We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive but merits a visit”
Review of Pearl Cafe

Pearl Cafe
Ranked #2 of 291 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef-owned and operated, Pearl Cafe is an aptly named jewel of a restaurant serving regional cuisine with a country French accent. The massive beams and peach toned bricks of the historic warehouse provide a warm and inviting atmosphere. Specialties include bison with huckleberry-zinfandel sauce, duckling with dried cherries and pomegranate sauce and beef tenderloin with port and Roquefort. Fresh fish dishes change daily and local products are used whenever possible. The menu is rounded out with a variety of appetizers, soups and salads, house made bread and a list of sinfully delicious desserts. The restaurant serves wine and beer, with a list of 15 wines by the glass, local draft beer, a broad selection of half bottles and over 100 full bottles.
tallahassee, florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“expensive but merits a visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Missoula is an interesting place with good fly fishing, a warm home-town feel, and a controversial football team. While there's a Good Foods supermarket tht is above average, it's hard to get a good restaurant meal here. Pearl is the ultimate for Missoula and we enjoyed our meal. Our entrees ran about $30 plus drinks: steak, duck (too much with the confit leg plus a sliced breast) and lamb loin with ravioli. It deserve credit for its ambitious menu, even if not perfectly fulfilled.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    43
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“"what a treasure"”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

our first visit to the pearl and absolutely loved it! we both ordered the seafood mixed grill and it was amazing. looking forward to our next visit, which will be soon !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
296 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Taste of Heaven in Missoula”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great selection of Game, comfortable atmosphere, and excellent service. If you want a dining event out of the ordinary try out..."the Pearl"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Montana Continetal Cusine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We revisited Pearl Cafe after a number of years and found it much improved. It is allegedly a French restaurant but the food is more Continental/Montana. For example we had escargot (clearly French) and fried oysters (not at all French) for our first courses and then Elk Osso Bucco and Bison in huckleberry sauce for the main courses. No explanation needed. Everything was excellent and the service prompt and the new upstairs is quiet with the tables no too close together.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great date night”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband has been to dinner at Pearl Cafe in the past, but this was the first time that I had been there. Being southern, I was looking forward to the Shrimp with Grits;however, it wasn't on the menu that night. I was not disappointed with the Avocado, Pear, Pecan and Blue cheese salad and the Walnut and Herb prawns. Just wish there had been a little more cheese on the salad! The staff was attentive, but did not intrude on our evening. We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing