We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was very nice, but noise was a big issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Theodore, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room was very nice, but noise was a big issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This HIE gets stars for great value at a good location. Our room was very clean, and the free wi-fi, large fridge, and microwave made our 5-night stay very comfortable. The free breakfast was nice, and the staff we encountered were friendly. The hotel is also conveniently located off the interstate, close to restaurants, historic sites, and even Wal-Mart if you need to stop there. One major issue we had at this hotel was the noise level. The rooms are such that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms around you, even normal noise like talking, doors closing, etc. People coming in at all hours of the night and checking out very early made getting a good night's sleep very difficult. We were in Missoula for business, not vacation, and so not getting enough sleep was a big negative for us. However, if you are vacationing and want a hotel with nice facilities (pool, fitness room, laundry, game room, etc), this HIE would probably be great for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    70
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
47
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in May en route from Seattle to Yellowstone national park. After a long drive it was nice to reach a very comfortable hotel, with a friendly reception!

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Lots of choice at breakfast. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-ROB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Though busy, the front desk was staffed by two people so check-in was smooth and fast. The room was great but the smell of cleaning products was overwhelming. This smell was pervasive in the hallways as well. They really should switch to chemicals with a neutral scent.

There was a nearly empty bottle of tequila mixer in the refrigerator which I really didn't want to find there, otherwise the room was reasonably clean.

My room was quiet - no issues with guest noise and minimal street noise. I was in a king suite on the top floor above the entrance. TV was great and internet speed was superb for a hotel at 6 mbps.

Housekeeping was knocking on my door two hours before check-out time despite the "do not disturb" sign. I won't stay in a hotel again if this is the norm, but I suspect my case was not an exception, unfortunately.

i would recommend this hotel to others - conditionally. With some attention to the housekeeping issues, this hotel would be a no-brainer choice for Missoula. It's a nice newer reasonably priced choice in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwest_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear southwest_traveller9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I am pleased the Front Desk was efficient. I apologize for the any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This Holiday inn is our favorite. We have stayed at quit a few over the years and this one blows others out of the water. The man who checked us in was very nice and upgrade us to the kids suite for just $10.00 more . Bunkbeds and a xbox what else could my kids ask for. The room was clean and very roomy. We plan to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hotel is very nice. We stayed on the fourth floor and our room was large with a table and two chairs, a desk with a chair and a couch. Room had a small fridge and microwave. Bathroom was large but had no place in the bathroom to set toiletries down. Hotel was easy to find and we would stay again. Plenty of room to have guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnTrusted, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We love to hear from our guests and are so excited that you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again!

Best Regards,

Holiday Inn Express Missoula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 daughters and had an excellent experience!! The staff was super friendly, both on the phone making reservations, and checking us in. We stayed 2 nights, and on the first night we got in late, around 11 pm. The men at the front desk were very helpful and everyone was cheerful. The rooms are super clean, and the kids loved the pool. We plan on coming back to Missoula and will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CrawfordMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Warrior
Level Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and had to wait 5 min's for the front desk guy to show up. Didn't really get the warmest welcome, he was professional but cold, felt like a prisoner being checked into a jail...lol...the house keepers I passed in the hallway were the same, nothing but a scowl on their faces, guess everyone hates their job there or something.:shrugs:

Got to my room and found it small-ish, this is a newer hotel but doesn't seem to be wearing well, maybe it's high traffic I don't know but I would have expected better given the age. Cleanliness was pretty solid though they could have dusted better.

Bed was comfortable, Internet was fast with download speeds of around 12Mbps, large flat screen LCD tv, shower worked well and had good pressure. Parking seemed limited and the spaces themselves were smaller then usual I thought and oddly angled, looked like a good place to get door dings so I drove around the lot and found one of the bigger parking spaces....there aren't many of them.

Did not get an automatic room upgrade for being a PC Platinum member.......booo......though I did get a water and cheap bag of cookies......whoopdeedoo!!.....place doesn't really seem to care one way or the other about Priority Club members in my opinion they just do the absolute minimum they have too.

Overall this hotel was just ok for me, nothing to get excited about that's for sure, I've been to better I've been to worse. Would I return? Perhaps if the price was right, it's better the the other hotels I have stayed in in MIssoula.

I'll give this one 3.25 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear AlCzervik1,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Member and for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#3 of 39 in Missoula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Missoula
Hampton Inn Missoula
#5 of 39 in Missoula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Missoula
TownePlace Suites Missoula
#10 of 39 in Missoula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.7 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW
Address: 150 Expressway Blvd., Missoula, MT 59808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Missoula
#4 Family Hotel in Missoula
#7 Romantic Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the University of Montana and the Missoula International Airport the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites is a great choice for your lodging needs. Just off the Reserve St. strip, near many of Montana’s Prominent Businesses, and countless local attractions, you will find the beautiful new Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Many of our business travelers find our close proximity to such locations as Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, Boone & Crocket Club, Washington companies, Community Medical Center, Direct TV and Roseburg Forest Products to be very useful. While staying in Missoula, many of our leisure guests enjoy visiting Carousel for Missoula the Missoula Art Museum and the Smoke Jumpers Visitor Center. There are always special events going on in downtown Missoula as well. Some of the great amenities our guests can enjoy during their stay are a spacious board room that seats up to 14, a business center and free Wi-Fi. If your stay is not work related then you may enjoy taking a dip in our indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, or playing Xbox Kinect in our open game room. There are laundry facilities on site and every guest enjoys a great, complimentary Express Start Breakfast in the morning. When you are ready to check out, there is complimentary shuttle service to take you to the airport. Everything you need for your stay is right here at your new Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Don’t forget to make those reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Missoula Hotel Missoula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing