We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsiderate owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

First, this is NOT in any way a lodge. It's a former Hawthorne Suites, and the term "suites" is a stretch at best. The new owner has the arrogance to paint "Missoula's Finest Hotel!" on his company van. So, what is this place, a lodge or a hotel?? Well, it's neither. Its a motel and an average one at best. It's not even the best on Airway Blvd, let alone in Missoula. The room was just okay. We had three complaints: The window was permanently blocked from opening more than a few inches, the sound insulation between rooms was inadequate (we could hear someone coughing in the next room, and the queen bed had only one night stand and accompanying lamp The room was plenty large enough to accommodate night stands and lamps on both sides.... The breakfast was almost mediocre, what you'd expect at a mid-priced chain motel.... But what I fail to understand is an owner's insensitivity by insisting on imposing his radical political beliefs upon all his customers by forcing feeding them Fox News during breakfast. When I asked the front desk clerk, assistant general manager Casie Reich, if she would change the channel to a station that did not have a political agenda, I was told that the owner had the television locked on Fox News and that she could not change it. To her credit, she used her good common sense and understanding of what customer service actually means and did the what she could to temporarily resolve the situation. She turned off the television. This place has a narrow minded, confused owner who desperately needs to learn from his hired help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianwindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    100
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
110
133
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I landed up staying here in the Executive Suite because of an issue at another hotel I had booked through Expedia. (Expedia was awesome as they paid for the difference in rates). Normally I would not have booked the Executive Suite but wow was it nice.

It was huge with a separate living room and kitchen area complete with a bar area, full-size refrigerator, two burner cook top and microwave. The bathroom area was even bigger and probably too big. The shower was so large it could have had two or three shower heads but alas it only had one. In the living room area, there was a good-sized working desk plus lots of comfortable seating where I could work.

The bedroom was also very roomy but the bed itself was very high off the ground. I felt a bit like the princess and the pea! It was comfy though. The downside was the room was right beside the garbage bin and at 6 in the morning I was woken up by the truck coming to clear the garbage.

Unfortunately I did not get to try the breakfast which was included in the price. It was very busy and all the tables were taken but it sure smelt good. Instead I grabbed a yogurt and headed back to the room to have coffee.

I'd definitely stay at the Stonecreek Lodge again. It's a bit far from the centre of the city (it's by the airport) but there are stores and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank garagebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We liked this hotel. We usually don't stay in independents, but this one had good reviews so we gave it a try. It was clean the room was big and the bed was good. It had a couch and a chair with lots of left over room. The staff was also nice and helpful. They had a good breakfast and nice breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Corkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the outside you get that nostalgic feel for Montana and the rooms are not all that bad except for a couple of issues.
1. The television is located on the wall that divides the bath sink area and the entrance, there is no swing arm so you can only see it from one chair in the room ( forget sitting at the work area and glancing at the tv to catch something on the tube ) well unless you feel like doing a remodel during your stay. If you want to watch TV while in bed ( me I like to fall asleep watching the tv when I travel ) bring a heating pad for the sore neck you are going to get.
2. The shower heads are the kind where you get misted on ( I had better showers in the transient tents in Bagram AB than I did here )
Over all the beds were comfortable and I did not get any noise from the hall or parking lot. But with the set-up of the rooms there is nothing special that would call me back to this property

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very clean and quiet hotel. Stayed there for 2 nights and we had a great room. Two rooms with a kitchen. We were all comfortable. The girls enjoyed the pool and after walking all day on the campus we were tired and the beds were great! Breakfast buffet in the mornings was just enough and the quality was good. We will definitely be back. Prices were reasonable. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

At arrival we were greeted by a not so happy staffer... got to our room and it was clean and seemed workable... one of the very strange things about our room was the position of the tv and the inability to tilt it out or anything. The position it was in meant it needed a swinging arm got either the bed or living area a decent viewing. Breakfast was ok.

I guess for the price I was expecting more and with the experience it would be unlikely I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The StoneCreek Lodge is a new hotel with very nice decor which echos's the theme of Missoula and Montana as a whole. Checking in was ok but my first impression was that this hotel not have enough staff. I walked up to the front desk and a sign was the first to greet me. I was informed that the front desk personnel "would be back shortly". I stood at the dest for about 2 minutes until someone in the back asked if I was being helped. After telling him I was not being helped, he went to find someone. I stood another 2 minutes until one person arrived to check me in.

The decor in this hotel is beautiful and tastefully done. Elevators work well and for a Saturday night, and with the parking lot more than half full, it is quiet.

The room is nice - arranged differently than I have ever seen in any hotel I have stayed at. It is shaped in a U with a kitchenette dividing the bath area.

I was the most disappointed in the TV. It is on a small wall that faces one chair. It does not extend out nor does it turn. Anyone sitting on the couch or lying on the bed has a very difficult time seeing the TV. The picture quality is not good either - passable for watching, but with "snow" in every picture on every channel.

We used "booking.com" and got the room for 93.00 without taxes and fees. If the TV would have been more viewer friendly, I would have rated this hotel at the highest. But this really irritates me and I want to give it a "good" rating instead of a "very good" because for people like my husband and I who don't use the pool, we depend on TV viewing for our entertainment. However, because this hotel is situated near the airport and near good shopping, AND because it does offer nice ammenities, I feel it is only fair to upgrade the rating.

This will be our only time at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Missoula hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Missoula Airport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#3 of 39 in Missoula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 39 in Missoula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StoneCreek Lodge Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneCreek Lodge Missoula

Property: StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
Address: 5145 Airway Blvd, Missoula, MT 59808-5514
Location: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Missoula
#11 Romantic Hotel in Missoula
#12 Business Hotel in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — StoneCreek Lodge Missoula 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneCreek Lodge is Missoula's Finest Hotel. Enjoy all the amenities of home and experience consistency, quality and comfort when you stay with StoneCreek Lodge Missoula. At Missoula's premier hotel, you can always feel closer to home, whether you are away for one night or several. We feature 101 spacious suites with full or efficiency kitchens, flat screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding with pillow top beds. Get your day started right with our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet each morning. As the closest hotel to the Missoula International Airport, we are pleased to offer free airport shuttle, and stay & fly services to all of our guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will benefit from the free wireless and ultra high speed internet access offered in our rooms as well as appreciate the on-site business center, 24/7 convenience store, gift store, fitness room, and our indoor mineral pool and spa. StoneCreek Lodge Missoula is western-style luxury in a 100 percent smoke free environment. Our banquet facilities include a state-of-the-art executive boardroom as well as two spacious meeting rooms. In addition, we offer two remarkable executive suites each with over 1000 square feet of living space! We are located next to Big Sky Brewery. Please visit our official website for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your StoneCreek Lodge Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Missoula Hotel Missoula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing