We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review on Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The cookies made every day and the continental breakfast was a very nice touch.
I would like to make some suggestions. The entry way into the lobby needs to be built up some. Alot of people don't realize that there is a difference from the outside on the side walk by the building and the inside of the lobby and people have triped. Maybe there can be a small incline made of cement or black top. That would be very helpful.
Also I would like to suggest that the beds in the rooms have a fitted mattress pad instead of one that moves around when you try to sleep. That would be more comfortable.
Other than that overall it was very nice and the employees went out of their way. I will stay at this hotel again when I am in Kalispell. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank laadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 480 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed for only one night while traveling from Glacier National Park which was only a half hour or so away. Hotel is downtown, but still very little to do or see in that area. Ok for the price which was about $96 a night for a king w private bath.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Historic building. Rooms okay. Can be noisy near front of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We spent 4 days here in March and loved this place from the start. It's an old historic hotel and but the rooms are clean, our beds were great, and small but nice bathrooms. Our rooms were not huge, but comfortable and attractive. The desk staff are young college students that are very friendly and helpful. The noise that other's mentioned we also heard as our rooms were on the side street across from the building where there were bands playing on the weekend. We heard some cars, trucks and yelling a few times but it couldn't compete with our sleep. Breakfast was good continental. Bagels, even whole wheat, along with yogurt, cereal, peanut butter, etc. Coffee and tea are always available along with afternoon cookies. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. And a must is the Knead Cafe a block away....we ate there as often as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

While we usually stay somewhere in BigFork when we visit Flathead Valley, this trip we had things we had to do near Columbia Falls, Whitefish and Lakeside.

So, we decided on a more central starting point. The Kalispell Grand Hotel was a perfect location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the hotel rate was reasonable and their breakfast was really good every morning-sitting in the lobby with other guests having coffee and pastries.

The only minor negatives was a lack of closet space in our room and since it was on the front of the hotel there was some weekend evening road noise (and hootin' and hollerin'!).

We really liked the hotel and definitely stay there again on future trips to Kalispell.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

just stayed 3 nights had great time. the grand has lots of atmosphere but it also has comfort cleanliness a friendly staff very good breakfast included and an easy in and out location.
there are no mountain views from here but if you plan to stay in kalispell you won't go wrong at the grand.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tang&tonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed in the Kalispell Grand Hotel in mid August on our way to Glacier National Park. While you can still tell that is is an historic building they have really renovated it well. With just a few compromises for structure (ie no closet in the room but a bar for hanging clothes in an alcove). You can tell that the bathroom has been added but it is not too small. We stayed in a Grand King room and were glad we opted for a little more room. At only $5 more per night, it was a deal.
Downtown Kalispell was certainly quiet. We were there around 5pm on a Saturday, which is when everything closed. We didn't get to venture into what looked like some interesting shops. This seems like it is only a tourist destination Monday to Friday. We had pizza at Moose's Saloon down the street as it was recommended by a friend. At first we didn't think it was open but when we opened the door it was full of people...but dark and a little intimidating. We were glad we went in...pizza was great. The ground sausage covered the whole pie and the beer was COLD! They only take cash and there is no table service. Mostly locals so you know it's good.

2  Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#8 of 20 in Kalispell
657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing