We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe their sign out front - HUGE Breakfast a JOKE”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandman Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Libby
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't believe their sign out front - HUGE Breakfast a JOKE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Room was adequate, but nothing special. Nothing but a bar of soap, no shampoo or lotion. Advertised as a HUGE breakfast, but it was only a couple of pre-fozen waffles & pancakes that you had to heat up, and some orange drink - NOT real orange juice, and some bread for toast. NO meat items or even boiled eggs. All this served in their tiny lobby which measured only about 5' x 8'. No place to sit.
If you're just looking for a quick in & out on the highway, this place has it, but for a few dollars more you could stay at one of the other couple of low-cost chain motels that have a pool and/or hot tub. Good if you have a dog you want to travel with.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBHOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
16
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

AAA rating, and assurance of IMPECCABLY clean rooms brought us to this motel...our room was bare bones, sheets so thin I could see through them and the floor in the bathroom and kitchenette area was filthy... Very disappointing

  • Disliked — the filthy floor and the orange mildewed shower curtain
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanSWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandmanMotel, Owner at Sandman Motel, responded to this review, December 22, 2008
I am the owner of the Sandman Motel and I would like to explain the bad review we received. We had just employed a new maid who had an ulterior motive for working for us. Her motive was to not work at all. We promptly fired her after 2 days of employment, and regained a former employee who is by far the best housekeeper in Libby. I apologize to JeanSWashington and I assure you that was a one night only instance. We do not tolerate rooms that are nothing else but Impeccably Clean.

Thankyou

Shane Hill (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linclon County Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2007

Best staff I have ever encountered and the rooms were very quiet and comfortable. I would recommend this motel to my friends!

  • Liked — The kind front desk managers
  • Disliked — The cable tv
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank musicchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

I am a businessman and I have a crew of workers located in Libby. We move from area to area and we require additional accommodation requirements in the field we are in. Our first night in Libby we stayed at a motel that advertises remodeled rooms. We were absolutely disgusted with the so-called renovated rooms and hot breakfast. The clerk was abrupt and only wanted our money.
We asked around town the next day and was advised by all the restaurants that the only place to stay was the Sandman. We are so thankful to those people. We were more than impressed with The sandman Motel. The rooms are absolutely wonderful. As they advertise, Impeccably Clean. The Management and staff accommodate EVERY need that we require. They really go out of their way to help everyone. Nothing is too much trouble.
I would suggest that any traveler, businessperson, family, or whoever, only ever stay at the Sandman Motel. I know my employees an I will only stay there.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2005

We have stayed in the other Motels in Libby before, but not again. The Sandman Motel has it all. Beautiful rooms, breakfast, amenities, service with a smile. We loved it. And a fantastic price.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

I called 2 weeks ahead of time to make Reservations I was given the impression all was taken care of and my room would be ready when I arrived! I arrived and was told to come back in an hour, no problem, I came back in an hour then I was told another 45 min so Ileft came back then I was told another hour ,left came back then I was told another 20 minutes and that I need to pay a pet deposit and pay for the room! I made the reservations and discussed me having the dog and they said it would all be charged to my credit card yet they never charged anything!! By this time I was very upset! I had been traveling for 16 hours all I wanted was a shower but my room wasnt ready and apperently the payment transaction had never been done!So I endded up not getting a room at this motel! I will never go there again!I belive accurasy is a must in this buisness you tell a customer something then thats the way it should be dont tell the customer what they want to hear then when they show up its all a different story!
very dissapointed customer from Wyoming!

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

Rooms were very clean as advertised, but we were put up in a smoking room after being told by the reservationist when we made the reservation that they had one non-smoking room where they allowed pets. Motel was pet-friendly, but you'll have to stay in a smoking room & the smoke was exceedingly thick in the room we were in. Continental breakfast was terrible: over-ripe fruit & stale muffins. Weak coffee topped off the joke for a continental breakfast. We should have stayed at the Caboose Motel from what I heard from the locals when we ate a real breakfast later that morning at the Libby Cafe. The Libby Cafe is located downtown & while the prices are pretty expensive, the food and service were excellent. Waitresses had a great sense of humor, also. Highly recommend the Huckleberry Pancakes & homemade huckleberry syrup--yum! For sight-seeing, highly suggest stopping east of Libby to see the falls on the Kootenai River. Worth the short hike. At the same stop, the Swinging Bridge built over the river is a longer hike, but the scenery is awesome! Lake Koocanusa, north of Libby, is also beautiful!

Helpful?
2 Thank howler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Libby hotels
0.3 mi away
Venture Inn
Venture Inn
#1 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Country Inn
The Country Inn
#2 of 6 in Libby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#3 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#4 of 6 in Libby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bobtail Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Motel

Property: Sandman Motel
Address: 31901 US Hwy 2, Libby, MT 59923
Location: United States > Montana > Libby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Libby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccably clean rooms AAA approved. New flat screen TVs in every room Our Motel is nestled in the foothills of the majestic Cabinet Mountains as part of the Rocky Mountains. Glacier National Park is only 90 min from The Sandman Motel. Enjoy a huge reduction in room prices compared to the Motels in and around the National Park. We offer New large modern beautifully remodeled rooms. Free high speed internet. Coffee lounge. Free continental breakfast refrigerators & microwaves in all rooms. Plush top Simmons Beauty Rest King and Queen beds. 70 Channels of extended cable TV. Bath tubs with showers. Kids under 10 stay free. Discounted meal vouchers Large grassed secluded picnic area with free barbecues. Fishing, hunting, golfing, ski, adventures arranged. And don't forget our rooms are IMPECCABLY CLEAN that's why we're the Number 1 Voted Motel In Libby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Libby
Sandman Motel Libby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing