We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bakes and baguettes”
Review of Black Cat Bakery

Black Cat Bakery
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Missoula
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Central, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good bakes and baguettes”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

excellent baguettes here and their cupcakes are good. They use a cream cheese frosting that is
as good as it gets. Their Baguette is the best in Missoula. And especially good is their location
on Broadway.Out of the city crowds and easy parking. Good coffee also.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Western Montana. Hands down. ”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband has driven 120 miles just because of the Morning Buns alone. Never had anything here that wasn't better than anything else I've ever had (sorry grandma). Good espresso too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cinephile914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quality is king.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Early last Sunday morning, before our return to Kalispell, we stopped here. At 8:00am we were first trough the door. Way too many choices! A great sticky bun with plenty of walnuts and pecans was the first choice. A huge almond croissant could not be passed up.The wife took her ham and cheese croissant. Real flavorful coffee completed our morning feast. Everything had great flavor. The smiling lady told us that the coffee was" help yourself." Montana coffee is World famous for its "no flavor coffee" . However, this was very good. Customers began to stream in, we ate at a table, and talked about what had to have the next time. Kalispell has no quality bakery, so we would come here for the very good stuff. Bravo to the staff of this fine new find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sullivan1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't miss a stop here in Missoula”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Always my first stop in Zoo town (it's between the airport and downtown) Fresh, quality, real goodness worth every calorie---and always several gluten-free selections that are 1st class and scrumptious !
And they are good people too--- give back to the Community by supporting Animeals, Missoula's no kill adoption center.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Heavenly --every morsel . AND be still my gluten-free heart!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was told this place had gluten-free baked goods so I headed there and was not expecting the assortment or quality I found. Quite a few gluten-free selections of delicious decadence. The flourless chocolate cake is perfectly done---rich, satisfying, not too sweet. The Macarons are generous and they offer a variety of flavors. The Almond Crescent Horns are the best I've had across several states, but the honey drizzle on them make them messy to eat. The Prince Puckler (?name) torte style dessert was again rich, of quality ingredients and sugary sweet.

What I like about this bakery is that they rely on quality ingredients to give their desserts and baked goods flavor, not sugar. You can definitely taste the difference.

I was told they started at the Missoula Farmer's Market and became so popular that locals clamoured for a full time bakery. They are open 7 days a week.

Their ego has not gotten in the way of their pricing either. Excellent quality at fair prices.

Mmmmm....wonderful and a most dangerous place if I lived in Missoula.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing