We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful, just beautiful

amazing road, take the time to pull over and read the historical signs beside the road. Well... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2018
rdgtchr
,
Astoria, Oregon
Lewis and Clark

This road was part of our attempt to be in the area of the Corps of Discovery. My husband loved... read more

Reviewed August 23, 2018
teresadlocke
,
Minco, Oklahoma
Read all 80 reviews
  
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
59
17
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
17
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful drive lochsa river beautiful scenery ranger station hot springs take your time early morning great road lewis and clark speed limit cedar grove northwest passage gas station scenic byway motorcycle ride nez perce hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 80 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Great road and pass with lots of history--Lewis and Clark traveled here. Nice visitor center at the top of Lolo pass--and is the gateway to the Lochsa river. If you like history and great scenery, GO!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

As you cross into Idaho, after approximately 20 miles of great curves and good pavement in Montana, there is a sign that will make any biker's heart sing. "Winding Road 99 Miles" I have ridden over 100,000 miles of roads in Western North America and this was the best. On Friday I road it east bound and then changing my plans road it back west bound on Saturday. The curves were sublime, the lack of police was awesome, the abundance of early morning wildlife, deer and ducks was a challenge. Thank God, I only hit a duck. Avoided the three separate deer. In summer afternoons it is hot, take plenty of water, much better temperature in the morning.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank bryanharnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

If you want to ride one of the most scenic highways in the US, then this is the place to go. What fun!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank jeffrow2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We rode the Lochsa river on the Idaho side of the pass on our Harleys. You can't beat Highway 12 thru the Rocky Mountains for scenery and perfect motorcycle riding.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank MontanaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2015

During the summer this becomes a very popular route. It is 2 lanes, so unless you are the slow driver, you will be stuck behind someone every now and then. This is not a big deal as it is very scenic and a pleasant drive if you are in no rush. There will also be a lot of bicyclists on the route so keep that in mind. If driving the whole Hwy, it will take around 4 hours to drive between Lolo in Montana, to Lewiston in Idaho.

What is nice about this drive is that most of it runs along a river. There are a couple campgrounds close to Lolo pass, as well as a few more on the Idaho side of the Hwy. There are no options to get food or fuel up, so do so before heading on to the highway.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews