We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Western Hotel”
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Reserved a suite on the 4th floor. We loved the Murray Hotel. Staff was great, and very informative. You have to have a staff member to use the 100 yr old elevator or walk the 4 floor up. The suite was very clean and well decorated. Lobby was decorated with old west theme.
This place is not the Four Seasons but if you want to have the feel of the Old West in a clean wonderful environment, stay at the Murray.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HaggisDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was a hot day and we wanted to see the classic Murray Hotel on our walk around town. Loved the place. Didn't stay there, but did have an ice cold beer in the bar. Worth a stop if you have the time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Murray 3-4 times in the past and enjoy it for its classic small-town Montana character. While this stay was just a short overnight, we still enjoyed it and its character. Even the late night train going past gave it some added charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CudaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews (especially about noise levels), we were reluctant to stay here...but we LOVED the Murray. I could spend days in the lobby with all of the Old West memorabilia. Our room was perfect, luxurious and large... and with many more modern conveniences than expected. The noise was not a problem for us at all. We slept like babies in that big, soft king bed. After traveling for several days and staying in numerous hotels, this was one of our favorites - spacious, with comfort and character.
The old elevator was a classic. Don't miss a ride in it. The hallways had that "Twilight Zone - Tower or Terror" feel to them, which was really cool. Be sure to check out the old photos in the hallways and stairways if you like history.
I must also include that Virginia was very helpful and a delight to talk to. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a Superior Suite with a king bed directly beside the Pekinpah Suite. I believe it was the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamfoster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once again it's a delight to stay at the Murray Hotel. The rooms are elegantly furnished. The comfort is superb. The two- room suite with the large king bed is beautiful. It also has a small kitchenette if you're so inclined to bring your own food and cook. It is a must stay if you're traveling through the I-90 Corridor in Montana.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The bright spot of this town was the Murray. Livingston does not have a lot to offer regarding activities or sites. We stayed one night after leaving Yellowstone Park. The hotel is very comfortable and accommodating. The little bar downstairs provides a few hours of activity. Wish they had a light breakfast with the rooms, at these prices they should offer something.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We debated staying here because the only room available was above the bar which features live music until 2 am. Since I had melatonin in my suitcase and the hotel provides earplugs (for guests sensitive to the train activity) we decided to stay.

Was it a little noisy? Yes. But the atmosphere, service, restaurant, location, history, and cleanliness ALL made it worthwhile!

We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitchensinkroslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
1.0 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
399 reviews
15.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Livingston
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
95 reviews
23.1 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
645 reviews
24.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bozeman
Comfort Suites Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 201 West Park Street, Corner of Second and Park streets, Livingston, MT 59047-2628
Location: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: $137 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murray Hotel is an authentic Western hotel with modern amenities in the beautiful destination of Livingston, Montana. The Murray Hotel occupies 4 floors with 30 rooms or suites that are tastefully furnished with attention to modern comfort and the hotel’s historic legacy. The entire hotel is a non-smoking facility with a rooftop patio that is available for smoking, or just enjoying the mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing