We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must love dogs, gourmet food and spectacular views.”
Review of The Garrison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garrison Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Hartford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must love dogs, gourmet food and spectacular views.”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Garrison Inn is a little out of the way, but it's worth the trip. Sitting high a top a hill, the views from the back deck are stunning. Hosts Gene and Anne Marie and their son Gray made us feel like family right away. The dogs, Ebony & Sitka, are friendly as well. I almost cried when we left I'd become so attached to the dogs. Gene is a professional chef so the food is outstanding. You have the option to order dinner as well. I would highly recommend it! To work off the meals we hiked to nearby Ashley Lake. The lake is beautiful. The inn is small and very personal and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. Also, Gene makes the best huckleberry jam you can purchase.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timeoutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Garrison's were smiling at the door when we arrived tired and too late from delays in the airports. The log house is large, warm, very clean and they couldn't be nicer. We relaxed under the stars on the deck long after our hosts retired and we found the beds very comfy with a cross breeze bringing in the fresh mountain air.

Morning coffee was waiting when we stumbled to the gourmet kitchen and our accomplished chef/host served an absolutely 5 star breakfast.

Its a little out of the way.....but sharing stories and giving us great tips for scenic secrets made this a perfect resting place to discover the Flathead Valley on the way to Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouringTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Garrison Inn is a wonderful log home specially equipped for those who enjoy B&B stays. With three large and clean rooms, each with its own fantastic view and comfortable bed, guests are treated with all the comforts of a fine resort.

Located south and west of the town of Kalispell, the Garrison Inn is about 7 miles off the main road with perhaps 2 miles of that a dirt road, a bit of a washboard at times. The drive is worth it however, as the 26 acre property is situated to overlook the Flathead Valley and the town of Kalispell. With Glacier National Park to the North, the daytime mountain views are stupendous and with the town of Kalispell in the valley below, night time views can be very romantic.

The owner/chef welcomed us with wine and cheese to start our visit and since it was a long drive into town offered us dinner at the Inn. As a trained chef, he proffered a competitively priced menu of ten items including starters, soups, salads, entrees and desserts, all reasonably priced. And his training showed both in the dinner time service but in the freshness and quality of the food. It was great. The morning breakfast was equally as tasty as again our professionally trained host/chef offered us a breakfast menu ranging from custom omelets to stuffed french toast and 8 or 9 other equally tempting items.

The view, food, service and atmosphere of a very fine log home makes this B&B one of the better accommodations we have had in our many years of staying at B&Bs.

But like many places, there are some things that a visitor should know. They have dogs that are friendly and big. Even if you are a dog lover, you might ask your host to put them outside as only a little encouragement from you produces lots of attention from them. The host and hostess are interesting and have many stories to tell with regard to their life stories. A little encouragement can get you many stories. If you need or want time alone, just ask as they are gracious hosts that will respect your wishes.

Overall this is an excellent place that we recommend highly. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingCOuple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The Flathead Valley is made of 3 larger towns plus a smattering of smaller towns. The Garrison Inn sits in the hills overlooking the valley. Breathtaking views of Kalispell, the Glacier Mountains and the surrounding region, this Inn is nestled into the thick trees of a hillside. Innkeepers Gene and Anne Marie are incredibly welcoming and customize each guest's stay to make it ideal for them. Breakfast is not only served when you want it, but they give you plenty of options. Each meal is made to order! Dinners (optional) are divine. Sit by the fire and read a book or head downstairs to play pool. We woke up on two different mornings extra early to enjoy the sunrise over the mountains - spectacular! This small B&B (3 guest rooms) made for a really wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoMiSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This B&B is a little out of the way, and the washboard road makes one think they have taken a wrong turn, but then there's the sign and the turn in to the driveway. The Garrison's were not home as we arrived early, but were greeted by the welcoming committee of Ebony and Sitka, the Family dogs. Large but very friendly. When we called as directed by a message at the door, we were told by Gene to make ourselves at home, and he would be home in about 45 minutes. We sat out on the deck overlooking the mountains and the view was breathtaking and we marveled at the serenity. Gene, Anne Marie, and their young son Gray, were wounderful hosts. If you stay with the Garrison's, be sure to have Gray show you his card trick. We stayed in the Victoria Room, and we had the "Million Dollar" view out our window. We were looking directly East at the Mountains, and each morning at sunrise, the sky would get blood-red right before the sun broke the horizon. It was worth waking up at 5:30. Gene does a very good job with the meals, and Anne Marie is a delight to sit and visit with. Good choice for our 3 night stay in the Kalispell area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jake4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

If you are looking for a family-friendly B&B in the Flathead Valley that provides a home atmosphere, great food and an outstanding view, then the Garrison Inn is the place for you. We stayed with Gene and his family on the first night of our Montana visit, and we were very satisfied.

Built from large Englemann Spruce logs, their 4,500 sq. ft. lodge is located on a knife-edged ridge with an incredible view of Glacier National Park to the east. The view alone is worth the stay! Gene has a telescope in the living room that provides a beautiful view of Mt. Jackson and the mountains in the park. Simply amazing!

After a good night’s rest, you can look forward to one of Gene’s gourmet breakfasts. He is a professional chef, and his made-to-order breakfasts are outstanding. You can choose from stuffed french toast, Belgian waffles, buckwheat pancakes and omelets served with coffee/tea, bacon, sausage or ham and hash browns. The meal is topped off with fresh orange juice and handmade jam. What a treat!

The only negative I could mention is the drive to the lodge (part of which is very dusty), but the view and family atmosphere far outweigh the small logistical challenge. Overall, the Garrison is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great view of mountains
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank John327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
959 reviews
8.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#8 of 20 in Kalispell
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
9.5 mi away
Greenwood Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison Inn

Property: The Garrison Inn
Address: 2235 Ashley Lake Rd, Kalispell, MT 59901-8157
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrison Inn, a Montana Bed & Breakfast, is located 20 minutes from Kalispell, Montana and 2 miles before scenic Ashley Lake with Glacier International Airport close by. We offer views of Glacier National Park, the Swan Mountain Range, the valley floor and the town of Kalispell. The area is very diverse with something for everyone including hiking, sight-seeing, fishing, boating, skiing, horseback riding, golfing, hot air ballooning, white water rafting and many great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Garrison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing