We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and dingy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dark and dingy”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were on our way to Glacier National Park and decided to stay at this hotel based on various reviews. Ick. It was dark and dingy and appeared very old, like a hotel from the 70's. It was attached to a small mall which was nice. Nothing else was open at night around here. It would be much nicer to have stayed slightly out of town near all newer restaurants and stores and new mall which we found later when looking for a restaurant - this place was depressing and a disappointment, and overpriced. Lots of old people were there and seemed to enjoy it. There was a courtyard with a fire pit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    185
    79
    43
    30
See reviews for
211
190
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel is in such a GREAT location, located attached to the mall...PERFECT for a girls shopping getaway. A few of us girls stayed here for a shopping weekend, and I am glad we chose this hotel as it was the best choice. The pillows were soooooo fluffy not stiff like some other hotels.Well located, very clean & affordable and the morning breakfast was SOOOOOO GOOD...and lots of selection both hot & food. I will definitely stay here again in the future and recommend to others..OHHH and there is a really cool little peanut bar close by across the street called Mooses Saloon...cheap HOT pizza & good too, cheap beer & wine, was a great time!!! Perfect for after a long day! (-:

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My family thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Red Lion Kalispell. Great location, super service, wonderful breakfast, friendly staff. Wedding arrangements very professional, terrific food and service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for allowing us to be help create these great memories and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while attending the wedding event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I traveled from Seattle to Kalispell for a wedding the weekend of November 16th. The food was outstanding and the accomodations were great. We had a very spacious room, wedding room looked beautiful, staff was friendly and quick. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We saw the arrangements for the wedding and it was truly beautiful, thank you for allowing us to be part of a memory that will last forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Next time we will get connecting rooms but otherwise it was great .It was nice to be at the mall, less driving and no parking worries.The men could relax and the women could shop!Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Our adjoining rooms are great for travelers that rent two rooms and want that option of opening doors between both rooms. Next time you reserve rooms please place those requests while reserving and we will accommodate those to the best of our ability, thank you for your business and we’ll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights this past weekend and overall we are highly satisfied with our stay. The hotel is in a great location for everyone. Walking distance to grocery store, mooses and lots of little shops. Rooms was super big with a nice living room area as well. Nice hot tub and courtyard and breakfast was great with tons to eat. will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
I take great pride in seeing that we were able to assist you in enjoying your extended Canadian Thanksgiving weekend, as it sounds that like you got to enjoy Kalispell the way it was made to be…….Always remember our town is your home away from home! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Great location (downtown and attached to a mall anchored by 2 department stores (Herbergers and JC Penny), lovely outdoor landscaped courtyard with hot tub and fire pit, and an excellent hot breakfast buffet (doesn't get much better than custom-made omelettes by the chef)! Room was clean, quiet and comfortable - as well as had great reading lighting (finally, a hotel that GETS the fact that guests like to read!), in-room fridge/coffee maker (including quality Stash brand tea) with staff who were all friendly and helpful. Our only regret - we had just one night there!

Room Tip: For the quietest room, request a room away from the interior courtyard's hot tub and fire pit ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
I’m very impressed to see that there are still book readers out there; we’re a dying breed now-a-days! Lol
I am happy to hear that we were allowed to host you for one day and from the sounds of it you made the most of that 24hrs, in the future keep us in mind and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
962 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
0.1 mi away
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kalispell
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Address: 20 N Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4080
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing