We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better and more fun than any chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better and more fun than any chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and had a ball. 4 adults, 1 child, we had the run of the town and a safe comfy spot to come home to. The rest of the family lives in Kalispell, so when they wanted to find us, we were in the center of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora6760786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    130
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
211
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The historic Kalispell Grand Hotel is truly grand, so we definately agree with others who have enjoyed a stay. We spent the first 2 nights and last night of our 2 wk adventure through Glacier Park, MT and Canada ~ and, only regrett it wasn't longer! Began each day with a scrumpous breakfast, highly recommend the quiche, and topped off each day with fresh popcorn/fresh hot cookies!
Hotel staff was most friendly and helpful, and the rooms were just what a "weary" travelor needed to rest comfortably in for the night... Able to recommend many restaurants, all within walking distance turned out to be an added bonus, as that's how we discovered Hops, just across the street... THANKS again for a warm welcome and most friendly atmosphere!
Ken & Nicole, Port Orange, FL

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 different rooms, however don't recall names, but both were great. One was a bit larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getout760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmix
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers about this hotel. It was great. It is a in a great, downtown location, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean with old time charm. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. It was quiet. There were snacks, like fresh cookies and popcorn in the evening. I am planning my next stay right now. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked on price and expected the reviews to be true relative to the price. Our expectations were blown away. I've paid two or three times as much and not had such a nice stay. Great staff, small but clean room. Great mattress and crisp clean sheets. Walking distance to good food in town. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firewalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely recommend this hotel!!! Pets stay for free and the clerk even gave our small dog a treat. The clerks were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The hotel is quaint and there is a nice gift shop. The decor is charming. The room was nice and the bathroom large. Loved the shower. Breakfast was amazing!!! Quiche and specialty breads were wonderful. Can't beat the off season price of $68+ tax with AAA. Only downside was the bathroom floor needed a good sweeping. Otherwise, this would be a perfect review!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homebody777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night in the mid-fall, and got a great rate (much lower than the summer rates here) that included breakfast and parking. This is definitely an older property, and there was plenty of hallway noise and plumbing sounds anytime an adjacent room seemed to use its bathroom. That said, the staff was friendly (warm cookies in the lobby mid-afternoon) and the breakfast (with options like potato quiche) was excellent. The location of the hotel is also nice if you plan to check out the small downtown here, or grab dinner across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent New Years Eve in town for "First Night Flathead 2013." What a treat to stay here and celebrate in what has become a local tradition of venues within walking distance in downtown. We just loved the nostalgia and feel of this grand old lady. The woodwork and attention to architecture design of 100 years ago reminds one of the elegance not found today. Our room was lovely, the bed comfortable, and the location is awesome. Some of the finest restaurants are within a very easy walk. This is grand old Kalispell done well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenandlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#7 of 21 in Kalispell
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 21 in Kalispell
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Property: The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Location: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing