We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of the way stay.”
Review of Elk Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lima
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great place for a few days. Wonderful homemade food. Fishing on the lake, hiking and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJBEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

First off: We're from Washington State, have stayed at Elk Lake twice in the past two years, and both times it was a primary destination of our trip. It's that good, from all points of view. Proximity: Centennial Valley is jaw-dropping beautiful yet its only about 40 minutes from Henry's Lake, Idaho, which is the gateway to Yellowstone's west entrance. The road is mostly gravel and quite good. Fishing: At a nearby lake, we caught 16 rainbow/cutthroat to 18 inches in an hour (before a thunderstorm chased us away). The Centennial Valley has creeks and small lakes with truly world-class fishing, if you know how to string up a fishing rod (jab at those below who complained about fishing here). Hiking: the best. Hike up the ridge behind the lodge for incredible views. Food: this was our favorite part. Excellent, filling breakfasts and dinners. The hosts and their family are just wonderful human beings. All in all, of all the places we've visited around the world, definitely a top-10 location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RagingRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I took my wife and 2 kids to Elk Lake Resort as a retreat from the hustle and bussle of city life. What a pleasure it was to stay here. For those who commented that Elk Lake is too far off the beaten path and it ruined their vacation to Yellowstone. Well, that is no fault but there own. A little research would have shown the location and that the roads were gravel and not paved. It also would have shown how far it was from Yellowstone and other areas.

We found Elk Lake to be perfect for visiting areas like Red Rock Lakes NWR to the West and Yellowstone to the East.

As far as no fish in the lake as one commenter wrote. Not sure what lake they were talking about. There were a lot of fish in the lake. The trout even were running up the little stream that cuts right through the property.

The cabin was great. Rustic looking but warm and comfortable and clean. The lodge and resturant were awesome and so was the food and drink.

The owners were very friendly and always helpful.

So, if you are looking to get back to nature and see some wilderness, Elk Lake is a great place to do this, but still have some of the niceties of home.

I will be going back next year if at all possible.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbielefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Our trip to Elk Lake was amazing. The food was great. Our room was perfect--clean and inviting. The lake was relaxing and beautiful. My husband and I each caught a fish. If you're paying attention, you'll see wildlife everywhere. And if you don't like large crowds of people or dealing with traffic--this place is wonderful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilburandcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Elk lake has AMAZING burgers and a soda pop served in a frosty cold glass with fantastic service. We always make sure to stop in at lunch time after a full day of fishing. As some of the other posters have mentioned Elk Lake is a little far off the beaten path but does make a great drive, just plan to make it a full trip!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MJones6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Great location for a family reunion. I laughed at the negative reviews. I guess if you are a city slicker, the "rusticness" and the seclusion may be too much for you. But if you want good quality time with the family and only an hour drive away from Yellowstone Park, I highly recommend this adventure. I thought the food was great and the hosts are very accomodating. There is nearby fishing, hiking, boating and horseback riding. My young kids had so much fun and the teens/20 year olds enjoyed boating and sun bathing on the shores of the lake. A great place for a group gathering.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniejholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We have had so many good comments about our visit to your resort. Dinner and appetizers were wonderful. We had the leftovers for dinner on Monday (just as tasty)!
Thank you so much for allowing us to invade your peaceful afternoon.

Our day in the bus was long but well worth it. We saw and heard so many birds, and learned so much about habitats and behaviors. In the Centennial on the way home, we saw a cow moose with a VERY little calf. Later we had antelope cross in front of us. Even with full tummies we stayed awake for the animals!

Thank you again for giving us a memorable meal to cap our outing!

The West Yellowstone Foundation

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WYFoundation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Lake Resort

Address: 5200 Elk Lake Rd, Lima, MT 59739-9711
Location: United States > Montana > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Lake Resort is located in Montana's most unique wide open space - a perfectly 'natural' location for your family vacation or couples getaway. We offer country elegance, home-away-from-home comfort and wide open outdoor recreation. Whether you come to relax in Montana's mountains, to enjoy a family vacation package in Montana's outback, or to pursue your own 'trails' in our wide open spaces - this vacation you will find your 'home' in the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Lake Hotel Lima
Elk Lake Resort Lima, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing