We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”

McGinnis Meadows Cattle and Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Libby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fantastic working cattle ranch!
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Location: Located in the north of Montana, near the town of Libby, in some of the most beautiful countryside you'll ever see.

Cabin: The cabins are simple and rustic, but they are so comfortable and have everything you could imagine. They are essentially one room, as most cabins are, but they have a small living area, with a fire to keep you warm on those cold nights. The bed was a good size, and extremely comfortable. The bathroom, although smallish has lots of lovely touches, including bathrobes, soaps etc. There are lots of extras, like personal water bottles, chap sticks and even coffee cups to take home.

Food: Simply amazing. You'll go home a few kilos/pounds heavier that's for sure. The girls in the kitchen were whipping up all sorts of delicious meals. Some of the highlights, pecan pie, french toast, corn bread, biscuits and gravy, and that's not the mention the mains which were to die for. Each night starts with canapes, followed by an 3 course dinner, accompanied by plenty of good wine or beers. In the mornings, you can get the heartiest of starts with seemingly anything you desire. Lunch, you have to make your own, (a sack lunch, brown bag it) I know crazy! haha, but the selections are incredible.

Experience: It's hard to know where to start, I can't compare it to any other holiday I've ever been on. Learning to ride from the very talented Randy was an honour, I never knew you could ride a horse like that. If you haven't heard of Buck Brannaman then you are in for an real treat. The experience of learning to ride, gain skills, driving cattle at graze, and caring for your horse was simply just one of the most incredible experiences we've ever had.

People: It goes without saying that the people really make this holiday the experience it is. They are all amazing at what they do, they will help you become the best wrangler you can, whilst also making the whole time so much fun. To Randy, Dory, Brianna, Wes, Netta, Hal, Tenisha and Rebecca, thank you so much.

We can't recommend this holiday enough.
We would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Fandangledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    5
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost a year on and I want to go again.. :-)”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Come gently into this world... for whatever you think you know or want to know about horses... it takes on a whole new meaning when you come to McGinnis..... Yes, they cater for those of us who want to get away and back to nature, yes they cater for those who want to experience the real feel ranch life....and all the other things that come along with that... but....this is something different... not for everyone I’m sure...but if you want a ‘dances with wolves, 8 seconds, 7 brides for 7 brothers, Oklahoma, cocktail, city slickers, a river runs thro. It, horse whisperer experience.. with all mod (but not intrusive) cons....you’ll get it all it here...... Yes you can lay about and have all your needs catered for, hot tub, great food, staff, accommodation... or you can throw yourself into, jingling the horses and doing ‘the routine ranch stuff’....but bottom line.....if you want to feel the feel with people who just live for their horses and the ranch life they live then this is the place to go......

Leave gently from this wonderful place, leave with the essence of the people who touched your life, thro. the people, the horses you rode, the wonderful scenery, the cattle, the air, sky and camaraderie you’ll find at McGinnis Meadows.....

I spent 2 weeks with the Jackson / Brock family and crew and a year on I’m just itching to go back, to feel that feel, see that sky and get a small share of what these wonderful and humble people experience each day and so willingly and motivationally share with you....

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank NSMS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Might be the best VACATION ever”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I planned this trip for my 40th birthday, and it could not have been any better. It is a great chance to "dis-connect" from your cell phone and computer and really enjoy your vacation. Randy, Dori, and all the wranglers really made it a wonderful week. The other guest that were there that week were so much fun, it was like going to camp! Lots of riding and wrangling. Thanks McGinnis for a great Birthday. We will be back

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you and the finest riding available”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have been coming here for the last 9 years and the ranch just gets better. A must for green or experienced horseman and cowboys. Call Dori now for a trip of a lifetime in the mountains of Montana.

Helpful?
1 Thank pandpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everyone should go at least once”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

An ideal vacation for people that love a countryside retreat, and if you love horses too, then you are in for a real treat.

But if you go expecting a theme park like City-Slickers you'll be disappointed.

This is a real working cattle ranch where the Cattle, Horses, Guests and Ranch Hands are all treated the same (The owners have been known to drop in for dinner too).

You can do as much or as little as you want, from relaxing in the amazing cabins, spending days rounding up and driving cattle or learning horsemanship in the Buck Brannaman style with some amazing teachers. Don't be put off if the cowgirls seem on the small side, I've seen them wrestle cattle.

They are in a remote mountain location, so are ideal to spend a week or two away from all the modern distractions of life, but the cabins and lodge are some of the best I've seen anywhere.

There is much more I could share about the area as its an ideal location for all manner of out door activities.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Jphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinnis Meadows Cattle and Guest Ranch also viewed

 

Been to McGinnis Meadows Cattle and Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing