We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such nice people work here. Good for single and older lady travelers.”
Review of Ruby's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruby's Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Such nice people work here. Good for single and older lady travelers.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ruby's was one of the first hotels on Reserve Street in Missoula. She still has the best groundskeepers; the flowers are gorgeous. They have a full breakfast offering of proteins and grains. There's at least one computer to use. They are within 10 good restaurants. They are the last to fill up because they are surrounded by all the chain hotels, but they offer good rates. I've stayed there before and I always feel safe. The one thing I missed was a fridge and microwave. I think you can ask for a room with them; I forgot to. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Restaurants in the area close at 10 except the Montana Club south of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inh0gheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki V, Director of Sales at Ruby's Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Inhogheaven-

Thanks for your kind review! We too love our flowers, JuDee creates quite a feast for the eyes when she plants for us each spring! So glad that you feel safe and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    129
    43
    18
    5
See reviews for
110
120
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford (town), New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We got in late and were given a room in the very front of the motel so traffic was a bit loud . The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was very nice, much better than the chain hotels. I saw the rooms in the back and they looked like they would have been more quiet. The back of the motel is very pretty. It is very definitely a MOTEL however, and I was feeling a little envious of the folks at the Hampton Inn next door. But if you can get a decent price it isn't a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back of the motel, avoid the front along the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here during two weekday nights, along with relatives who rented a pet-friendly room. Both rooms were clean, nicely furnished (flat-screen TV's), though everyone found the beds a bit hard. The pet-friendly room seemed just a tad more outdated, the furniture was a touch drab -- but finding a clean, pet-friendly place with a nice area to walk the dog is well worth the trade-off. Ruby's has a nice picnic area, and a creek that runs through the back and the staff was very nice and helpful. Not a ritzy place (missing some of the amenities like in-room fridges), but for those who want a clean, affordable night's stay, this really is just fine. It's nicely modest - in appearance and price. I'd stay here again. It may be noisier on the weekends, and rooms around the pool will (naturally) get more shrieking-children exposure. They have Wi-Fi for guests that works quite well.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms have a view of the creek (but risk more pet noise), rooms near the pool are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_P_Hornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a nice hotel for an overnight stay. The room was large, clean, and the beds were comfortable. My only complaint about the room was its air-conditioner, which was on the loud side.

We booked this hotel because of the outdoor pool, and it was well worth it. The kids had a great time swimming and we enjoyed relaxing on the pool deck. Behind the hotel there's a small stream with grassy banks, and there are picnic tables and benches for the guests to enjoy-- very pleasant.

The other notable thing about this hotel is that they serve a wonderful breakfast-- eggs, pancakes, ham, biscuits and gravy-- far superior to anything we've ever had at another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel near the stream-- quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COgirlBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a wonderful view of the creek from our room and I loved the picnic tables, horseshoe pits, etc. A very charming hotel. Our room was clean and the service was excellent. Breakfast was good with great service. Our only complaint was not having a refrigerator in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the creek :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki V, Director of Sales at Ruby's Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
RY,

Thanks so much! What a great review. Next time be sure to let us know that you would like a refrigerator when you make your reservation and we will do our absolute best to have one in your room upon your arrival! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a 16-day road trip, staying in 15 different hotels in 5 states, and we enjoyed Ruby's Inn, Missoula, MT, the best! It's well managed, the owner and managers even eat breakfast with you. They are around, in a friendly way, making sure everything goes smoothly for everyone - us the customer, and their staff. Everything was very orderly and clean. When we first walked into our room the room attendant had a very nice handwritten welcome letter to us. Never seen that before. The pool is very nice sized and well maintained. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip - it is prepared in a kitchen and served to you - hot, delicious eggs, potatoes, sausage, gravy, bacon, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and others. It was very good food and the lady helping you out to get what you need was so nice. The rate of the room was reasonable, and they are in a good location - we walked to a very nice steak house next door. It was a great experience. We don't have one negative remark - do yourself a favor and stay there!

Room Tip: I think any room in Ruby's Inn would be great, and if something is wrong, they have the right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki V, Director of Sales at Ruby's Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Margaret S

What a wonderful review, thank you. We hope that you had a great trip, a 16 day road trip sounds like a great time! Thanks for choosing Ruby's, we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed a Ruby's a year ago and enjoyed the beautiful, shaded creek area in the back with horseshoe pits, benches, the clean outdoor pool and the relatively clean room. This year was a different story... Our ground floor room was disgusting! The carpet did not look like it had been vacuumed, or if it had, they need better vacuum cleaners! The non-smoking room reeked of smoke in the bathroom (I think a clean shower curtain would have made a huge difference as that seemed to be what smelled the most). The bathroom floor was disgusting! It had foot prints, crumbs, hair, water spots, black marks, etc. I cleaned the floor two different times with hand towels and the towels were filthy. I took one of the dirty towels to the front desk and nicely explained that I thought the floor had been missed. She was nice but said we had already paid for the room so she just gave us an extra punch on their frequent stay card. I wish now I would have insisted on some sort of refund. Ruby's is more affordable than some hotels in the area but it certainly wasn't worth what we paid on this particular visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WA_Traveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 39 in Missoula
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Missoula
Econo Lodge Missoula
#19 of 39 in Missoula
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Missoula
Hampton Inn Missoula
#3 of 39 in Missoula
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#17 of 39 in Missoula
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Inn

Property: Ruby's Inn
Address: 4825 N Reserve St, Missoula, MT 59808-1405 (Formerly Ruby's Reserve Street Inn)
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Missoula
#10 Family Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruby's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story Motor Inn with modern guest facilities and hot breakfast bar; located just two blocks from I-90; near shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ruby's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby`s Reserve Street Hotel Missoula
Rubys Reserve Street Hotel
Rubys Reserve Street Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing