We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat little hotel that I will return to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I took my wife on a business trip to Kalispell and we decided to stay 2 days at the Grand Hotel based on reviews at TA. Everything said about this hotel is true; great small rooms, good breakfast (no plastic eggs), friendly helpful staff, beautiful restoration of the property and good bedding. Much better than the chain hotels and the price is even better. I will return again this spring!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george29938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for The Kalispell Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love old buildings that have character, and independent accommodations rather than chain hotels, so the Grand was a natural choice for us in Kalispell. We were not disappointed! We thought the Grand was beautiful from the outside, an early-1900s brick building with lots of period features and which looked very well maintained. Check-in was very convenient, despite the fact that the hotel is located on the main street of Kalispell, as there is a short-stay parking stall right outside the lobby where we could park for a few minutes while getting keys. The lady at the desk was very nice and helpful, and gave us a parking pass so that we could park for free in the paid lot right behind the hotel. She also gave us great recommendations on where would be a vegetarian-friendly place to eat that evening. There was a table with coffee, cookies and popcorn in the lobby for guests, which was a nice touch! Our room was quite simple (we asked for the least expensive option), but was very clean, cozy and was very tastefully decorated in a style that complemented the historic nature of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and everything about the room worked well for us. There was a continental breakfast laid out in the gorgeous lobby, with great coffee (tea was available as well), cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, scones and cakes. We ate our breakfast at one of the tables in the lobby, where we enjoyed the beautiful decor and all the period pieces (including a very old and very stunning cash register). Overall, we would highly recommend the Kalispell Grand, especially for those who prefer independent hotels with character over chains. The Kalispell Grand a beautiful and quality hotel right on Main Street in the hub of Kalispell, with lots of good restaurants and cafes just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank microbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We heard on this hotel from other hikers we met on our way. When we arrived to Kalispell, at first looked we were dissapointed since the building is not very impressive from the outside (or better say looks pretty old). We decided to check the rooms anyway and it was a lovely surprise.
For a great rate we received a boutique hotel room. Very refreshing and different than all other well known names you meed along the roads.
Rooms were cozy, very clean and comfortable. Service was kind and helpful.
Definitely one of the better hotels.

Room Tip: The one queen bed room is indeed a smaller room but we decided ti take it not only for the cheapr pr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Could not have made our trip any nicer than the staff here did. Stayed 4 nights , would have liked to have stayed more. Room was small but exactly what we expected . Comfortable bed . Good breakfast . Way better than some chain hotel . Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to this part of Montana , STAY HERE . You won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcks413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor for helping us find this gem. Beautiful lobby, well furnished room, good service, great breakfast. And a brew pub right across the street. We loved this old yet wonderfully refurbished hotel.

Room Tip: might want to try the 3rd floor. Our 2nd floor room suffered from squeaky floors above us and plent...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Based on the description, my husband and I were looking forward to our stay here as we passed through Kalispell. We were somewhat disappointed. The arrival process is confusing and requires a stop in the lobby before one can park -- the hotel would be wise to advise guests of how this works when reservations are made. Our room was small and cramped with too much furniture, though the linens were very nice. The location is good -- right in town, and the continental breakfast was nice. The morning desk clerk was far more helpful and welcoming than the one on duty when we arrived the afternoon before. Curiously, we met the owner in the lobby during breakfast. He introduced himself as the owner but never inquired about our stay. We thought that was pretty odd. In any case, a nice enough place but not as "grand" as we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff was friendly, room was clean, bed was comfy, and breakfast was amazing! It is located in downtown Kalispell, so it is walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants. Will stay here again when we're in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funshineRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalispell
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
996 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#9 of 20 in Kalispell
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
13.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing