We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the old Wild West”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A taste of the old Wild West”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a gloriously authentic old hotel - I was amazed at the amount of period features that have been retained. The 109 year old lift requires staff to operate it (which can involve a long wait) so take the stairs after the first trip.
We had a Queen Suite room - which included a little sitting room with a separate sink, fridge & microwave.
All the furnishings are in keeping with the age/style of the hotel. A nice selection of complimentary toiletries. You also get ear plugs (which we didn't bother with) due to the proximity of the rail line.
There is a bar downstairs - nothing fancy, seems to be mostly frequented by locals plus the 2nd Street Bistro & Gil's Diner are in the same building. We recommend the pizza at Gil's diner for dinner, and the fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    50
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
117
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Overnighted in Livingston and choices in the downtown area of town are few but the Murrary stood on the corner still proud after a century of welcoming guests to this Montana town. This four story brick building is a class of the period and has been modernized without changing its original character. We had a suite on the fourth floor which was very nicely appointed with all the modern conveniences you'd expect. The fixtures are old school from the era but upgraded to work like their modern counterparts. The beds were luxurious and there was a flat screen TV in each of our rooms (if you're into such things). The furniture was new and the couch was leather.
On the down side, the elevator was 100 years old and only operated by staff who aren't there late at night or very early in the morning (we left early) so carrying your luggage down 3 or 4 flights of stairs might be an issue but they will arrange for the night manager to carry them for you.
The biggest negative is the trains nearby. They blow their whistle all night long about every half hour. There are ear plugs for you on the night stand but its still and issues if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Reserved a suite on the 4th floor. We loved the Murray Hotel. Staff was great, and very informative. You have to have a staff member to use the 100 yr old elevator or walk the 4 floor up. The suite was very clean and well decorated. Lobby was decorated with old west theme.
This place is not the Four Seasons but if you want to have the feel of the Old West in a clean wonderful environment, stay at the Murray.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HaggisDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
452 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was a hot day and we wanted to see the classic Murray Hotel on our walk around town. Loved the place. Didn't stay there, but did have an ice cold beer in the bar. Worth a stop if you have the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Murray 3-4 times in the past and enjoy it for its classic small-town Montana character. While this stay was just a short overnight, we still enjoyed it and its character. Even the late night train going past gave it some added charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CudaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews (especially about noise levels), we were reluctant to stay here...but we LOVED the Murray. I could spend days in the lobby with all of the Old West memorabilia. Our room was perfect, luxurious and large... and with many more modern conveniences than expected. The noise was not a problem for us at all. We slept like babies in that big, soft king bed. After traveling for several days and staying in numerous hotels, this was one of our favorites - spacious, with comfort and character.
The old elevator was a classic. Don't miss a ride in it. The hallways had that "Twilight Zone - Tower or Terror" feel to them, which was really cool. Be sure to check out the old photos in the hallways and stairways if you like history.
I must also include that Virginia was very helpful and a delight to talk to. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a Superior Suite with a king bed directly beside the Pekinpah Suite. I believe it was the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamfoster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once again it's a delight to stay at the Murray Hotel. The rooms are elegantly furnished. The comfort is superb. The two- room suite with the large king bed is beautiful. It also has a small kitchenette if you're so inclined to bring your own food and cook. It is a must stay if you're traveling through the I-90 Corridor in Montana.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
15.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#6 of 10 in Livingston
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#5 of 10 in Livingston
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
86 reviews
23.1 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
583 reviews
22.9 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 201 W Park St, (Corner of Second and Park streets), Livingston, MT 59047-2628
Location: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is an authentic Western hotel with modern amenities in the beautiful destination of Livingston, Montana. The Murray Hotel occupies 4 floors with 30 rooms or suites that are tastefully furnished with attention to modern comfort and the hotel’s historic legacy. The entire hotel is a non-smoking facility with a rooftop patio that is available for smoking, or just enjoying the mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing