We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Okay hotel with good service at reservation desk. Location is central which provides good access to restaurants and amenities in the area. Its a bit noisy being on some main routes and the decor is dated 1970ish. Breakfast was provided and was good for a family vacation. The pool area was in good shape and clean. For the money there are some other options to consider.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank blueandcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review and we value your opinion with an overall satisfied experience. Please know that during the summer the Flathead Valley is a high traffic destination hot spot with Glacier National Park being so close and over 2 million visitors yearly. Keep in mind that although rates do increase for everyone here in the valley, there are always great deals and packages that can be found year round on our website.

Once again thank you for your review and if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us directly anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 625 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for a quick night on a business trip Sept of 2012. Very clean. Quick check in. The breakfast goes far beyond a regular continental breakfast with cook to order omelets, potatoes, bacon, sausage ect. I will very much consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWyoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

A wise person once said “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” and we took that to heart here, starting all of our guests’ morning off right with the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet and its unique made-to-order omelet station.

Thank you for allowing us to be such an important part of your day, as we all know how important a good nights sleep can be whether on business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to Kalispell for a medical treatment and we stayed at the Red Lion Hotel, The staff was extraordinary in the level of service that they provided to us. I was unable to drive after my procedure and the hotel shuttle provided transportation for my wife and me. The driver even stopped at a local pharmacy so I could pick up my prescriptions.

If the service given to us by the staff wasn't enough the room itself was very nice, probably one of the most comfortable beds I have ever used. There was also a very nice breakfast buffet that included made to order omelets!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ampmmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I took our two adult children and spouses on a motorcycle ride to Glacier Park. We stayed at the Red LIon because we had difficulty finding room availability when scheduling our trip. Even though this hotel was extremely expensive, over $800 for 2 rooms, 2 nights, we had little choice. We were given the end rooms in the hallway next to their event center, which had a wedding scheduled that weekend. We did not know this until we had settled and stayed one night. We had a horrible night with the noise. My kids slept with ear phones in and their air conditioner on high. I went to the desk to ask how late the wedding was scheduled to go, and was told "when they're done." I was then told around 10:30 or 11pm. It was well after 11 when I finally called the front desk to see how late it would continue. Wedding attenders were standing in the hallway talking, walking back and forth, the music was overwhelming, etc. Again, an unsatisfactory response from the front desk was received. The next morning, went to the desk to ask to talk to a manager, mostly about why were we placed in that location and why was the desk personnel was disrespectful. Apparently the manager was unavailable but we were told he would contact us right away. We did not ask for a refund, but a refund was mentioned by the clerk. No contact was received. A survey was given to us a few days after we got home. Filled it out and complained again, a canned note was received that we would be contacted right away. No contact. Wrote to the customer service person who sent the note (probably not a real person) and received no response. Wrote to the company who sent the survery, no response. All we wanted was an apology and maybe an explanation as to customer placement. No one has give us the time of day. Do not stay here if you want a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank har908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Tracked down the survey that was sent to our corporation and personally called the guest so that we could address the concerns that occurred during their previous visit.

After having spoken to the gentleman about the concerns occurred on the 2nd night of their stay (as he stated the 1st night was great) we agreed to an arrangement to have the family back for another visit. This time around I assured him that they will experience our great customer service which we are known for not only on a local level, but a back-to-back award winning corporate level also! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When looking for a hotel in Kalispell, I became very discouraged with so many negative posts of most of the places. I finally decided on here as price was in between although a little more expensive. We have stayed at similar places for less but one must remember this is August and Kalispell is so close to Glacier. We did not experience any of the negative things posted. We had no problem getting our luggage to our very generously sized room. The room was nicely furnished and looked freshly painted. It had a small fridge, microwave and coffee service. Bed was comfortable with a nice assortment of pillows. We never found the safe even though there was a sign on the door stating there was one. Location is good as it is right downtown as well as being attached to a mall. We found that on Thursdays during the summer there is a one block street fair which was only a few blocks from the hotel. The staff was okay for the most part but not overly friendly and the one woman seemed frustrated that she had to answer some questions for me. The pool area looked very clean and was being enjoyed by adults and children. Can't say enough good about the breakfast due to the gentleman preparing omelets per your request and he had such a wide assortment of items to choose from. Lots of items to compliement the omelets. We did have problems with the elevators working correctly but am assuming that was fixed as we did tell them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMASpokane_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for giving us an opportunity during your visit to the area and having an open mind as to how your stay would be.

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the amenities and events that our hotel and the city has to offer. For future reference on the safe deposit boxes (addressed both in the guest directory and also on the room door) we do offer those free of charge down at the Front Desk in two different sizes.

I sincerely apologize about the impression of the Front Desk woman as we normally strive to maintain a high level of customer service. With this drive and passion of customer service (not only at our location but all Red Lion Hotels) the Red Lion Hotels Corporation has been able to achieve back-to-back awards for service, which is quiet the achievement in our competitive market.

Once again thank you for not allowing the voice of some speak for the voice of many. It is the unheard voice of the masses that have enjoyed staying with us that makes this job so enjoyable for all our employees! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were shocked how high the prices of hotels have become in Kalispell. I guess they know that Canadians want to stay and decide to wring every last penny out of us. This hotel is very convenient as it is located centrally and is attached to a shopping centre.
Our room was very clean, and as we had our one-year-old with us I inspected the carpet in fear of him finding something first. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were really small, but they give you four instead of two, so I guess that makes it better?!?
The view we had was of a parking lot and train tracks, not great but it was quiet. There are rooms with a view of the central garden they have which would've been nicer, but as it was we didn't spend much time gazing out the window. My only complaint was that the shower head was really low, I think a lot of hobbits must be in the hotel design business as I've run into this a lot in hotels. I'm 5'9" but I find a lot of showers too short, but if you're tall and only care about your lower back getting clean, this is the shower for you.
Other travellers have commented on the breakfast buffet, I personally thought it was great. There were many things to choose from and there are not many places that offer a free breakfast that includes hot items like bacon, sausage, pancakes, and potatoes least of all an omelette station.
The TV could use an upgrade, ours was an 80's model box tv with a crappy picture and finicky remote. Also, it would've been nice to be warned that the smoke detector is very sensitive to hot steamy air and is located next to the bathroom door, so if you have a hot shower you'll set it off and holy crap is it loud!
The pool was large and deep, a little cold for a 'heated' pool but nice. Very few hotel pools are 8' deep so it was nice to have a proper swim. The spa/hot tub was tiny, only good for 2 people unless you enjoy cuddling strangers.
All in all it's a nice, clean, quiet hotel that just needs a few upgrades to warrant the price you currently pay. If they upgrade things, worth it, but currently I think rooms should be $50 to $80 less. Be aware that even though Montana is a tax free state there are taxes on the room, so if it says $159 the total will be around $190.

Room Tip: Do not get a first floor room, we were on the 3rd and it was super quiet but there are only two elev...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 20 in Kalispell
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites And Outlaw Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 N Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4080
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range: $76 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing