We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Glacier National Park, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Large clean rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Did not get a chance to try restaurant, but drinks at bar very expensive. Small bathtub, but big bathroom, love that there are two sinks. Beds were cozy. Patio off of room was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    287
    158
    76
    22
See reviews for
240
263
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Doubletree Edgewater in Missoula quite a few times over the last couple of years. Without exception, we have loved it. The location is spectacular, with one side of the hotel boasting river view that are stunning, winter or summer, ready access to riverfront trails, and easy walking access to downtown or the University (where the adventurous can hike "The M," a switchback trail with a stunning Missoula view from the top--don't forget your camera!). We have floated the North Fork of the Clark river and pulled our tubes out right at the hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful, responsive, and extremely competent. They do airport pickup/dropoffs and are generally happy to give you a lift elsewhere, and the staff is well versed on the area and can direct you to almost any place or service you need. Some rooms have been remodelled more recently than others, and those that have are beautifully done, but all are comfortable, appealing, and extremely liveable with outside access through sliding glass doors. The hotel provides free Internet access that is reliable and speedy, and can print for you if necessary. The exercise room is small but serviceable, but if the weather allows it's much more fun to use the great Missoula trail system and parks to get your exercise. We haven't used the pool or hot tub, but it looks clean and pleasant. The restaurant has a variety of meals and snacks for all diets and appetites--everything we have had there has been delicious, and I particularly like the "small" meal specials--a few delicious entrees for the smaller appetite, and at a lower cost that you would pay for a full sized entree. (And there are microwaves in the hallways if you prefer to grab dinner in the freezer aisle.) The bar menu has some interesting creations that are especially good served on the outdoor deck overlooking the river. Highly recommend the Doubletree Edgewater as your Missoula home base.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times on my business trips from Spokane back to Salt Lake. On one occasion I brought my wife along as well. We enjoyed the stay. The rooms on the upper level facing the river are where it's at. The restaurant was decent enough if you don't want to explore town more for a better option. Years ago it was better, more fine dining and less of a bar food experience. But overall if you're staying in Missoula this will provide a good experience. The staff were very accommodating and the price was fair.

Room Tip: River side top level floors near an end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcisive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmere, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Excellent staff, took me to taco bell drive thru late at night. My trailer would not fit and didnt want to disconnect. Great front desk auditor. excellent room and bed. Can not say enough about this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyndmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,307 reviews
442 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 627 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Business brought me to this hotel in March 2012. Overall, it was a fine stay with no major issues, and for the price I thought the hotel delivered acceptable value. That said, the hotel (which I think is recently converted to the DoubleTree brand from the Red Lion brand) could use a style update; it felt more like a Red Lion (older with patchwork renovations over the years) as opposed to a DoubleTree (generally a higher level of style, etc.).

My room was very large; it had a nice desk, comfortable bed, and a lovely view of the river. The room had some renovated elements that had added some style; its carpet needed to be replaced, and there were some additional items that could use a refresh (the closet, for instance, was in relatively poor shape and the bathroom tile looked old). Overall, though, it was fine, and everything was perfectly clean. When you choose rooms at this hotel, I think it's worth doing some research -- the hotel is VERY spread out, and while some of the rooms have a great view of the river, others have a first-floor view of the parking lot. I would have been far less satisfied if I had a first-floor walk-out room with a view of the parking lot!

Much like the rooms, the hallways and exterior of the hotel could use a refresh. Again, everything was clean, but a lot of it had an older feel (lots of wood, dark colors, etc. -- very 1970s, 1980s). I was in the hotel's conference center for part of the stay; it had modern elements and new carpets, etc., but lights could use an update.

The hotel's restaurant appears to be very popular with locals (which I like) and had been recently renovated; it looked great.

Service at the hotel was excellent. Check-in was fast and welcoming; my Hilton HHonors status was immediately recognized and the hotel was gracious enough to put me in a room even though I arrived before official check-in time. Housekeeping staff were very friendly as I ran into them in the hallway, and the banquet staff was anxious to help with any request that came up during the conference. Everyone was very hospitable and seemed to really appreciate my business.

Overall, no complaints and no major flaws; I'd certainly consider staying here again if business brought me back to the area. With some continued renovations and some brightening of the older elements, this hotel could really excel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Nice location, but the hotel is not Hilton or even Doubletree quality even though it is managaed by Doubletree. It is a nice motel--not a hotel. When we stayed, the resturant was temporarily closed--no food. The Hotel offered a continential breakfast--they even ran out of milk for cerael, cerael and muffins--and had no replacements. No manager on duty. The Hotel had an evening reception in a room, rather than a meeting room. Only wine and beer-no soft drinks or even water. Poor management--front desk gave their best shot--but there was nothing they could do.

Room Tip: There is train noise in the middle of the night--select a room as far as possible from the nearby tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlinoGM, General Manager at Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
I regret that we failed to deliver a great experience here at the Doubletree. Please feel free to contact me directly as I would enjoy speaking with you directly regarding your recent stay. My direct line is (406) 542-4610.

Thank you for sharing your comments,

Dan Carlino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

$53 on priceline......the hotel is located within walking distance to the University and overlooks the river.......hilton is the hotel sponsor and it has that feel to it......warm cookies, nice greetings, and a good bed and shower and this place is a no brainer for the price I got it for.....taco bell and burger king out back for the late night munchies!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Missoula
Hampton Inn Missoula
#3 of 39 in Missoula
462 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater

Property: Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Address: 100 Madison St, Missoula, MT 59802-4720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Missoula
#11 Business Hotel in Missoula
#11 Family Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Missoula - Edgewater is located on the banks of the Clark Fork River, three blocks from the University of Montana Campus and eight miles from Missoula International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater Hotel Missoula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing