We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Restored Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Missoula B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport Beach
1 review
“Beautifully Restored Mansion”
Reviewed May 13, 2007

This was our first visit to Missoula and we were welcomed by Tom and given a tour of the Mansion. It is a beautifully restored very early 20th century house. The furnishings are in keeping with the period. We stayed in a beautiful room over-looking the gardens. Coffee and delicious freshly baked scones were delivered to our door in the morning and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast downstairs before we departed. We highly recommend a stay at Gibson Mansion, and dinner at Red Bird - delicious!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank madrecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This beautifully restored Victorian mansion is the most comfortable B&B I've stayed in yet. The decor is period-perfect, without a lot of the cluttering knick-knacks that so many "Victorian" B&Bs tend to overload on. The capacity is relatively small -- only four bedrooms -- but that makes it very cosy and comfy. Each room has its own private bathroom, and like most converted mansions the baths are in the closets, but these closets must have been large because I never felt like I was crammed into a closet. I stayed in the Garden Room, overlooking the large and lovely backyard garden (with a gazebo that very nicely fits three women and a dinner of wine, bread, cheese, olives, and fruit!). I highly recommend this room - it was relatively quiet, lovely light, and very spacious. The bed was incredibly comfy -- the mattress was firm but not too hard, the sheets were soft, and the down comforter was perfect. I opened the window and turned the ceiling fan on (which was absolutely silent) for a deliciously cool night. I was really reluctant to leave the room to attend to my business in Missoula. I really loved the morning coffee tray they left outside the door (and they did so somehow without making a sound - mysteriously delivering the tray -- featuring a pot of really good coffee and a really scrumptious, breakfast-spoiling home baked scone -- without a squeak of the century old hardwood floors). I recommend ordering the tray a couple hours before you decide to have breakfast as the scone will spoil your appetite if you snarf it down just one hour before breakfast like I did! The hosts were very nice - happy to tour you through the property and share their story of the remodel and restoration. The proprietor did tend to "hover" a little at breakfast but was very nice. Breakfast was good -- nothing particularly outstanding (first breakfast was banana macadamia nut french toast, second day's breakfast was "Dutch babies" - like German pancakes -- with huckleberry filling) except for the excellent coffee. The only down side to this comfy, beautiful B&B was the location - it has been relocated to a "newer" portion of town and sits in a cul-de-sac surrounded by contemporary homes and a small mini-mall of dental offices. The location is not as close to the University of Montana as the directions imply, but once you find it it's not difficult to "re-find" as you're driving around town. I would most definitely stay in this B&B again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The integrity to the architectural period and the comfort
  • Disliked — The location - relocated to a newer neighborhood spoiled the historic "feel"
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Naytonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2007

The Gibson Mansion is a beautiful home with a warm, friendly and comfortable atmosphere. We felt right at home and enjoyed the beautiful garden and home cooking. Breakfast was delicious and served with friendly conversation. We highly recommend staying here!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank vonpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Tom and Nancy were absolutely delightful. They were more than accommodating, including arranging for a canine hiking companion for me, and sharing their dinner and company with me. The house and grounds are simply stunning, with close proximity to services (grocery, restaurants, video store, hiking trails). So much better than staying at an impersonal hotel chain, and not much more expensive. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2007

The Gibson mansion is a delightful place to find peace! The attention to detail is refreshing...from the early morning coffee served at your bedroom door to the free wi-fi, the towels are fluffy and the bed is exquisitely comfortable. The owner's commitment and passion for this home show at every level. I arrived in Missoula at midnight and was greeted with a smile at that late hour. I will find another reason to visit the city just to stay at the Gibson Mansion again!

  • Liked — The coffee brought to your day in the morning and the fresh smell of the home.
  • Disliked — Would like cable TV.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank braddybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
2.7 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#4 of 39 in Missoula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Goldsmith's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 823 39th St, Missoula, MT 59803-1325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 miles from the University of Montana and Historic Downtown. Enjoy Coffee/Tea and Fresh Baked Scones delivered to your room as well as a full gourmet breakfast in the dining room. WIFI/Satellite TV/free parking. Offering four well appointed guest rooms with premium bedding and linens. Beautifully landscaped flower gardens with multiple seating spots and gazebo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gibson Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing