We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn’t stay here ever again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The two days we stayed at this hotel we never had hot water even after we called to complain. We never got the issue resolved and they never moved us to a different room. The beds were uncomfortable and the breakfast was a joke. The outdoor halls smelt like an ash tray and the two days we were there the cigarette butts never got swept up off the stairs leading up to the second floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to not have hot water during your stay. We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 347 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was surprised this was a red lion hotel, ive stayed in others and they have all been better then average. This hotel on the other hand was not what i expected. The room was small and packed full of furniture, including a very very large tv cabinet. Which makes sense because the tv was still the old school tube type. The room needs to be overhauled (the entire hotel really).

The room was hot (around 78 degrees) and when i tried to use the AC unit to cool the room it made a horrible noise and only blew warm air out. I ended up opening the window in 33 degree weather to cool the room down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize that you were disappointed in your stay and that we haven't updated our rooms yet. We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I only visited Missoula for an evening and had my dog with me. The Red Lion only charged a $15 dollar pet fee and gave us dog treats at arrival. The room was affordable and comfortable. They provided a local paper in the morning, which I appreciated. Their breakfast was average, nothing special. I will definitely be staying there again when I return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times and have always found our room to be clean, comfortable and nice. However, this time our room, 116, was right next to the cleaning staff's office. Each time they enter or leave their office, which can be up to around 15 or so times in as many minutes, the door slams so loud it sounds like it is in our room. We had our 7 month old baby with us and like most babies she naps a couple of times a day. I called the front desk during one of our baby's attempts to nap and the gentleman was very understanding and said he would speak to the cleaning staff about not letting their office door slam. Either the message was not clearly communicated to all staff or they simply ignored the message. The door continued to slam throughout the day several times an hour. Even if our child had not been with us, the fact that room 116 had guests in it should have been a clear indicator to staff in that office that the noise should be kept to a respectable level. Disappointed this time around.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank WincusGrelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Convenient to downtown, price to value during this season good, an older motel adequately maintained, could use some updates to brighten the rooms up. Microwaved bacon and eggs at breakfast bar were poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Bozone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was barely average. The room was pretty small and narrow with little room for two people to pass one another either direction. The bed was good and the room was clean but the décor was pretty old and tired.
I had hot water for my shower but my wife said she could get only luke warm. The price was right there with other Red Lion properties that are located along major freeways.

Room Tip: lower your expectations of this brand
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouchetMTnesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily B, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our great staff, but I'm sorry you felt the overall stay did not meet your expectations. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. We hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been pleased with Red Lion in the past and Missoula, MT is no exception. Great staff, pleasant accommodations. The quality is a significant step up from similarly-priced competitors. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Idalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
4.5 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#17 of 40 in Missoula
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broadway Inn Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Missoula
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#11 of 40 in Missoula
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Address: 700 W Broadway St, Missoula, MT 59802-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range: $77 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing