We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Problems”
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We reserved a room at this hotel after reading postive reviews and viewing pics online. We were interested in an outdoor pool. The pool and spa looked lovely when we arrived and we were looking forward to enjoying them. We'd requested a room with a bathtub on the first floor near the pool, but we were given a room with a shower. We were then told that there are no bathtubs on the first floor. The room was quite large, clean and well decorated so we overlooked the lack of a bathtub.
Soon we found that the advertised high speed internet was not working. We were told it should be on soon but that was not the case. We had no internet service at all, which is imperative for our business. The woman at the lobby told us it had been in and out for two weeks. She was unsympathetic to our concerns but gave a a card to call the company responsible for their internet service. They told us the motel had faulty equipment and they were "trying to find someone to get out there". They said they might be able to get it to come on for an hour. By midnight we had no service and decided to go to another hotel. They agreed not to charge us for the room, but glared at us and did not apologize in any way.
It's a shame that this lovely motel is ruined by poor customer service.

  • Liked — The room and pool
  • Disliked — The lack of internet service and poor attitude of the staff
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    105
    61
    60
    43
See reviews for
93
84
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Good price and one of the most comfortable beds I've every slept on. Comfortable pillows too. Friendly staff. Close to the rail line but I didn't notice it. Good TV (not flat screen) and decent channel selection. WiFi is free but not strong. Bathroom stuff is very good, much better than most hotels costing much more. Walking distance to downtown and university - though that is a longer walk. Straight shot to the airport. Free breakfast, but you pretty much get what you pay for.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, clean, location.
  • Disliked — weak wifi, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 8337660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I booked this hotel based on location and price. I wanted to be close to downtown, and it is. The price seemed very reasonable, and it was. The hotel looks pretty much like a Motel 6 from the outside, but the furnishings in the rooms are pretty decent. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. It seems Red Lion used to have some fancier properties, so if you go into it expecting that, you'll probabaly be disappointed. But if you are looking for a fine, basic hotel close to campus and downtown, Red Lion is a good choice. Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaberzetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We were looking for an affordable option close to campus and found it here. The rooms are very nice, clean and quiet. The location is terrific, right next to the river path and a Safeway is adjacent. And with a mini fridge and microwave, you have good food options. As others have said, the breakfast isn't the greatest, but it has the basics and you can eat healthily. Only minor complaint was that the wireless was a bit spotty, but nothing too terrible. We will definitely stay here again the next time we go to Missoula.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotterDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Got this room on Hotwire for an overnight stay on a cross-country road trip. We were not looking for much other than a clean place to sleep.

We were greeted with a warm welcome by the front desk clerk, and given a ground-floor room. The property is older, but it is being freshly painted, and all the rooms have been nicely renovated in the "new Red Lion" style (plaid bedspreads, new beds and furniture, marble vanities and tiled baths).

Went for a dip in the pool and hot tub, which were very clean. The pool was 9 feet or so (!) in the deep end. Not much of a view (the parking lot), but we did not really mind since we were not on vacation. Did not use the exercise room.

The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch but it was mostly juices, cereal, and pastries. I believe there was yogurt but there was not much in the way of protein, so we had to stop and get a heartier breakfast after we had checked out.

Overall, a pleasant stay. I have been impressed with how comfortable and nice Red Lions are becoming.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dpenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

When I first drove up to the Red Lion in Missoula, it looked a little drab, and I wondered if we had made a good choice. But wow! Our room was so spacious and beautiful, it was a real pleasure to stay there. Very nicely decorated with very comfortable beds and pillows and a great bathroom with tons of counter space and Bath & Body Words toiletries.

Continental breakfast was ordinary, but convenient, and the location within walking distance of everything downtown couldn't be beat. I felt sorry when it was time to leave, and would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Missoula.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and great bathrooms
  • Disliked — I was annoyed by the $2.00 bottles of water placed in the room and labeled "Water for the Soul." Please. Worry about your own soul, and I'll keep my $2.00.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Docmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed at the Red Lion Missoula during a roadtrip from Seattle to Sun Valley. It's a good roadtrip hotel. Clean, conveniently located, comfortable. Free breakfast was a nice perk. No frills here - just a good, standard stop for the night.

On caveat - there are no good restaurants nearby so if you do stay you'll want to head out to find something other than low-quality Chinese. But there is a good coffee joint just up the street for the morning supplement to the free breakfast.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
0.9 mi away
Broadway Inn Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 39 in Missoula
221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#22 of 39 in Missoula
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#26 of 39 in Missoula
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Address: 700 W Broadway St, Missoula, MT 59802-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing