We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We attended a convention held at the Hilton. We reserved our room 4 months ahead of the convention date only to find that when we arrived they had given our room away, shrugged and stated that "we believe in overbooking". Maybe so, but that does not excuse giving rooms to people who reserved a room only one week before, not those who were booked months in advance.

Roll aways are very thin (2 1/2 in). a person is better off sleeping on the floor. Housekeepers did not get to the rooms until after 4:00 in the afternoon, and then acted like it was an imposition if we asked for fresh towels. Only one housekeeper stood out as being very nice and effecient, wish I caught her name, she worked on 2nd floor. Too bad we had to do the room shuffle as everyone else was poor.

They charge $4.99 for cold cereal and juice, and $9.99 for hot breakfast. Major rip off when other hotels offer breakfast for free.

If I ever stay in Missoula again, I will stay across the street. For the same price, you get a suite, free hot or cold breakfast and even free light dinner a couple of nights a week.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jghllnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

Please accept our apologies for the inconviences you experienced during your recent stay. Our aim is to please every guest with superior service by exceeding expectations, and sadly it appears that we missed the mark.

Thank you for providing us with your candid feedback. I welcome the opportunity to learn more about your personal experiences, and encourage you to stay with us again.

Sincere regards,

Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 666 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed one night for business. This is a new property - franchise. Front desk was helpful. The breakfast was very fresh and I'd recommend the hotel just for this - any HGI that serves both fresh salsa and grits is tops in my book! My only complaint is that my room had a bit of a chemical odor - being new I would imagine this is expected but the rooms' windows DO NOT OPEN. That is a terrible design choice in my view for a climate like Missoula where you can save energy and get fresh air most months of the year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rggsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

We're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed our fresh breakfast in the Great American Grill (glad to hear you liked the grits!). Thank you, also, for offering your opinion about our fixed guest room windows. I'm sorry that was a disappointment, but hope that the rest of your experience with us was so positive that you will come back... and soon!

Sincerely,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I stayed at this motel for business purposes. When we arrived at motel, the parking lot was completely full, as was adjoining parking and all parking on the street. We were just given a shrug by those at the desk and said to park where we could find some parking. There was a benefit of some type at the motel that night, therefore, no where for those paying to stay there to park their cars. The nearest place to park was a couple blocks away. In my opinion, the motel should take care of their patrons first. Rooms were average, but not spectacular. The pool closed about the time we wanted to go down and relax, so we did not get to enjoy that luxory. We were disappointed in the breakfast. We were on a time crunch, and hoped that the food would be prepared when we arrived to eat it, but were told that it was in the oven and would be awhile. Needless to say, we did not have awhile to wait so grabbed what we could, and after eating, the food was still not out. We did enjoy the Starbucks coffee! The lobby is nicely decorated as well. Overall experience was moderate.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zilnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Thank you for offering your comments about your recent stay. I apologize that parking was an issue during your visit , and that you were unable to take full advantage of our cooked-to-order breakfast service or our indoor pool. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We have stayed at other Hilton Gardens before and have always enjoyed our stay, been pleased with service and quality of clean rooms. This motel falls below that standard. Sheets are quite worn, and need replaced. There was a glob of toothpaste on our sink, along with a wad of hair on countertop. The mirror had toothpaste spit speckles all over. The floor in the bathroom had pencil shavings laying right in plain sight next to the toilet, and there was a lot of debris on the entire bathroom floor. There was an event at the motel, and the guests had no where to park. Everyone was told to go park on the street, where there was no parking either, or to go down a block or two and park in a restaurant lot. We were also told there was a dirt spot we could park on about a block away. Needless to say, there was an entire lobby full of unhappy guests. Security doors on the side of building were not lockedso anyone can enter the motel from the side of building.
When we went to breakfast, which costs $9.95, there weren't any potatoes, biscuits, or bacon ready. It took 20 minutes to get potatoes out! The gal making the scrambled eggs, which were supposed to be omelettes, kept using profanity and there were children standing right beside her. Very unprofessional.
Needless to say, we were not impressed. This motel is far below the quality standards we have experienced at other Hilton Garden Inns.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2010

All of us at the Hilton Garden Inn in Missoula truly appreciate your honest and important comments about your recent stay. We strive for excellence and absolute satisfaction from every guest, and in your case, we clearly fell short in a number of areas.

Our goal is to make certain that we address each and every of your concerns; I would like your permission to acquire more information from you (dates of stay and such) so that we can specifically re-assess team member training opportunities. Would you please contact me by eMail at denise.moore@hilton.com so that we can arrange a time to have a conversation about your experience?

I am delighted, however, to see that you were very pleased with the quality of product and service offered at our signature restaurant, Blue Canyon Kitchen & Tavern. Thank you for offering your comments...

I'm looking forward to speaking with you in the near future. And, thank you again for the constructive criticisms... I hope you will contact me.

Best regards,
Denise Mongrain Moore
Director of Sales & Marketing
denise.moore@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We had a seminar here and I couldn't have been happier. The sound system was wonderful-and staff went to extreme lengths to make sure we were happy with everything. They had a sound person in the room for the entire time-just to make sure everything was working as it should. This is a newer property-so it is in excellent condition. The meal was wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend hoding you meetings here!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

Your experience at HGI Missoula is precisely what we strive for... THANK YOU for your feedback, as well as your valued business. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, hopefully in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great place to stay! Excellent service and the rooms were great. The restaurant was also really great and very accomodating!

The FOX television affiliate is not available at this hotel (or many of the local business...hotels, gyms)....so make sure you have back-up plans for your favorite spoting event.... a world series gafme or The Biggest Loser!

The Gold's Gym in Missoula is VERY nice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingokgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2009

Thank you for your great post. By the way, we're looking forward to making some changes with our television line up... On your next stay you should be able to enjoy all your favorite FOX programs. Hope to see you back in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Wow, this was impressive. Starbucks for morning coffee, comfortable beds, Herman Norman office chairs on the rooms, everything seemed first-class, new and clean.

The floors must be concrete because there was very little outside noise in the room even though I went to bed at 9 p.m. one night.

And although I didn't eat there, my associates said the accompanying Blue Canyon restaurant was the best dinner they've had (ANYWHERE) in many years! (One had steak & lobster, the other had pork tenderloin wrapped in a pastry shell.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGImissoula, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hilton Garden Inn Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2009

Thank you for the great review. We're delighted you rested well while with us... Hopefully you can return soon and be able to visit our signature restaurant, Blue Canyon to experience "Creative American Cooking" for yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
3.5 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Missoula
Hampton Inn Missoula
#3 of 40 in Missoula
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#18 of 40 in Missoula
387 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Missoula Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Missoula

Address: 3720 North Reserve Street, Missoula, MT 59808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Missoula
#6 Romantic Hotel in Missoula
#7 Family Hotel in Missoula
Price Range: $102 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Missoula 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Missoula International Airport and downtown Missoula, the Hilton Garden Inn Missoula is convenient to Interstate 90 and State Route 93. Our Missoula hotel is in close proximity to key attractions such as the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Visitors Center, University of Montana, and Caras Park. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, an indoor pool, fitness room, on-site restaurant and casino room. We also have 22,000 sq. ft. of ballroom space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula Hotel Missoula
Missoula Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Missoula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing