We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Brewing Company

Tamarack Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamarack is nestled beneath the Rocky and Mission Mountains in Lakeside, Montana, near the shores of beautiful Flathead Lake. High ceilings, fascinating architectural details and a warm ambience help make The 'Rack the best spot in the Flathead Valley to relax with great food and handcrafted ales. The creek side patio is the perfect place to hang out and enjoy the outdoors with friends and family. Tamarack is proud to be a casual brew pub where people can enjoy simple yet wonderful pub fare and ales in an unassuming and friendly atmosphere.Join us at The Rack… we look forward to meeting you!
Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

There food is usually very good, but the quality is not consistent. For every four times we go, the food is not good...and we pretty much order the same thing so it has nothing to do with what we order. The atmospher is okay; but always feel cold. Avoid the upstairs unless you want to feel like you're eating in a cafeteria.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    118
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Tamarack in Lakeside is our favorite spot on Sunday afternoons. 3-5 pm is happy hour and the beer is just $3 a pint. The food and service are top notch. We always start out with a side of fries. When the weather improves we love sitting outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staying in Whitefish and overheard the desk clerk at the motel talking about how great a place this was. Upon further questioning, I decided to take her up on her recommendation and made the drive. It was a bit of a drive, it was worth every bit of it. I was NOT disappointed. The best Burger I have had in a long time. The service was quick and friendly. I tried a few of the beers and ended up taking home a Growler of Yard Sale Ale. When I am in the area again, I will be back. No doubt about that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best pastrami sandwich.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped here for a beer and lunch. The wings app came with a big pile of fries. Both were very good. Wings juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Cajun shrimp app was great. Whenever I go out, if there is a pastrami Sammy on the menu, I order it. This was the best one yet. I'll be back.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Th55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our family went to the Tamarack Brewing Company (about 20 minutes south of Kalispell) on a Friday evening in February. There was a waiting line but we only had to wait about 15 minutes. The ambience was good and it was definitely a local favourite. The food was typical pub fare but was very tasty and the portions provided were large with very reasonable prices. The server was very friendly, helpful and attentive. They make their own beer and there were some good varieties although some better than others. I particularly enjoyed the Old Stache (strong full bodied stout) which is a special brew in honor of the founder's birthday (Lanny McDonald - former captain of the Calgary Flames). I strongly recommend giving this establishment a try. You won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GKESCALGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing