We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was a little hesitant to book here, but I trust the TripAdvisor reviews, so I booked. People weren't kidding, this place is great! We've been going down to Kalispell for years, and never knew this hotel existed -- now we will stay here every year. The rooms are a "bit' small, but has everything you need. The beds are the most comfortable I've stayed in in a long time, with blankets that are very soft (duvets). Very friendly staff -and the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon was a hit with me! The TV's could use updating, but really didn't use it much anyway. Everything was super clean and I can't say enough good stuff about this place. Big huge stairwells and antiques on the main floor was good to look around at. Lots of parking in the rear, and lots of restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: No views from any of the rooms, but not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattheheck13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    141
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
101
237
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our room at the Grand Hotel. Though we weren't totally enchanted with Kalispell itself, the hotel was very nice and the staff helpful and friendly. We ate at an Italian restaurant conveniently attached to the hotel, and our meal was very good as well. The room was clean, modern and very quiet. The bed felt new and was quite comfortable. If we return to Kalispell, I would stay again at the Grand Hotel. I doubt that we will, though, as we found Whitefish to be much more attractive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Kalispell Grand at least once a summer for the past 4 years. It has quite a history! The freshly baked pastries and breakfast selections put other hotels to shame. Be prepared, the rooms are quite small and most do not have a view of anything. But you are not in this beautiful part of Montana to stay in your room! Rooms are clean and front desk is always helpful and accommodating, even when you have a 4:30 a.m. departure they have the fresh hot coffee and goodies out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadwithmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everyone else has said it best. Centrally located in Kalispell near restaurants, ice cream parlors and shops. It is reasonably priced with continental breakfast included. Our room was cozy, but had everything we needed. A great location for day trip to Glacier National Park, Whitefish and Flathead Lake. We were here to play golf and there are several in the area. Te staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is definitely old but has all the modern amenities. We had a great stay! It's great being within walking distance of so many great restaurants! You gotta love the antique atmosphere however, if you don't this might not be the place for you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank convred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kalispell Grand Hotel for 2 days in July at the start of a trip to Glacier National Park. The hotel is a very historic property in town and has been nicely restored. It is located right on Main Street downtown, with many restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance. Parking is in a public lot behind the hotel and we were given a pass so we did not have to pay for it. The rooms were a bit small though very adequate and clean. There was a window air conditioner though we found that things cooled down enough at night that we could leave the window open and get a nice breeze without having to run the air conditioner. They had fresh baked cookies and popcorn in the lobby in the afternoon and evening, along with coffee and tea. The continental breakfast was good and included cereal, fruit, yogurt, home baked breads and coffee cake, along with a quiche you could heat up in the lobby microwave. It was more than adequate to fill us up for our hikes. The wireless access worked well and the staff was very friendly. We had one minor issue with our bathroom sink being a bit plugged when we checked in. We mentioned it to the front desk and it was quickly taken care of. This hotel was a pleasant change from the big hotel chains and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to experience historic Kalispell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Big rooms, top notch Wi-Fi, lovely lobby, excellent parking, fresh cookies during the day, and a breakfast that puts other continental breakfasts to shame. More good things to say, comfortable bed, quiet AC, all this with a price that won't break the bank. It's close to the best restaurants in Kalispell, close to the roads you need to get to other attractions. We had a room next to the side street and it was a little noisy until about 10 but we were tired enough after playing tourist all day that it did not bother us. A wonderful hotel that evokes the early days but doesn't forget that this is the 21st century. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
973 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#9 of 20 in Kalispell
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Property: The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing