We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the West”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Murray is as "old West" as it gets, right down to the "Guns must be checked a the Front Desk" sign. Rooms are a bit small but clean and as well appointed as many of the chain hotels. We had previously eaten in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel on our last trip to LIvingston and decided to stay at the hotel on a whim. We were really glad we did. Although the hotel is close to the train station - which can make it a bit noisy, the overall experience made it worthwhile. Definitely a must see if you are staying in the Livingston area and don't miss the "lounge" for great local musical talent in the evening. Also Gil's serves the best breakfast around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiCiWtraveleratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 220 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

There is not much I can say that has not already been said except to say, "this is a real piece of history". How often can you say "I stayed in the same hotel as Calamity Jane"? Yep, the trains run off and on all night but the management has provided ear plugs which are a cute and functional idea. I had not stayed for awhile so when I stopped in October I was pleased to see that the owners had continued to upgrade and maintain the property with style and taste of the old West.
Be sure you arrange after hours help if you are hauling luggage as the "lift" only works with hotel staff. Say "Hi" to Margie in the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the building (entry side) toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraMicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Murray has a long history. It has been redone and some of the rooms and suites are permanently rented. The Director (Wild Bunch) Sam Peckinpah used to rent the top floor and it is said he would occasionally shoot holes in the ceiling when drunk, luckily he had the top floor.

We have stayed a few times because Livingston is just so much fun. They have connected the little rooms into bigger suites and that makes it a great place for mini vacations, family get togethers or just a better choice than the interstate chains.

The Bistro behind and attached to the hotel is a great place and you can spot some of the local residents of Paradise Valley who are also Hollywood stars from time to time. Like bears they don't usually bother you if you don't pester them.

The old elevator takes the desk person for assistance and it is a great relic by itself. Fun place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a gloriously authentic old hotel - I was amazed at the amount of period features that have been retained. The 109 year old lift requires staff to operate it (which can involve a long wait) so take the stairs after the first trip.
We had a Queen Suite room - which included a little sitting room with a separate sink, fridge & microwave.
All the furnishings are in keeping with the age/style of the hotel. A nice selection of complimentary toiletries. You also get ear plugs (which we didn't bother with) due to the proximity of the rail line.
There is a bar downstairs - nothing fancy, seems to be mostly frequented by locals plus the 2nd Street Bistro & Gil's Diner are in the same building. We recommend the pizza at Gil's diner for dinner, and the fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Overnighted in Livingston and choices in the downtown area of town are few but the Murrary stood on the corner still proud after a century of welcoming guests to this Montana town. This four story brick building is a class of the period and has been modernized without changing its original character. We had a suite on the fourth floor which was very nicely appointed with all the modern conveniences you'd expect. The fixtures are old school from the era but upgraded to work like their modern counterparts. The beds were luxurious and there was a flat screen TV in each of our rooms (if you're into such things). The furniture was new and the couch was leather.
On the down side, the elevator was 100 years old and only operated by staff who aren't there late at night or very early in the morning (we left early) so carrying your luggage down 3 or 4 flights of stairs might be an issue but they will arrange for the night manager to carry them for you.
The biggest negative is the trains nearby. They blow their whistle all night long about every half hour. There are ear plugs for you on the night stand but its still and issues if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Reserved a suite on the 4th floor. We loved the Murray Hotel. Staff was great, and very informative. You have to have a staff member to use the 100 yr old elevator or walk the 4 floor up. The suite was very clean and well decorated. Lobby was decorated with old west theme.
This place is not the Four Seasons but if you want to have the feel of the Old West in a clean wonderful environment, stay at the Murray.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HaggisDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was a hot day and we wanted to see the classic Murray Hotel on our walk around town. Loved the place. Didn't stay there, but did have an ice cold beer in the bar. Worth a stop if you have the time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
1.0 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
397 reviews
15.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Livingston
211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
95 reviews
23.1 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
643 reviews
24.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 201 W Park St, (Corner of Second and Park streets), Livingston, MT 59047-2628
Location: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $137 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is an authentic Western hotel with modern amenities in the beautiful destination of Livingston, Montana. The Murray Hotel occupies 4 floors with 30 rooms or suites that are tastefully furnished with attention to modern comfort and the hotel’s historic legacy. The entire hotel is a non-smoking facility with a rooftop patio that is available for smoking, or just enjoying the mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing