We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this place rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Brewing Company

Tamarack Brewing Company
Ranked #5 of 285 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alehouse and grill.
Alta, Wyoming
Level Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“this place rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If I were to open a brewery/pub, this is probably pretty close to how I'd do it.


1. the amber beer is amazing.. about the best I've ever had.

2. the food is amazing. the kobe baja burger is perfect, and the wife had the prime rib dip, which we both agreed it was the best either of us has ever had.

The only disapointment was the garlic-bleu cheese fries. It sounds like a dream to me, as they are 2 of my favorite things... but the blue was sprinkled lightly on top, and didn't melt hardly at all.. and the garlic was sparingly used, and not gettting much flavor to the fires. The fires themselves were very good.

ambiance is great... a very busy place, for good reason. A mix of modern and Montana. there is an outdoor seating area next to the creek, but we have never sat out there the 2 times we've been.

Service is pretty good.

probably 4.5 stars... but I will round up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    198
    62
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Special to Write Home About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's a Pub. Food and service OK but like the title says it's nothing special. But the beer was good and I would suggest the Imperial Stout.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overall....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

good restaurant which provides local beef and bison meat (not sure if the pork and chicken are local as well). the beer here is also amazing. try the bare-bottom-blonde.

the atmosphere:
upstairs they have a bar and dining area, as well as an outdoor veranda seating space.
downstairs is a bar/lounge. they're not a super-dressy place--we ate there in t-shirts and jeans, so it is pretty laid back, but nice.

the food:
i would've given them an excellent rating, but some of the food was definitely not what i would've expected...
-the pizza was not done all the way, and it tasted/looked like they used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. very disappointed.
-the quesadilla was literally just melted cheese in a tortilla. we may have received the wrong quesadilla (they have an appetizer and a dinner), but were never asked which one we had ordered.

the service:
prompt, polite, and relatively knowledgeable--however, did not know where the meat offered in the dishes came from other than that it was local, and spent every interaction flirting with the young man at our table which was slightly awkward.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heathenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good start for our day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

BLT breakfast sandwich was scrumptious. The usual but with the addition of a perfectly fried egg, avocado and garlic aioli. My husband had a great omelet. The service was cheerful and efficient. The decor was simple, lots of wood elements, but the room was cheerful with sunlight spilling in. There was a large party on one side of the room, maybe 18 people, so it can accommodate larger groups, and of course it really is a brew pub which probably brings in the crowds in the evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came here for happy hour on labor day when most other restaurants were closed. We sat on the patio and had a few beers and some appetizers. The food was really salty. I did enjoy the beer! The service was very friendly and helpful, even though they definitely were understaffed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnocchi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing