We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for groups”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martin City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbott Valley Homestead
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Millhouse homestead. It was hard to find, but eventually, we got used to it. It fairly comfortably fit 9 of us, though it could probably use a hot-water heater update... showers are an adventure. Price was reasonable once split.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank QFL247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have dreamed of a vacation in Glacier National Park, and we are thankful that we spent 7 nights of our stay at Abbott Valley Homestead. We stayed in Brownstone, and it was ideal for just the two of us. Our correspondence with Marion via email and phone in the months prior to our arrival was helpful, kind and timely. As this was our first trip, we had many questions and she was only too happy to help. From the best place to get groceries to her personal favorites for hikes in the park, her suggestions were spot on.

The cabin is cozy and comfortable; the kitchen was stocked with all that we needed and the homestead property was beautiful. One of the things we enjoyed the most? No tv! We brought books to read, but the cabin was well stocked with books about the park, the wildlife, flora and fauna. We enjoyed looking through the scrapbook with pictures and history of the homestead. Marion and the Foley family have quite a treasure in this very special place. Glacier National Park is everything we had expected and more & Abbott Valley was a wonderful place to call "home" for our stay.

Room Tip: Brownstone is perfect for one couple The back porch is expansive, and we grilled out almost every n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWesternPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our third year at Abbott Valley. We will return again for several reasons: 1) the location. Quiet and lovely with amazing flower gardens, a stream with rustic wooden bridge, this is a place for relaxing and getting away from the noise of daily life. We sleep better here than anywhere else, probably because of the quiet peace. It's also close to lots of activities--Glacier National Park, a fun park for the kids, and other tourist attractions. Oh, and it's close to several shops that sell amazing huckleberry treats. 2) the accomodations. I looked long and hard for something reasonably priced and wheelchair accessible near Glacier. Jaybird's the house we stayed in fits this need pretty well. During the past several years, the owner, Marion, has made changes to continually improve this aspect of the house. As another reviewer noted, part of the charm of this home is its beautifully decorated rooms with photos and momentos from the owner's family. We love the fully stocked kitchen, the big dining room table where we've played games and read and talked, the patio, the porch--everything. 3) Marion--she checks in on us, stays to chat and visit about the area and generally makes us feel welcome. She listens to our requests for improvements and follows through with our ideas, so this place just keeps getting better. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Ask for houses near the streams--it's so lovely to fall asleep to the sound of a stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEKA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Abbott Valley Ranch was more than we expected! The area is beautiful with great hiking trails to the lake and lookouts. The Park is close by with plenty to do and see. We stayed in Mickey's cabin which was very clean with everything you could need . Marion , Erin, Robbie , Autumn and Thomas were so wonderful, they helped with anything we needed, a beautiful family .We brought our horses from Canada and rode the trails from the cabin and this was the first time the ranch accommodated people brining their own horses but they were willing to do whatever we needed to make this a great trip for us and they did! above and beyond. I feel like we made new friends as well as had a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We loved the snow trails, Marion's dogs went with us on hikes which was a lot of fun! Great personal attention to all our requests. See you again soon!
Wonderful to build fire in the morning and star gazing at night!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This will be long (as most of my reviews are), but I think it helps to be thorough.

My husband, parents and I stayed at Abbott Valley from Sept. 15-25th. My husband and I stayed in the Brownstone, and my parents were at Jaybird's. We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. I recommend Abbot Valley for several reasons:

Location: the property the homes are located on is beautiful. The homes are secluded and quiet. About the only background noise we heard was the occasional train whistle, but that was miles away. But despite the seclusion, it's still convenient. Only 20-30 minutes from the Glacier Park International Airport in Kalispell and 10-15 minutes to Glacier's west entrance. There is also a grocery store, gas station, restaurants and souvenier shops within a 10 minute drive as well as national forests and activities like helicopter rides, go karts and a whiskey distillery.

Accommodations: both homes were comfortable and inviting and thoroughly clean (which, unfortunately, is often not the case in vacation rental properties). They were furnished and decorated nicely and felt like you were staying in someone's home that was well cared for and not just a rental property. The Brownstone is small (it basically is a one room home, with the furniture dividing the bed from the sitting area), but it was still pleasant, and it had a huge deck that went from the front porch to the back of the house, with plenty of seating. Jaybird's is much bigger (3 bedrooms, 2 baths), has a washer and dryer and has the most comfortable rocking chair/ottoman set that any of us has ever sat in (Marion is lucky we couldn't fit it in our suitcases or we might have been tempted to take it home with us :-)). It is also decorated with family pictures and memorabilia which gives it a very personal feel. Jaybird's has a nice patio and a big kitchen table that let us enjoy meals and games together in the evenings. Both homes also had more than we needed in terms of linens, kitchen equipment, reading materials, etc and had pretty gardens and planters around them.

Price/value: The prices were excellent. We had lower rates because we were not there at the peak season, and we also had a discount for staying one week or more. Both the Brownstone and Jaybird's cost considerably less than hotels and cabins we looked at in the park (even their off-peak rates), and offered so much more. You could probably find cheaper accommodations in the area, but they will not be nearly as good (most of the lodging in the area seemed to be tiny, one-room cabins or small and basic motels).

Owners/customer service: we were really pleased with all of our interactions with Marion. The reservation process went smoothly, and Marion was completely accommodating when we had to change the dates twice. Also, it was originally just a trip for my husband and I, but when we decided to include my parents, she specifically recommended Jaybird's and sent quite a few pictures to make sure they would like it before they booked it. Marion checked in on us twice - once on the first night and once later on in the trip. She is very friendly and genuinely cares about their homestead and about making sure her guests are comfortable. As for those who complained about customer service - I didn't notice anything wrong in our visit. From my experience, if you are staying in a vacation home or cabin, you tend to be more independent. If you want 24-hour assistance, maid service and a concierge, you should look for a hotel instead.

The only thing I found that could be a potential drawback for some is that there is no TV and no internet in the homes. Wi-Fi is available at Marion's place in the south part of Abbott Valley. But not having TV meant we ended up spending more time as a family discussing the day's events, planning for the next day and playing games. As far as cell phones go, we found coverage depends on your carrier. Like any remote or mountainous area, there are a lot of places where a cell phone won't work. But I have Verzion 3G service on a smartphone, and I was able to get voice and data coverage in towns and on highways, in some areas of the park (such as Apgar Village, the lodges) and in the Brownstone - but not in Jaybird's. My husband has a smartphone through Sprint and had next to no service anywhere we went. My parents' cell phones ("vintage" models through Verizon and AT&T prepaid) did not work at all.

25 years ago, when I was very young, my parents took us on a family vacation to Estes Park, CO, where we stayed at a place called Machin's Cottages in the Pines. We loved everything about it so much, that we have gone back multiple times since then and it has become the "gold standard" for vacation lodgings in our family. In the 25 years (and numerous vacations) since then, only two other places have equaled Machins - and Abbott Valley is one of them.

Room Tip: Homes in the north section are in a wooded setting, the homes in the south are in the original homes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeroicPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited the Abbott Valley Homestead as a family vacation in the summer of 2011. Our group rented three cabins: Millhouse, Brownstone, and Jaybird's. Millhouse had a kitchen and living room that was a good gathering space. Jaybird's easily slept several adults and had plenty of room for reading, naps, conversations, etc. Brownstone was compact inside with a spacious deck. There are lots of nice trails throughout the property, and the owners allow you to walk about pretty freely.

I loved the location and the accommodations, but I have to agree the service was not great, nor was it much of a value. The staff we did see was friendly and helpful, but Marion didn't check in with us until several days after arrival, even though we left messages stating our needs. There was no internet the entire week we stayed there. I would shop around next time and try to find a better deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ms T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Owner at Abbott Valley Homestead, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
In response to the 'changing times' and many requests, we have put Wi-Fi into our guest cabins. In addition, cell coverage has improved in the area and it is much easier to locate guests, friends, businesses, and management when problems or needs arise. We appreciate the feed back guests have given us in this regard. MF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martin City
8.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
7.8 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
7.9 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glacier Under Canvas
3.7 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbott Valley Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott Valley Homestead

Property: Abbott Valley Homestead
Address: Foley Lane, P.O. Box 98, Martin City, MT 59926
Location: United States > Montana > Martin City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Martin City
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing