We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Montana.”
Review of 2nd Street Bistro

2nd Street Bistro
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 2nd Street Bistro opened its doors in the Historic Murray Hotel, Livingston, MT during the spring of 2004. We are rooted in the simple belief that great food and wine make life more enjoyable. Recently highlighted on Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations", we are also the proud recipients of numerous regional 'Best Of' awards, including "Best Fine Dining", "Best Service", "Best Wine List", "Best Martini" and "Best Chef". Join us for a taste of refined authenticity! Above all else, we are committed to supporting the local economy and sustainable products. Our number one goal is to support our unique community of independent farmers, ranchers, artists, and professionals. If we can buy it locally, we will. If we can't buy it locally, we will seek out sustainable products. When you walk into the Bistro, you can be sure you are making a positive impact on our community and beyond.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Montana.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We frequent 2nd Street. We have been to all the top restaurants in Bozeman and Livingston and this is our go to restaurant for excellent food and ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AroundtheWorld2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    45
    25
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best in Livingston”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have dined at Bistro at least 20 times and really never been disappoint except when we can't get a reservation. We live here in the summers and this is where we take our out of town guests and is, without doubt, the best restaurant in Livingston.

My wife loves the mussels and fries but we have to share as you cannot due justice to the meal if you eat these large appetizers. For the main course the chicken dishes are wonderful and is my regular unless they have a halibut special. The steaks are all Montana meat, as the majority of the meats and Brian, the owner and chef, really shows the big-market experience in preparation.

They normally have a special wine and drink of the day. Good way to try some different wines hand picked by Brian. The jalapeño margarita is perfect. If you are in Livingston this is the place to go if you are looking for a fabulous dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Livingston”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Bourdain got it right. The bistro is excellent and without question, the best restaurant in Livingston, MT.

All meat and pasta dishes are wonderful. Excellent fries. Try the lighter menu as well, especially the mussels and scallops with rizotto. Come early and bring the kids, but also nice for a more formal dinner. Nice atmosphere. Food may take a little while to come out, but it is worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disappointed.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arrived in time for reservation and hostess seemed surprised. Seated a couple ahead of us whom arrived late.We were not asked if we preferred a table and were seated at a bar table w/ stools.Our waitress was pleasant.We orders two appetizers,ravioli sparse serving,three small ravioli for four people.Not very warm nor tasty. Oysters on the half shell good. My Stroganoff was not hot, very salty. Think they forgot the sour cream.No taste except salt.Ribeye undercooked, again crab butter on top super salty. Had to ask a couple times for pepper and water. Not offered coffee nor dessert choices,had to inquire.Ran out of desserts,this was Valentine's Day and our 35th anniversary.So sad. Traveled over 260 miles for this. Was here last summer and had a wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, MT
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

One if my all time favorite restaurants. Brian and his staff have created an experience and lifestyle here. Been here over 50 times, always great. Only complaint is the lack of "power hour" this winter, it was a great way for local, working folks to have affordable meals. Also wish the Bistro Burger was back on the menu, way better than the GFB on Gils menu now.

Helpful?
Thank mtgreenheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing