We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a vacation you will talk about for years??!”
Review of 63 Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
63 Ranch
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Want a vacation you will talk about for years??!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our language does not hold enough superlatives to convey the beauty, the grandeur of this setting. Words just cannot express the take-your-breath-away aspects of the vistas you see from the front porch of your cabin or from the saddle as you gaze out over the mountain ranges below you. My husband and I have been going for one- or two-week vacations since 2003, and each trip provides new experiences that will stay in our memories forever. Our cubes at work are plastered with photos of the 63, and our friends wait to hear what new adventures each trip brings. We are horse people, so we go for a riding experience that is like no other. However, the Ranch caters to people of all riding skills with horses that accommodate every type of rider from beginner/novice to advanced riders. They also offer a non-rider rate. You go out for rides with wrangler guides who ensure you are safe and comfortable. By the end of the week you will want to take some of them home with you! The owners, Jeff and Dee, work tirelessly to meet the needs and desires of the guests. The high number of return guests attests to how perfect this experience is (this past trip had only 1 new guest out of 20 return guests). Some of the guest have become dear friends as we meet for something like a reunion every year at the same time. Also surprising is the high number of people from other countries. This year included return guests from Scotland, England and Ireland. Be aware most of the cabins are rustic, and this is a "real" ranch, not a ranch/spa. The emphasis is on riding or hiking or fly fishing or just reading a book on your porch. You can help move cows if you are feeling adventurous toward the end of the week, something you will be sure to talk and laugh about for a long time. Whatever you go for, I feel comfortable saying you will get more than you expected. Oh, and bring LOTS of film.

Room Tip: Talk to Dee about the type of cabin that fits your needs. They have cabins that fit singles, friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraRTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, FL USA
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were invited to go to the 63 Ranch by some friends of ours who had been several years before. We had never been before, and were a little apprehensive about going due to the fact that we had absolutely no experience whatsoever with horses.
The main reason that we were going was because of our 9 year old daughter.
She loves horses, and was biting at the bit to go. We decided to go and give it a
shot. We are so glad we did, because our week at the 63 Ranch was the most memorable
vacation we have ever taken. As we said we were apprehensive at first and did not know
what to expect and how safe we would be especially with a 9 year old. After the first morning, with the extensive introduction and training we received, our minds were put to ease. The knowledge of Jeff and their wranglers were amazing and they had a special, genuine desire to make you feel comfortable and enjoy yourself. We cannot emphasize enough how appreciative we were for them going the extra mile to make us comfortable. After that first day, we realized that we were in excellent hands, and that we were safe.
We would not think twice about recommending the 63 Ranch for your next family
vacation and we cannot wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegoHarmony_FLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My family had the pleasure of visiting the 63 this past July (2010) and we had a wonderful time. The staff is warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable about horses, riding, the natural history of the area, great fishing spots, etc... I was impressed by two aspects of our visit, among others. First, the introduction and training we received BEFORE getting on the horses was extremely well-designed and thoughtful. We learned about the basics of animal behavior, how that translates into what horses are motivated by and thinking about, and ultimately how to work well, and communicate effectively, with our horse. This made all the difference in having a great experience with all the horses during our stay at the ranch. Second, the fly-fishing on the Mission Creek, which flows for 3+ miles through the ranch, is not to be missed! There are larger waters nearby, but I guarantee that none will fish as well as the Mission Creek. This creek receives very little fishing pressure and holds mostly large (11-13 in) rainbows and cutthroat trout, with 16 inchers in some of the deeper holes. Bring your fly rod when you visit the ranch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottnewbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

If you're looking for spectacular views, quality horses, comfortable cabins, good food, relaxing atmosphere, wonderful hosts and staff, the 63 Ranch has it all. We've been going there for 11 straight years, and we feel this year has actually been the best. Whether a beginner or experienced horseback rider, you will be perfectly matched to your horse and the type of ride you'd like. Select from fabulous mountain ranges, rolling meadows, or rounding up cattle, it's entirely your choice. If you're looking to have a Dude Ranch experience, this is truly a no-risk vacation. On the morning we had to leave, my husband looked at me and said, "I miss it already"! So we booked for another 2 weeks in September. It's grand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bussmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This was our first dude ranch visit so I cannot compare with others but this was hands down one of the best vacations my family and I have taken.

The ranch itself is located in an absolutely amazing part of the country. I had previously spent time hiking around Yellowstone, Jackson, WY and in other parts of Montana so I had high expectations for scenery but the acreage that this ranch has access to is remarkable. We went out twice a day for horseback rides and never repeated amazing views - not that we would have minded that at all. The pictures do not do it justice at all.

As mentioned, the horseback riding could not have been better. Each of us was paired up with a horse that was perfectly suited to us and we felt the team of wranglers and owners did a wonderful job of making sure that EVERYONE could handle their horses and enjoy ANY ride. As someone who had not been on a horse in 20 years, I was worried that I would not enjoy the riding but with the tips provided by the wranglers and the confidence I had in the wonderful horses, I didn't want to miss a single ride. Everyone in our family loved the riding and loved their horse. There were other things to do, fishing, hiking, etc. but we all chose riding day after day.

Other things we loved (almost too many to list but I will try):
- all the staff who were welcoming and wonderful. They knew all our names when we arrived and every single person made sure everyone, including our two teenage girls, were having a good time and were comfortable.
- the good food which there was plenty of. My favorite, the homemade breads but I think the girls would say the pancakes and the steaks!!!
- the wildlife: bears, deer, marmots, rabbits all around - we only missed seeing a moose.
- The company of the other guests - we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the other guests over meals and during the quieter times of the day. Everyone seemed at home with one another almost instantly. I am not sure how this places does that but it does.
- the quiet: no cell phones, no TVs, only the sounds of nature. I thought the kids may go into shock but they loved it as well.
- enjoying the quiet time with family, reading together, working on a puzzle, playing cards, and TALKING.
- Learning to contra dance in the evenings
- Helping to round up cattle - a new adventure!
- Seeing our teens with big smiles on their faces nearly the whole week! They really loved it and seemed happier and more relaxed than we have seen them in a while.

With all these wonderful things to say, it is hard to imagine how someone would not love this place but you need to know what you are in for. This is like camp for adults and kids. It is not fancy, the cabins are simple but comfortable and VERY clean. If you do not like, hiking, horses, or fishing, you could get bored. You are going to a ranch afterall.

If you choose to visit this place, we hope you love it too. And if you have any questions or concerns, the owners are great to talk with.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACJChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
212 reviews
16.4 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
201 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#6 of 10 in Livingston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
370 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
88 reviews
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 63 Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 63 Ranch

Property: 63 Ranch
Address: P. O. Box 979, Livingston, MT 59047-0979
Location: United States > Montana > Livingston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 63 Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing