We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Downtown historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Charming atmosphere in this downtown historic hotel. The service was tremendous with better than the chains continental breakfasts and warm cookies and popcorn in the afternoons. The rooms are small, but comfortable. Nice downtown location with free parking. No pool, so maybe not the best choice if traveling with kids. The best part was when we checked in and mentioned we were in town for a wedding they lowered the price which was already inline with Hampton and other reputable chain hotels in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    131
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
93
218
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Historical always wins over a chain, as long as it is convenient to restaurants or sites that we want to visit. The Kalispell Grand Hotel wins hands down over other choices in Kalispell. It is in the heart of the historical district which is lovely to walk around after dinner.

The lobby area is full of antiques and artwork. A beautiful wide staircase leads upstairs although you will probably want to use the small elevator when transporting your bags to your room. There is a rolling luggage cart to use if you need one, just ask at the front desk. A loading/unloading zone by the front door is handy also. After we were efficiently checked in, Lana offered us popcorn and freshly baked cookies-- yes, please! An assortment of teas were also available. This is also where breakfast is served in the morning. A lovely arrangement of quick breads, cereal, and portioned casseroles are ready for you to enjoy along with your coffee. There are pub tables around the corner of the front desk, but you could sit on the sofas by the front door too if you choose.

Our room was spare compared to the ornate lobby, but in a good way. Clean white linens on the bed, a desk area, and a clean bathroom with all the necessities in it-- not a lot of walking around space but it was spacious enough to not feel cramped. There were night stands and reading lights on both sides of the bed which is very welcome.

Our only minor complaint is the lack of in-room coffee, but the lobby isn't that far away, and the more than adequate breakfast makes up for it.

We spent only one night, but it would be a pleasure to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SapphireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Another historic 'railroad' hotel that is clean, affordable, and unique near Glacier National Park. We enjoyed the "continental" breakfast as much or more than some of the park lodges that charged 15 bucks per person for breakfast. The beds were plush, maybe even a little soft, but comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. They DO have an elevator...small but functional. I would stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChixSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel has a great historic stair case, great service and well worth the value to stay. Although you have to park out back, there is a 15 minute loading and unloading area right off the street. They provide popcorn and cookies in the afternoon and a nice continental breakfast that is unique. The room was clean and comfortable, room air conditioner kept it cool. No frills here but clean and comfortable and a great value, I will stay again in Kalispell.

Room Tip: my third floor room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is historic, but clean and quaint. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. The continental breakfast has more selections than most. Very affordable too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrillGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were there this summer - 2014 - and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Close to Glacier National Park, Conrad Mansion and Bigfork. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: A room on the main street might be noisy for some. The A/C blocked out noise for us so it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very historic hotel, we were here on the eve of 4th of July. Very comfortable stay, they have several options for rooms we asked for their most economical which was very comfortable for the size. They offered continental breakfast - but unfortunately missed it as it only goes until 10 am, and we didn't realize. Very central location - we would have liked to stay for the following day as they had much planned for the 4th of Jul celebration.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbs135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#7 of 21 in Kalispell
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#4 of 21 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Property: The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing