We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close up views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Bison Range

National Bison Range
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Moiese
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This region consists of 19,000 acres of natural grassland, which is home to about 500 American bison and other inhabitants such as birds, whitetail and mule deer, elk, and bighorn sheep.
Boiling Spring Lakes, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close up views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an 18,550 acre range with 500 bison. The visitor center is very informative and staff pleasant. We traveled the five mile gravel road through the prairie flats of the Bison Display Pasture to observe the bison and their newborn calves. You also could have drove the 19 mile gravel look road to the top of the mountain. However this is a one way road and once you commit to it there is no turning back. Got lots of good photos on the five mile road.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pelicanpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    68
    18
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

A great side trip to or from West Glacier. Took Hwy 93 south from Missoula. Just $5 per vehicle.
A 19 mile gravel loop road to the top of the mountain. Saw many animals close up, and took great pictures. Hundreds of bison, several pronghorn and deer but no mountain sheep. Were excited to see 2 black bear eating berries. Bathrooms near the top before the descent down. Allow at least three hours for the drive and start at the visitor center.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paha40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't forget your binoculars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Drove the 90 minute route one hazy (forest fire-induced) afternoon. Definitely good to check in with the ranger station to find out what's been spotted where so you have some idea what to look for. Even if you don't see much wildlife, the views alone are impressive - and stop at the highpoint to read about how this was once all a lake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Visitor Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Staff is nice and professional. This is a small center with a nice animal display.

I only add these words because 100 words are required. Its a nice small center, not much else to say.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Took the 19 mile road over the hill/mountain while we were there. Beautiful drive through several eco systems. At the top of the hill is an interpretative display about the Ancient Lake Missoula. However because we were there in the middle of the day we did not see but one Bison on that drive.

As we came to the end of our drive, we saw about 300 bison, about 100 crossed the road in front of us. We will be returning as soon as the weather clears.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Bison Range also viewed

 

Been to National Bison Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing