We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

After reading all the bad reviews about the Red Lion, we did not want to book a two night stay here, but all the other hotels in the area were booked. This hotel happily surprised us!!!! The rooms were huge and very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The hotel staff was very nice and happily answered any questions that we had. It is in a great location with many local restaurants within one to two blocks walking blocks. The outside atrium is a very nice touch and it was wonderful to sit out by the fireplace enjoying a cocktail and good conversation.. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmithColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

It is a pleasure to see that your stay with us was a positive and memorable one. Know that although we have some bad reviews on here it is the silence of hundreds of pleased guests that go unheard; we thank you for being one that spoke up and represented one of our many positive experiences in the hospitality industry. Thank you and we look forward to providing you with another great experience on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 625 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nice surprise, the bed was so comfortable with lots of pillows. Very friendly staff and clean rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking this opportunity to help inform your fellow travelers of your pleasant experience while visiting us on your trip here in the beautiful Flathead Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A convenient hotel right in town near stores and restaurants. 35 minutes to Glacier. Great breakfast - even an omelette chef that did a great job. Safe neighborhood. Recommendable for families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

It’s great to hear the input from a family perspective as we pride our selves here in Kalispell for our family friendly oriented community. All the businesses here in the historic downtown Kalispell area hold ourselves to a high customer service level and we thank you for noticing our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at The Red Lion Hotel for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we had a problem with our air conditioner and reported it to the front desk they had a maintenance man come to our room within minutes. When he couldn't repair it we were given a whole new unit. They also left us two packages of seasoned mixed nuts for our trouble!
The breakfast was very good an even had anomelet station!
All in all a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

It’s our goal here at the hotel to hold our entire team to the high standards that our corporation has set for all of our properties and we are glad to hear that it was met. We thank you for recognizing our efforts to be able to assist all our guests in an always changing environment and remain a top hotel in a competitive market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion Hotel on two separate nights our flight landing and when we departed from Kalispell Airport. The first visit all rooms were booked since we had a late flight in, so they had to put us in a handicap room behind the registration desk. You would think during the night the staff would be quiet and respectful of the guests sleeping behind there desk but no, we heard them talking loudly all night banged on the wall at 5am so loud I jumped out of bed. I was reluctant to stay at the hotel again but it we had already paid in advance. The second stay we booked a King Bed room and they had no such rooms available, hotel booked again. The one room they sent us to smelled of cigarette smoke which is not allowed (dont understand why people do this when it is a non smoking hotel) the second room never cooled down and we were exhausted from being at Glacier Park all week so we just fell asleep in the heat. The hotel is quite a distance from the airport. We will probably stay in Whitefish which is closer next time. The breakfast was just horrible powdered eggs, powerded OJ, cold sausage best to stick with the oatmeal or cereal. Sure it is nice it is included but your better off to visit a local country diner and have a healthy breakfast instead. Elevators are at the back of the hotel not the front so you have to take your luggage all the way to the back of the hotel and walk all the way up front for higher level rooms. Kind of a pain.

Room Tip: Either book a room directly with the Red Lion or Hot Wire to get your guaranteed room you want
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

I regret that you experienced noise issues during your stay and know that a concern of this nature will be addressed with my staff. Please note that Kalispell & Whitefish are both approximately 8-9 miles away from the Glacier International Airport which is a short 15 minute shuttle, which we provide complimentary shuttle services to & from. With the elevators they are strategically places on each side of the hotel, one being on the North side of the hotel & the other on the South side of our full non-smoking environment. Thank you for addressing these issues with us, in addition I would like to extend a special experience on your next visit to Flathead Valley and allow us to give you the comfortable stay that we are known for. If you would like to take advantage of this offer please contact me via email at jason.tietema@redlion.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed at Red Lion Hotel in early August for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. A full breakfast was included with the stay, the pool was open from 7 am to 11 pm, the beds were comfortable, rooms clean and the hotel's lobby and common areas offered lots of opportunity to relax, including comfortable leather chairs and outside seating near the fire pit. Checking in and out was a breeze.

On the downside, my room faced the parking lot and beyond that was a loud, busy main street. The staff provided average service but nothing above
average. And it seemed they may have been short staffed. I seemed to wait and wait and wait for assistance whenever I stopped at the front desk.

I'd definitely stay here again but I'd request a room facing the courtyard in hopes of a bit more quiet from outside.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathleenhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Thank you for taking this opportunity to paint a picture for all our fellow travelers on your visit to the hotel. Please know that we are always addressing ways to improve our services to best help guests such as your self to enjoy their stay with us. For future reservations address any requests at time of booking and we will do our best to meet your needs upon check-in and know that we are always here for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

the night staff give you a good price on the hotel. the morning staff double it, and say no that was not right. not going back to this overpriced cheep built hotel, with cunning morning staff

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTietema, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

I do regret any confusion on the rates during your stay, as all our staff (day or night) should be quoting and fulfilling the same rates from which we all work off of. If you would like to discuss this or any future rates, please contact me directly at jason.tietema@redlion.com and I would love to assist you in ensuring you enjoy your visit to the Flathead Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 20 in Kalispell
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites And Outlaw Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 N Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4080
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range: $76 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing