staff! They were very humorous. The rooms were very clean. We had a refrigerator and a coffee maker in our room, that was the first we saw in our trek across small town America. We stayed in the old wing one night and were more then happy. Then they moved us to the new wing (I think they liked us). The new wing was beyond expectations. We got the room with the beautiful horse art! We appreciated the restaurant just across the way. The people there were nice. You could tell the other customers don't see a lot of strangers. We loved Sherwood Inn and their respect for dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiGrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
5
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel because of the price. The hotel has 2 locations; the one we stayed in is called the Plains (Hotel?) and is across the street and down from the main office. While the room was warm and clean and we did get a good sleep, there were several things missing from a hotel that costs over $100/night for a married couple. We had soap and towels, TV, microwave and fridge....but no phone, no cups, no coffee maker...all things that I would expect for this price.

Room Tip: My advice....stay in a town with more choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eigonosensay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Ohio
Level Contributor
221 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

First off, the motel is clean, the rooms are comfortable, the desk staff are capable, and the location is convenient (although in a town this size, I think everything probably qualifies as convenient). If they charged the $50-60 average I've been paying over the past week and a half in other, similar motels across Montana and Wyoming, I'd rate it a 5. I slept well, felt safe, and was treated fairly.

But for $90+? No. Totally not worth it.

There is no pool, exercise room, designer toiletries, or any of the other extras that make those more expensive places worth the additional money. That's the main reason I don't stay at those places when I don't need those inessentials. The rooms don't even have refrigerators! That's unheard of these days.

Other reviews have mentioned the oil boom (search Bakken formation if you want to know what's going on) and while that's true, it's no excuse for jacking up the price just because you can. Maybe the owners are trying to keep less-desirable people away, and while that's probably an acceptable goal for innkeepers, there are better ways to handle it.

If it's not absolutely essential for you to stay in Plentywood, check out options in some of the other towns not too far away (Culbertson, Wolf Point, Scobey, Sidney). I saw plenty of new hotels in those areas that probably carry a similar price tag, but probably also offer a lot more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

At $100 per night this is an expensive motel room. Staff were helpful but the hotel is very basic. Our room lacked a refrigerator and coffee maker, both of which would have been very useful due to our early starts. However the reception staff were willing to store our perishables in their own fridge, so this was only a minor inconvenience. Overall the facility looks shabby and in need of a complete makeover. The surge in oil drilling in this corner of NE Montana has caused a massive influx of transient workers and the local motels are filled to capacity - hence the price hike. A little investment by the owners would seem worthwhile, especially as new motels open in nearby towns.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The other reviews are right---you don't have many other choices. However, because I had no choice to stay here (husband had to work in the oil field and this was the hotel we were given), I was a little scared based on the reviews. This place is not as bad as the reviews would have you believe. The carpet is fine-I had no problem walking in my room barefoot. There are minimal accomodations, though, so don't expect much. The bathrooms are TINY, and sometimes the water smells funny. The bed is not as uncomfortable as I expected it to be, and the hotel is dog friendly. They allow furry friends for $5 a day--and if anyone travels with their dogs, you know this is a good deal.

Overall, the hotel is not too bad. I'm not excatly sure what it costs because we're not paying for it, but it's not as scary as others would have you believe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egordon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

This place cant help it, but they are the only choice on P'Wood. The place is very accommodating and friendly when you check in, just be prepared if you happen to leave earlier than expected after a four month stay...., not happy campers, no thank you, not a word of thanks! You can hear everything your neighbors are doing next to you and above you. The breakfast is great if you like bread and orange juice, period. Bring slippers because you wont want to walk around bare footed. Might bring a real towel as theirs are the see thru version you find in Motel 6. The only plus was friendly housekeepers. Don't forget that if you need a hairdo, you can go to the beauty shop located in the basement. Ah that aroma of perm stink lingering in the halls will help your appetite for that gourmet toast breakfast!! Avoid if at all possible or be prepared, especially at $125 a night!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Unfriendly desk help. Dingy halls and room. Noisy. Hair in bathtub. Uncomfortable bed. Overpriced. This was my second trip to Plentywood. This was first time staying at the Sherwood Inn and everyone had told me how much nicer it was than the Gold Dollar Lodge. Bull Hockey. I'd rather stay over a bar in a clean & comfortable, albeit small, room--at least the help is nice and the rooms are cheap. I won't be staying at the Sherwood Inn again.

Room Tip: Stay down the street at the Gold Dollar Lodge instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 515 W 1st Ave, Plentywood, MT 59254-1502
Location: United States > Montana > Plentywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plentywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 312
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Plentywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing